We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”
Review of Red Cedars Motel

Red Cedars Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Cedars Motel
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
12
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We found this motel by pure luck driving past it. Was recently renovated and some rooms are still being upgraded. Very functional and having a microwave instead of just a kettle was fantastic. Would stay again next time in Canberra

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We usually go to Canberra for one or two nights and stay at Red Cedars. Their rooms are very simple but comfortable and clean. Easy to find, 5 mins drive from the downtown and just across the road from the NFF venue.

Room Tip: If you don't have big luggage, ask for an up-stairs room that can be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Infernanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here and were impressed with the room and the price!
We think we had one of the recently renovated rooms.
Great location we were 5-10 minutes from everything.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proundnewdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Refurbishments now completed. Units clean with nice fresh new cabinets. The room size was good with a lounge and a table with two chairs. Large TV and an Air con that worked well the was no noise and I slept well. It is abut 7km's from the city but a couple of kilometres down the road is the Watson shopping centre with a take away and a Thai restaurant. I had Thai and enjoyed it. Canberra is a frightfully expensive place to stay so this would be a great place for families. can't say I noticed any play ground equipment but after a day of doing the sights of the ACT I guess the children would be ready for bed early. Not too far from Belconnen and the AIS facility. Management very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

My family stayed at Red Cedars for one night in a non-smoking family room. As soon as I opened the door the stench of stale cigarettes hit me - it was unbearable. Fortunately, our total time spent in the room amounted to 8 hrs as we were at a wedding until the early hours of the morning. My complaint to management on checkout fell on deaf ears. Not only was the smell unbearable but my husband now has bed bug bites as a souvenir. Next time in Canberra I will pay slightly more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NBSydGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Thredbo Village, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I arrived 4ish and the carpark was looking dodgy with workman having drinks at the bbq. Reception was ok. Surprisingly, the room was good. It's been renovated, decent size tv and the bed was comfortable enough. Air con worked well. Need to drive back in to Canberra to get takeout dinner etc but it's convenient for drive out towards Sydney. Noisy in morning waking up to sound of school kids and the plumbing. No place for a sleep-in. Price was good. Prefer to stay at Olims for same price but better location.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpenAnnie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canberra
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#52 of 57 in Canberra
426 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
6.2 mi away
Belconnen Hotel/Motel and Serviced Apartments
3.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Eaglehawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cedars Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cedars Motel

Property: Red Cedars Motel
Address: Stirling Ave, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Cedars Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Red Cedars Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing