We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central place to see Canberra.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Suites Canberra
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great central place to see Canberra.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed in a two bedroom self contained apartment. The living room and bedrooms were very clean, well presented and spacious. The balcony also had a good amount of room to move. Although there are building works next door it must have stopped because we didn't hear it. We had a good nights sleep each night. We dined in the 'Breeze Sports Bar & Restuarant' and found service very good and attentive. The quality of the meal was good and equalled the price. We found the bar to have a relaxing atmosphere where we could unwind. The bar prices were reasonable, the service was friendly and all the over head TV's worked (though each on a different channel - with only one with the volume on. I suppose they didn't want it to be too confusing). Parking is below and it was easy to get to our apartment. Overall we were very pleased with our stay and would recommend Clifton Suites on Northbourne to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarkerBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    664
    154
    50
    28
See reviews for
784
296
43
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I think this is among the best accommodation Canberra has to offer. The apartments are thoroughly serviced everyday, including bed, kitchen and dishes. The balcony looks out over the pool which is nice. Stayed in summer and went swimming most days. The pool is heated and clean. It is one of the nicest outdoor pools I have seen in a hotel. Comes with complimentary parking. Very short walk to city centre. Would definitely stay there again and thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment on the sixth floor. It was very spacious with a well equipped kitchen and a washing machine and dryer. As we are travelling around Australia this was useful and there was plenty of space to hang out the clothes. Decor wise the rooms are quite plain and not particularly cosy but they worked well for us, (two adults and two kids 15 and 12). Both bathrooms had heated floors which were nice to get out of the shower onto. Our room was quiet so we did not find noise an issue. The people servicing the rooms were friendly and helpful. Reception staff were fine. The only complaint is that the internet is not included in the price. There are various fees to chose from - they vary from 15 mins to a week. We opted for a week @ 40 dollars by two as only two people could use it at same time. We stayed four days. As it was winter we didn't use the pool. We had a nice meal at Delissio round the corner. It was within walking distance to the shopping centre in Canberra central also.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RPDubIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were staying at the Clifton Suites as part of a wedding party, unfortunately our 2br apartment was on the side of the construction site. This stay was in March 2013 and I have been meaning to write this review for some time as it made such a bad impression on our stay. The glass is single pane so we heard every portion of the hammering and chainsawing that started under our window from 7am on a SATURDAY - how is that noise legal to work from that early on the Saturday. Then it would stop at around 10am and become less noisy. Obviously very bad for post wedding heads. Sunday work was started slightly later at 8am. Sadly the bride and groom were on the same side as us, granted a couple of levels up. The staff weren't particularly sympathetic, sounds like this is an ongoing problem looking at more recent reviews. They grudgingly offered to try to move us, but the guests in the second bedroom didn't seem as bothered by the noise (they did not have an external window) and we were leaving that day so in the end they didn't move. The rooms themselves were serviceable and clean, with a business hotel feel. The lounge was spacious, but with the same lack of charm, the television didn't work at all, we asked reception to fix this, but it was not fixed. Considering the price we paid (not cheap), we were very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you stay here, make sure you don't get a room on the construction side. Or be prepared for no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Searched for a 2 bedroom room for family rather than 2 seperate rooms. Wanted something a bit better than the basic motel type set up and didn't want to pay the earth. This fit the bill. Clean and functional but kind of lacking charm the hotel serves its function of mass high turn over fairly well. Within a walk of a restaurant area and easy to find.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nearly49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Having drinks before leaving the apartment, reception called to say there was a no party policy. This was fine and the small group of 5 were leaving for a night out. Although, I was told by reception if we didn't leave they would contact my employer, which they got from my email address. I could not believe I was threatened with this considering the stay was not booked under a company name, nor had anything to do with work. Nor do I understand what they would try to get out of that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sseanyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Was last here 2 years ago and thought we would give it another try. Rooms have been refreshed and the layout is great for families. BUT, unless you have one of the rooms at the back, the noise of cars hooning down Northbourne Avenue on Friday and Saturday nights reaches right into the bedrooms until after 2 in the morning. At the moment if you are also on the side of the new construction going on next door, you will be woken by machinery pounding foundations in at 7 on Saturday. Perhaps some of the new decor spend should have been on soundproofing. Note in particular that this was our second stay in a month and had particularly requested a quieter room. We were told verbally we could be accommodated but were not. This has happened in the past and was one of the reasons we stopped staying here. We were to told then that the rooms are allocated automatically at a certain time prior to your stay and there is nothing the staff member can do when you book to allocate you a specific room. As a result of the noise we have cut our trip short as we are too tired to enjoy the day.

We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night arriving early with the kids. Meals took ages to arrive and staff were fielding complaints and comping drinks for almost every table. Food when it arrived was adequate but not great. Note for families, the in house movie system had only 3 family/kids movies and you can only pause the movie for 10 mins in total while you watch it. There are no DVD players in the rooms but you can go down to reception and get an old one. 3 trips later we got one that worked, then realised that of course it wasn't blu-ray like the disks we had with us. So we went to bed and listened to the cars!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ZozoNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,085 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,476 reviews
3.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,238 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Suites Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Suites Canberra

Property: Pacific Suites Canberra
Address: 100 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Clifton Suites on Northbourne)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#4 Business Hotel in Canberra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific Suites Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Suites Canberra (formerly the Clifton Suites on Northbourne) is Canberra's multi award-winning apartment hotel, just minutes from the heart of Canberra's premier shopping, dining and entertainment district, perfect for your stay in Canberra. The hotel is in an ideal location for business travelers with a two minute walk to the CBD and a 5-10 minute drive to other government and business hubs. Pacific Suites Canberra is considered one of Canberra's finest and most innovative accommodation and corporate function venues. The hotel features four dedicated functions rooms, with options for a guest list from 4 up to 100 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Suites Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing