We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT 4 1/2 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
246 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“NOT 4 1/2 stars”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is definitely NOT a 4 1/2 star hotel, and I don't know where they could possibly get the rating from.

Check-in and check-out was good, and the staff friendly.

The room I had was very small and not what I would expect from a 4 1/2 star hotel. The room was right on Jerrabomberra Avenue, and the noise from traffic on Jerra Avenue and Hindmarsh Drive was quite loud considering it is in an out of the way location.

The room on initial inspection, although out dated, looked clean, however before long I started to get an itchy throat and nose, which usually means it is dusty. On reflection, I think it must be the heavy curtains which contained the dust. I needed to take an anti-histamine to get me through the night, and I am not a regular taker of such things.

You will need a car to access this hotel, but in a reasonable location to reach most things in Canberra.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not right on Jerrabomberra Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    344
    115
    22
    7
See reviews for
158
311
47
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

For many years I have stayed in Kingston in apartments. This time, it was just Mum and me for one night so I chose a motel. The best one, at a reasonable price, was the Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel. I wasn't sure where Narrabundah was, but as I had a rental car - and Canberra isn't all that big - I chose it. Well, it's only a 5-minute drive from Kingston, its cafes, restaurants, big licensed supermarket (IGA), etc. Our room 234 was on the first floor, right opposite the lift, and was very large. A queen bed and a single, good bathroom, fridge, lots of extra pillows (if 4 on my bed, and 2 on Mum's weren't enough!) in the top of the wardrobe. The pillows on my bed were a variety of density from high to low and soft. Safe, iron and ironing board. Fabulous hair dryer. Breakfast was in a big dining room overlooking an inviting pool and lovely gardens. We chose the continental breakfast at $14 each, and it was good value. I'm not sure that paying an extra $5 for the hot food - which didn't look very inviting - would be worth it. The staff were very good; pleasant and very helpful. Thoroughly recommend this motel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for on night. Room not huge (for 3 adults] but was quite OK.
Not in the centre of town so you need to drive wherever you want to go.
Close to DFO and Kingston markets.
Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanberraRegion, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear BazAustralia,

Thanks for your review and for staying with us here in Canberra at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

It is great to know that our staff were friendly and made sure that your stay was a pleasurable one. We are just a few minutes drive from the DFO complex (shopping heaven and a place that can be very tough on the credit card!). We also have a bus stop just a couple of minutes walk from our front door with bus services running via the main tourist attractions and into the CBD itself.

Thanks again and we hope to see you back again in the future!

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fingal Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently. I had to stay in Canberra after a procedure at the hospital and was not allowed to travel home until the morning. We had booked well in advance, and when we arrived all went smoothly until I went to rest in the bed (Dr's orders). On pulling back the covers, we found a tissue on the sheet and the sheet looked as though it had not been changed. We rang reception and waited about 20 minutes for housekeeping. The bed was then changed, and we thought all was OK. Later that evening we decided to have a cup of tea only to find no tea bags provided. A visit to reception fixed this problem, but for a 4 1/2 star motel, this really is not good enough. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We can't find really find too much fault for this place, as we are quite independant travellers ourselves. Nothing too spectacular about the breakfast but so handy if you can't be bothered thinking about it; we had an early appointment with the embassy.
All the good stuff: safe in the room, friendly staff, clean room.
Maybe during weekends or public holidays, there would be some shortage of parking, but seemed like this is sorted by parking on the nearby street. No dramas.
If we were to return to Canberra, we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EruditeTravels83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanberraRegion, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear EruditeTravels83,

Thanks for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to stay with us again on your next visit to Canberra.

We do have plenty of parking for all guests with parking lots on both sides of the hotel. It is great to see that your room was clean and our staff went the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.

Thanks again, and we look forward to hosting you on your next visit to the Canberra Region.

Kind regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Recently stayed here for one night on the way through to the Snowy Mountains. Found the room very clean and roomy. The guy at the front desk was very imformative and friendly.
Free Movies on the TV was a big bonus for us...seeing as though there is not much else to do in the area.
We ate dinner at the German Club next door which I would highly reccomend.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCanberraRegion, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Meh79,

Thanks for your review of your stay with us here at BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your time in our beautiful city. It is fantastic to know that your room was clean and our staff friendly. Our great team do their best to make every stay an easy, comfortable and hassle-free time for our guests.

The German Club next door is famous for both its German cuisine and its Chinese Bistro. Of course, we do have a fantastic restaurant here onsite - the Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant - but we are also pleased to assist our guests explore some of the fantastic dining spots in this part of Canberra.

It is great to know that you enjoyed the complimentary movies - lots of hotels charge lots of money for movies - but we choose to provide four movie channels free of charge to our guests looking for a cosy night in.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Quiet location out of the hustle of the city. You will need a car (or taxi) to get around, but that's Canberra! Friendly staff and good value for money when booked on line. Can't fault the room and there was plenty of (uncovered) parking the night I was there, mid-week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrettCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,473 reviews
4.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,598 reviews
4.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,719 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,461 reviews
2.3 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Address: 55 Jerrabomberra Avenue | Narrabundah, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, substance and sanctuary! That is the Best Western Plus promise when you stay at the spectacular Garden City Hotel in Canberra. Modern and contemporary hotel rooms, combined with warm, memorable, efficient and effortless service, makes Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel one of the city's premier hotels. Guests enjoy a fantastic location in the heart of Canberra, just minutes from top tourist attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery and Questacon. Located in Canberra's ever-popular inner-south, Garden City Hotel is nestled amongst tree-lined boulevardes and the quiet and tranquillity will ensure a peaceful and restful night's slumber. The on-site Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation as one of Canberra's most exclusive dining venues, with a mouthwatering menu of local and international favourites, imbued with an eclectic twist to keep things dramatic and exciting. The Executive Chef is both culinary superstar and local legend, adding his own personality and vivacity to each dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing