We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Neat and tidy, large space room than the most hotel I have been. Quite and nice outlook from my room. Bargain rate for staying overnight. A little bit far away to where I plan to visit, but traffic is perfect in Canberra anyway.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zhongtao R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Hi Zhongtao R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Canberra. It is fantastic to see that you found us to be great value.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 796 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed there for a work purposes. Staff are great and rooms are clean and spacious and the bed is comfortable. Bathroom is clean and room has all the necessary amenities. Overall a great trip. You do need to drive as the motel is not near walking distance to anything.

The resturant could do with a new menu a bit over priced but the food is nice...I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livethemomentMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for your review of your stay with us here in Canberra. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to hosting your next visit to the ACT.

Our Executive Chef is currently preparing a new menu for the warmer months which we hope to launch in the very near future.

Safe travels
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The staff super friendly, the rooms spacious ,spotless and great beds, not the usual hard motel commercial editions, rather a soft pillow top bed with comfy pillows, as a previous commenter said and i agree,the loose leaf toilet paper isnt good and the toilet seat,from a male prospective wouldnt stay up. Other than that ,i would be happy to stay there anytime.
The restaurant is mediocre for the prices ,the meals are ok,but not memorable, i think a new chef may help as the menu is ok, I would stay there anytime i am in Canberra,but would probably eat out.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldeepat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Aldeepat,

Thanks for your review of your stay with us here in Canberra at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and our rooms up to your expectations.

Our Executive Chef will return this week from an adventure around Europe and it is disappointing to see that you did not experience our usual high standards in our Secret Garden Restaurant during his absence.

We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the ACT.

Kind regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

A pleasant stay from start to finish, from checking in by friendly, helpful staff to a happy cheerio when we paid the bill. The rooms were spacious, sparkling and clean. Great location in Narrabundah close to the usual attractions in Canberra. We did recommend that they change the flimsy toilet paper loose leaf sheets to proper toilet rolls, rare to see in Best Western hotels. A microwave would have been nice. Happy hour from 5 to 6 was enjoyable at $4 a glass. This was followed by a pleasant, reasonable (but not outstanding) dinner in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear LeslieFay,

Thank you for your review and it is great to know that you had a good time with us during your stay in the ACT.

Our Happy Hour is very popular - the $4 beer, wine and spirits is great value for pre-dinner drinks at our Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant.

We appreciate your suggestions regarding the bathroom amenities; the current loose leaf system was installed during our most recent refurbishment and given the regular feedback we receive on this, I trust that our hotel owners will take heed during the next planned room update.

Thank you for choosing Best Western; we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We recently stayed for four nights in an executive room overlooking the swimming pool.
The room was clean and the bed very conmfortable. The location is close to Manuka and Kingston where there are good restaurants. We did eat at the restaurant onsite on two occasions for dinner and found the food selection very good and tasty. There is Happpy Hour each night from 530pm to 630pm .
There is plenty of free parking available.
We were most impressed with the service we received from Kenisha in the restaurant and also Nicole on the front desk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Catherine B,

Thanks for your review of your visit with us here in Canberra at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and are very pleased that our staff took care of you during your stay. Kenisha and Nicole are very valued team members and I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Canberra again soon.

Kind regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here for the rugby good location for sporting events a car a must.Hotel has plenty of parking, The room was large and kept clean with good heating ( thank god this is Canberra ),All Staff really good and looked up anything that could help you if they did not know it,restaurant food at the hotel was excellent ,Also next door was a Germany club food also good and beer even better and very short walk back,Enjoyed breakfast with the local kookaburra who came in for a feed the staff look after him which was good to see. got woken by the shower in the next room early which was only a small pain but did wake us.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good and well stocked and kept clean,and quiet, good close parking on site
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Kenneth M,

Thanks for reviewing your stay here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our great team of staff went out of their way to look after you during your visit to Canberra.

I'm glad that you had the chance to meet our friendly neighbourhood kookaburra; he has been visiting us daily for a few months now and is very popular with our staff and guests.

We hope to welcome you back to Garden City Hotel on your next visit to Canberra.

Kind regards and safe travels,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We recently stayed for 5 nights and travelled to my daughter at the AIS daily. Really good location with restaurants, shops and banks 5 minutes away by car. Room was large clean and comfortable, overall the hotel is modern and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful.We had breakfast daily really good.We will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 607Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArionHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear 607Paul,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay of BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel here on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Canberra.

As you mention, our location is very handy the local shopping district of Manuka-Kingston and everything is very easily accessible.

We do have some great specials available on our website, including for stays of three nights and more, such as yours.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to the ACT again in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,624 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
1.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
1.7 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel

Address: 55 Jerrabomberra Avenue | Narrabundah, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $104 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, substance and sanctuary! That is the Best Western Plus promise when you stay at the spectacular Garden City Hotel in Canberra. Modern and contemporary hotel rooms, combined with warm, memorable, efficient and effortless service, makes Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel one of the city's premier hotels. Guests enjoy a fantastic location in the heart of Canberra, just minutes from top tourist attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery and Questacon. Located in Canberra's ever-popular inner-south, Garden City Hotel is nestled amongst tree-lined boulevardes and the quiet and tranquillity will ensure a peaceful and restful night's slumber. The on-site Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation as one of Canberra's most exclusive dining venues, with a mouthwatering menu of local and international favourites, imbued with an eclectic twist to keep things dramatic and exciting. The Executive Chef is both culinary superstar and local legend, adding his own personality and vivacity to each dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing