We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I thought the Perth Zoo was better....” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Zoo and Aquarium

National Zoo and Aquarium
Ranked #10 of 213 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The National Zoo & Aquarium is privately owned and Australia's only combined Zoo and Aquarium.That's 2 attractions in one! We are situated on around 7 hectares of land just five minutes from the centre of Canberra. With a wide variety of both native and exotic animals, as well as the largest inland saltwater tank in Australia, there is something for everyone. Wander in and have a casual stroll around the park, or make a day of it with family, friends and make use of our picnic areas and complimentary BBQ facilities. Our Animal Encounters provide visitors with an opportunity to get up close and personal with some of the worlds most amazing creatures!
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I thought the Perth Zoo was better....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Unfortunately I thought the facilities were poorly maintained and constructed, with poorly finished construction workmanship evident. I thought they could have done a better job on the construction finishing works - rough joints, mis-matching / misaligned works - yes it all stood out, because you have to look past the barriers to see the animals. The selection of animals were great tho, but I wonder about their staff who were very young and every golf buggy that went pass me, I considered travelling in excess speed, when I was there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joukowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatZoo, Public Relations Manager at National Zoo and Aquarium, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Joukowski, we appreciate your feedback.
All of the public facilites, and some enclosures and displays, are remnants from the original venue built in the 80's. As a private Zoo we unfortunately don't have the luxury of accessing funding for these works, as does the Government run Perth Zoo. As we grow, we are continually endeavouring to improve and replace. We are currently at the 1st stage of our long planned redevelopment, and look forward to revisiting when these are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    293
    91
    29
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
2 reviews
“Zoo experience was amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Feeding the animas was fantastic and well worth the trip to our National capital. the guides are very knowledgeable and make your experience very special.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a small zoo. It's very close to the city by bus or by car. It is not within walking distance.
The bus that takes you to the National Zoo is the same one that goes to the Botanical Gardens and the Telstra Tower

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank alexmurillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Fantastic experience, my husband did the Cheetah experience and loved it. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jawillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Canberra Zoo and Aquarium has recently done quite a lot of improvements (Tiger enclosure) and this has made a difference to the feel of the place. The gardens are quite nice, with a picnic and BBQ area near the kangaroos. There are well publicised encounters with the animals which are well run and popular. The zoo is pram and stroller friendly (we often go as a mothers' group day out) and the kids love looking at all the animals. You can get up fairly close to most of them, if they are not resting. The feeding times are well worth a look, you can really see the animals and ask the keepers questions. The aquarium is not terribly large, but has a good range of different fish (including sharks) and other animals such as small crocodiles and snakes. My kids always enjoy going. THe baby lemurs are especially cute at the moment.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank maliwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatZoo, Public Relations Manager at National Zoo and Aquarium, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We look forward to your next visit and appreciate your support, thanks again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Zoo and Aquarium also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to National Zoo and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing