We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spacious & Handy to Everything” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pacific Suites Canberra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pacific Suites Canberra
Ranked #6 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
367 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Spacious & Handy to Everything”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We were happy enough with our accommodation. It was close to all of the attractions we wanted to see particularly the War Memorial. However upon entering the room we were given keys to at 9pm on our arrival, we were shocked to walk into a suite already occupied with people in their PJ's. Reception were apologetic & gave us free breakfast next morning. Great for a family of 4 as plenty of room to spread out. No tea towel in kitchen however for wiping up. No wireless internet either which was disappointing in this day and age.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjens27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    629
    148
    50
    27
See reviews for
755
281
42
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit which I could not fault. Very nice! However, the housekeeping left a lot to be desired. One bed was half-made and my nightdress left in a bundle, the first time on the side table and the second time just on the bed. The hand towel on two occasions was not replaced and there was a strong, strange smell in the corridors. Also, we ordered room service and the food was cold when it arrived and had to be reheated in the microwave.
When paying, I was not told about the 2% surcharge on the credit card payment until given the receipt. It should have been explained before debiting my card, otherwise I would have used Eftpos. When I queried it, the male receptionist looked surly. It is a pity that these things detract from the really nice accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagslaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Having just completed a 4 night stay, there were a couple of issues with Clifton Suites on Northbourne that took the shine off our stay!
Firstly after arriving on a late flight into Canberra we got to the Hotel after 11.00pm - a bit tired and not expecting the receptionist to yell through the locked front door "what do you want?" Not exactly a warm welcome especially as I had phoned to confirm the booking and advise of our late check-in - but we pushed on and got our room which was spacious and very well appointed.
The next morning my wife complained of an unusual smell in the room, which we put down to the new carpets, but when returned in the afternoon the smell was stronger and after a few minutes my wife started to feel quite ill and I noticed a burning in my throat and a headache developing. We approached the duty manager who said that he didn't know what the smell was and thought it may come from the pool chemicals, but other guests had complained about it and he moved us to another, larger room! My issue is why the odour had not been sourced and fixed and more importantly why the hell were we put in that room!!!! Goodness knows what another night subject to the odour would do to our health!
Apart from this incident which I considered to be most unprofessional our stay at Clifton Suites was great! It is well located only a 5 minute walk to the city centre and there is also a bus stop about 40 metres from the entrance.
The rooms are large and fully equipped - most comfortable!
TIP: request a back room as those at the front overlook the very busy Northbourne Avenue and are pretty noisy!
I try to be objective and fair in all my reviews but this hotel needs a serious lesson in customer service!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank trevorrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed in this apartment with 3 other adults for 3 days. I booked in February and paid in full at the time. I was rather dismayed to then see the apartments advertised on the website for $100 less. I rang the Clifton and they agreed to ' price match' (themselves) and said they would email confirmation. I had to remind them a week later and I finally received the information. On arriving, the staff at the desk provided what could best be described as basic service , however we were impressed by the apartment. Modern spacious and all the facilities we needed close to the centre of Canberra. It was fabulous. We had ongoing issues with the keys not working and no apologies from staff. They never greeted us when we came back to the apartments. On checking out the staff member could not explain the withholding of $ 50 (why? - there is no mini bar) and became mildly annoyed with me saying it would take 6 days to get it back because the bank holds it apparently!!! So it really was a bit disappointing as it would take so little to be really top notch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynov4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice and friendly enough at reception, and helpful to my comments/requests.

Room was of a clean and pleasant enough layout/decor, and everything works fine.

No free wifi and even if you pay $10 for access, it's mostly only available in the hall way not the rooms.

I do how ever strongly dislike their policy over "trashing your room" which must be a big problem here.... Maybe from sports supporters.... I don't know !
They want an imprint of your credit card, and then won't return that imprint on your departure and hold it for 6 months !! What the hell for !????
If the room is not trashed, then give back or destroy the imprint on departure.
You can avoid this by giving them a $200 bond in cash, and they will give that back on your departure, so I don't understand their keeping policy.

Otherwise it is old, clean, working, and pleasant staff, so 3 out of 5 stars from me

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MasterBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is probably one of the better options for extended business stay in Canberra - the fully equipped kitchens are great, washing machine/dryer in the room is fantastic, and the rooms are comfy and spacious.

While the suites have been there for a number of years, they made a good choice with neutral decor so it's not ageing as badly as some other accom options. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. Beds are reasonable and the large room means you don't wake up from people in the hallways/opening doors as they're far away from where you sleep (as opposed to a standard hotel).

The hotel has reasonable facilities as well - the gym is small but servicable and there are plenty of food options on site or close by.

For tourists, probably not the best location - but for business, very convenient.

A few drawbacks were the cleanliness of the room (the shower was a bit scummy and the drain was dark; there was also a mark on the sheets i was using) and the water pressure. The old flick-mixer taps only know 2 pressures - splashing your pants or trickling.

Overall, really solid property and good value. Would be great for extended stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just spent two nights at this very nicely situated Hotel in Canberra.Only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of town it has everything you need for a pleasant stay and at reasonable cost. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with kitchen and laundry and comfortable furniture. Housekeeping was excellent and staff polite and helpful. This place is just right for those looking for quality accommodation at a reasonable cost. It would seem excellent for families, especially because it is located so close to town.One doesn't have to keep getting the car out for small needs. The hotel has a 24 hour Bar and the Restaurant is nice although the menu is a little restricted. Prices are OK though and the breakfast is up to good hotel standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stanley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
3.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Suites Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Suites Canberra

Property: Pacific Suites Canberra
Address: 100 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Clifton Suites on Northbourne)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#4 Business Hotel in Canberra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific Suites Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Suites Canberra (formerly the Clifton Suites on Northbourne) is Canberra's multi award-winning apartment hotel, just minutes from the heart of Canberra's premier shopping, dining and entertainment district, perfect for your stay in Canberra. The hotel is in an ideal location for business travelers with a two minute walk to the CBD and a 5-10 minute drive to other government and business hubs. Pacific Suites Canberra is considered one of Canberra's finest and most innovative accommodation and corporate function venues. The hotel features four dedicated functions rooms, with options for a guest list from 4 up to 100 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pacific Suites Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing