We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality.....not this time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Suites Canberra
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Gippsland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Quality.....not this time.”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel from 23/12/11 and checked out on 27/12/11. This was our fourth stay at the hotel, as in the past we have thoroughly enjoyed it. Even to the point of recommending the hotel to other family members, who have also stayed there before. My parents have stayed there twice on our recommendation.

Our trouble began upon checking in and getting to our room. We had a two bedroom family room on the third floor which looked directly at a large tree blocking most of the light. Inside the room was a rather badly torn seat cushion on the couch and generally tired looking furniture along with a number of stains on the carpet. The room had sliding doors out onto a balcony and the kids found that the glass sliding door would not close or lock which meant that the room could not be secured. My wife contacted reception to let them know that the door could not be locked. Reception told her it could be locked and he would come up and show us. This is where our lack of decent service began.

The above mentioned staff member came and tried to fix the door which he struggled with for several minutes. My wife suggested that perhaps we could move to another room. He was quite abrupt and snapped that he just needed to get the right angle for the door to lock. He was obviously flustered that the door would not lock as he said it would. I requested a new room because I didn't want to have to fiddle with the angle for 5 minutes every time I needed to lock the door and also for the fact that we have young children and the balcony could pose a problem. The staff member snapped, "Fine" and stormed out of the room slamming the door behind him. He said nothing else and we stood there not knowing if we should follow him. I had never experienced such rudeness from staff at this hotel. We gathered our things and went to reception were a new room was allocated with a fair bit of attitude and rudeness. My wife informed the staff member that he was very rude in the way he treated us as guests and that the level of service he had shown was unacceptable. The front desk manager stepped forward and introduced himself and asked if he could call us later to discuss the issues. We agreed that would be a good idea and we are still waiting for the manager to speak to us, more than two weeks later. From this point on that particular staff member completely ignored us whenever we walked past the counter and this continued on check out, when he did not serve us and we had to wait for another person to check us out.

Our new room on the 7th floor was a two bedroom family room. A queen bed in the master bedroom with ensuite and a second bedroom with two single beds. There was a dinning table and two seater couch and armchair to watch the TV. The balcony was a good size and we had a view to Mt Ainslie in the east. Mort Street runs below this side of the hotel, which can be noisy with the odd car drag racing up the street. This wasn’t too much of a problem as we live next to a rural highway. I would say that the south facing rooms overlooking the pool would be the quietest for road noise.

One staff member, Candy, was very polite and friendly at the front desk and always said hello. Other staff were great too, including the chefs, the house keeping staff and one of the restaurant staff members, he made a great café latte and was polite and helpful. Other staff in the restaurant appeared completely disinterested in being there. One particular morning we were greeted by a young man with crossed arms slouching against a bench almost sneering at us. Upon asking for a latte he nodded at us and said “ok pal”. Since our last stay at this hotel, the level of customer service has declined to a point that we will not be staying there again. While I don't expect facilities that 5 star hotels provide, I do expect the same level of friendly and helpful service. Good service costs nothing and gets customers back through the door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandp141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    691
    161
    51
    29
See reviews for
822
312
44
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bega
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Clifton before and it has been fine........but tonight has been a disaster. When I booked i was told the restaurant was open tonight! On arrival at 8.30 was told it was closing in 10 mins, so asked if i could order room service then and there so we didnt hold them up. I was told that it would be fine to order room service. As soon as I was in the room i went to order and was told they only had pizza and sides!! So ordered bruscetta and pizza even though we were starving and expecting a meal!! Couldnt even eat what arrived!! Have pictures to show management!!!! Last time I stayed we had a beautiful meal sent to our room, so I am not sure what has happened....but obviously gone down hill!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BegaAngry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

I enjoyed my stay in a spacious one bedroom apartment close to the centre and Canberra attractions. As well as a well equipped kitchenette the apartment had a separate bedroom and large balcony. Room service and front desk gave good service and the price was very competitive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolynAnnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our family of four had two nights at Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne. Booked via Wotif, the "normal" per night prices reflected there ($895?) suggested that our booking ($205 for night 1 & $250 for night 2) was a bargain indeed.

The rooms were pretty much as pictured, but nothing terribly special. All fairly standard & a little tired around the edges. We had a two bedroom + 1 bathroom apartment.

The kitchen was fairly basic, with the minimum of cooking utensils, crockery etc. All of the crockery & glassware we used had to be washed first - it was all grubby/gritty. Only the absolute minimum of coffee, sugar etc was provided. No cold water in the fridge.

The bathroom was fairly standard. The shower was over the bath & a bit of a step in & out. The water pressure was not great.

The lounge area only had seating for three people, so we needed to use dining chairs also. There was no DVD player & the pay per view movies were $15.95 each.

The bedding was adequate, pillows not great. Clean towels & basic toiletries were provided.

It is worth noting that the rooms were very noisy - a lot of traffic noise & also a lot of noise from the room above ours.

We made some enquiries with the front desk in regard to local events & eateries, but unfortunately they were not very helpful at all.

While none of these gripes are monumental, we were disappointed with our experience of Quality Suite Clifton On Northbourne & would look to other options for our next stay in Canberra.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Rome2Gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We booked here at relatively short notice to stay 3 nts., up to nye. We were pleasantly surprised at the spacious, tidy rooms and inclusions. The city centre is a short walk. Access by car is easy. For our quick trip to Canberra, this was excellent accommodation. With so much to see in the ACT, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1951rlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Have stayed here twice over the past six months in the 2 bedroom suites; the units are very spacious and adequately, if simply, furnished. The large balcony has basic plastic chairs & a table. Generally clean and comfortable with a decent breakfast (that's also a pretty good deal for families in particular).

On a recent stay, however, the cleaning service was less than impressive; on a three-night stay, our room was not cleaned once, despite specifically requesting it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mesophyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Drove 7hrs to get here only to be spoken to like a 5 yr old. Check in staff were the rudest i have ever had to deal with. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels and had exceptional service, but this is Not one of those places and front of office staff need to learn about manners and what it means to provide service.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter_12325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,596 reviews
3.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Suites Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Suites Canberra

Property: Pacific Suites Canberra
Address: 100 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2601, Australia (Formerly Clifton Suites on Northbourne)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Canberra
#4 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#4 Business Hotel in Canberra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pacific Suites Canberra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Suites Canberra (formerly the Clifton Suites on Northbourne) is Canberra's multi award-winning apartment hotel, just minutes from the heart of Canberra's premier shopping, dining and entertainment district, perfect for your stay in Canberra. The hotel is in an ideal location for business travelers with a two minute walk to the CBD and a 5-10 minute drive to other government and business hubs. Pacific Suites Canberra is considered one of Canberra's finest and most innovative accommodation and corporate function venues. The hotel features four dedicated functions rooms, with options for a guest list from 4 up to 100 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pacific Suites Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Clifton On Northbourne Hotel Canberra
Quality Inn Canberra
Quality Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing