We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway at a fantastic price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed one night on a Toulouse-Lautrec Package - and it wasfantastic value here. Booked through Visit Canberra it was actually cheaper than Wotif - No easy feat! It is well located in Narrabundah, very close to the centre of Canberra and near the National Gallery. Rooms are a good size, although bathroom was small. Clean and tidy, only real issue was the air-conditioning unit which was noisy.

Breakfast was a la carte for the hot food and continental buffet for remainder. Service and reception staff were great, friendly and enthusiastic. I will definitely stay there again when in Canberra.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel overlooking the pool is a good spot away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 809 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Found via whatif.com, the motel looks nothing from the outside. The staff are welcoming and professional. The rooms are renovated, clean and has all the services including Maccona coffee and Appelles toiletries. 15minutes drive from the National Gallery, it's in a fantastic location for exploring the city. Extremely affordable, give it a go.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed only one night, and it was good value here, but only because it was a "Mystery Hotel" on the booking site "Wotif". It is well located in Narrabundah, very close to the centre of Canberra. The hotel is clean, but nothing special decor-wise. Rooms are quite a good size, although bathrooms are small. Typical Best Western.

Breakfast is your standard buffet or continental. Service and reception staff are reasonably attentive and polite without being overly enthusiastic. The hotel has a small gym (free to guests) next to the pool (which is an attractive one) which I used. I will most likely stay there again when next in Canberra.

Room Tip: Best rooms are at the rear, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragonman106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is definitely NOT a 4 1/2 star hotel, and I don't know where they could possibly get the rating from.

Check-in and check-out was good, and the staff friendly.

The room I had was very small and not what I would expect from a 4 1/2 star hotel. The room was right on Jerrabomberra Avenue, and the noise from traffic on Jerra Avenue and Hindmarsh Drive was quite loud considering it is in an out of the way location.

The room on initial inspection, although out dated, looked clean, however before long I started to get an itchy throat and nose, which usually means it is dusty. On reflection, I think it must be the heavy curtains which contained the dust. I needed to take an anti-histamine to get me through the night, and I am not a regular taker of such things.

You will need a car to access this hotel, but in a reasonable location to reach most things in Canberra.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not right on Jerrabomberra Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

For many years I have stayed in Kingston in apartments. This time, it was just Mum and me for one night so I chose a motel. The best one, at a reasonable price, was the Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel. I wasn't sure where Narrabundah was, but as I had a rental car - and Canberra isn't all that big - I chose it. Well, it's only a 5-minute drive from Kingston, its cafes, restaurants, big licensed supermarket (IGA), etc. Our room 234 was on the first floor, right opposite the lift, and was very large. A queen bed and a single, good bathroom, fridge, lots of extra pillows (if 4 on my bed, and 2 on Mum's weren't enough!) in the top of the wardrobe. The pillows on my bed were a variety of density from high to low and soft. Safe, iron and ironing board. Fabulous hair dryer. Breakfast was in a big dining room overlooking an inviting pool and lovely gardens. We chose the continental breakfast at $14 each, and it was good value. I'm not sure that paying an extra $5 for the hot food - which didn't look very inviting - would be worth it. The staff were very good; pleasant and very helpful. Thoroughly recommend this motel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for on night. Room not huge (for 3 adults] but was quite OK.
Not in the centre of town so you need to drive wherever you want to go.
Close to DFO and Kingston markets.
Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanberraRegion, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear BazAustralia,

Thanks for your review and for staying with us here in Canberra at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

It is great to know that our staff were friendly and made sure that your stay was a pleasurable one. We are just a few minutes drive from the DFO complex (shopping heaven and a place that can be very tough on the credit card!). We also have a bus stop just a couple of minutes walk from our front door with bus services running via the main tourist attractions and into the CBD itself.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the future!

Kind regards
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently. I had to stay in Canberra after a procedure at the hospital and was not allowed to travel home until the morning. We had booked well in advance, and when we arrived all went smoothly until I went to rest in the bed (Dr's orders). On pulling back the covers, we found a tissue on the sheet and the sheet looked as though it had not been changed. We rang reception and waited about 20 minutes for housekeeping. The bed was then changed, and we thought all was OK. Later that evening we decided to have a cup of tea only to find no tea bags provided. A visit to reception fixed this problem, but for a 4 1/2 star motel, this really is not good enough. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#20 of 58 in Canberra
596 reviews
2.2 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
748 reviews
4.5 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#27 of 58 in Canberra
3,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel

Address: 55 Jerrabomberra Avenue | Narrabundah, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $99 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, substance and sanctuary! That is the Best Western Plus promise when you stay at the spectacular Garden City Hotel in Canberra. Modern and contemporary hotel rooms, combined with warm, memorable, efficient and effortless service, makes Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel one of the city's premier hotels. Guests enjoy a fantastic location in the heart of Canberra, just minutes from top tourist attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery and Questacon. Located in Canberra's ever-popular inner-south, Garden City Hotel is nestled amongst tree-lined boulevardes and the quiet and tranquillity will ensure a peaceful and restful night's slumber. The on-site Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation as one of Canberra's most exclusive dining venues, with a mouthwatering menu of local and international favourites, imbued with an eclectic twist to keep things dramatic and exciting. The Executive Chef is both culinary superstar and local legend, adding his own personality and vivacity to each dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing