We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pacific Suites Canberra - Ascend Hotel Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Clifton Suites on Northbourne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I am a frequent business traveller to Canberra and my wife accompanies me for most of the time. If she is with me, this is the hotel of my choice. It has big spacious rooms, well equipped kitchenette, neat and clean, good sleep, nice balcony and dining area. The only thing I don't like about it is it's low quality shampoo and body wash gel.
It's very near to restaurants, market and shops. The best choice if travelling with family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arshid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    557
    130
    47
    24
See reviews for
630
249
37
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

If you want somewhere that's clean,spacious,secure parking and well located look nowhere else.
Have good room service menu as well as restaurant..Walking distance to civic was the added bonus.Saves city parking fees.Great little cafe opposite rear entry.1 st choice liquor opposite rear entry also.
Will be back in Feb!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the Australia Day long weekend. The room was nice for a 2 bedroom in Canberra. It looked like it had been renovated recently as well.

What was a downside to the stay-
- 1 air con unit for the entire apartment and it wasn't enough to keep it all cool
- no toilet brush and apparently this is standard
- poor tv reception and very expensive in room movies

If these are not an issue then the property would suit your needs.

Would stay here again but would consider other options as well. Taxi drivers are reluctant to drive you to/from here due to the proximity to the city although with the rules where they cannot refuse they have to do it but will make sure that you know it too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotwog4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in Jan 2013 in a 2 bed/1 bath apartment. It was extremely clean and comfortable for our family. We were on the 3rd floor on the rear of the complex, and while you could occassionally hear some traffic, it was by no means disturbing. The kitchen was adequately stocked for cooking holiday teas, and the beds were comfortable. No issue with the lifts during our stay. The pool area could be better maintained as the glass fencing was filthy and overlooked another complex carpark with garbage and skips for serenity. The pool itself was clean and refreshing. Easy to find when navigating Canberra is another bonus. Overall, absolutely would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were so glad we booked a 2 bedroom apartment here after a road trip from Brisbane. Finally we had plenty of space to spread out and unwind. This was so much better then the hotel rooms we stayed in on the way down where we were all in one room, kids on a sofa bed, no lounge and only one toilet. If I had to pick a small detail the entry to the carpark is a llittle tight for larger cars and its a bit hard to reach the security point to swipe the access card. The car park is fine for largerer cars once you get down into it though. I can't really comment on the location because we used it as a base to visit family so we didn't come across the city centre - Canberra seemed very spread out generally.Would defiintely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were two couples travelling to Canberra for a long weekend, and we had a few issues.
Firstly, we were told we could not book a two bedroom suite with two queen beds. We could "request" a bedding configuration, but that it would not be guaranteed. Fortunately, we were able to be accommodated, but this stipulation is just ridiculous!
Secondly, Clifton Suites offers some upgrades if your book through their website. Nowhere does it say "subject to availability", so I used a promo code and was disappointed on our arrival to find that we had not been put in the room that this supposedly guaranteed. I spoke with reception about this and was told they were full that night and nothing could be done, however we were moved into another room for the following night.
The real difficulty we had, however, was the fact that in the two bedroom suite, there is only one small air conditioner in the lounge room. It was extremely hot and humid in Canberra that weekend, and this inadequate machine just could not do the job for the size of the unit. It was very warm in both bedrooms overnight. This made for an uncomfortable nights sleep - that is after all, the main function of a hotel...
The Clifton suites was adequate for our stay, but I would not stay again.

Room Tip: I'm not sure about the noise from Northbourne, but we had the pool view and had to suffer scream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tych0Brahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The staff are great, the parking rates are great and the location is fantastic. The price is good, but not cheap. The room service and bar is also fantastic. A short walk from all things in Canberra Civic/City area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
3.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#5 of 59 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#21 of 59 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 2,934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Suites Canberra - Ascend Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Suites Canberra - Ascend Hotel Collection

Property: Pacific Suites Canberra - Ascend Hotel Collection
Address: 100 Northbourne Avenue, Canberra 2612, Australia (Formerly Clifton Suites on Northbourne)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#4 Business Hotel in Canberra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific Suites Canberra - Ascend Hotel Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Suites Canberra (formerly the Clifton Suites on Northbourne) is Canberra's multi award winning apartment hotel, just minutes from the heart of Canberra's premier shopping, dining and entertainment district, perfect for your stay in Canberra. The hotel is in an ideal location for business travelers with a two minute walk to the CBD and a 5-10 minute drive to other government and business hubs. Pacific Suites Canberra is considered one of the Canberra's finest and most innovative accommodation and corporate function venues. The hotel features four dedicated functions rooms, with options for a guest list from 4 up to 100 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Suites Canberra - Ascend Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing