We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rooms and great friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing rooms and great friendly staff!”
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed her via a quick internet search and found this place to be one of the cheapest! I was very hapay with my stay my room was nicley furnished with a very comfy bed! :) and great friendly staff who always answered my questions i did eat at the restaurant all the nights i stayed their and found it very present the meals were nice and the waters and waitress were more then friendly and easy to talk to :) overall i loved it abduction will be definitely very coming back!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracygrenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCityCanberra, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks for your review, Tracy. We always try to provide great accommodation with excellent service and it is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind comments will most definitely be passed onto our staff, who will be thrilled to know that their efforts are appreciated by our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel again in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    351
    116
    22
    7
See reviews for
158
320
48
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
291 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My experience at this hotel was mostly good. The rooms were clean and tidy and fairly spacious, the decor a little dated. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was ok, I only ate breakfast there though. The hotel is a fair way out of the city though, so you would need to have a hire car to get around canberra or be ok with using the bus to get around. No wi-fi available and limited room service hours so when I checked in late on the first night, there was no way to get anything to eat. Better hotel in this price range than others I have stayed in, in Canberra.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCityCanberra, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, Melanie.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your constructive feedback is most appreciated. I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of installing wifi throughout the entire hotel. The logistics are proving a little tricky, given the corridors running in different directions. Most of the building is now covered, with just a small section remaining.

We are located in the inner-southern suburbs, away from the noise of the city. We are a five minute drive from most of the big national attractions - Parliament, National Gallery, Questacon, High Court etc and there are buses running regularly just around the corner every half hour.

Thanks again for your feedback - all comments are always welcome. I hope we can have the opportunity to host your next visit to Canberra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temora, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Sourced motel through a last minute website, very impressed with value for money. Rooms spotless & comfortable, with plenty of space. Quiet area, but reasonable bar & restaurant on site, & restaurants only minutes drive away. Have stayed in other hotels in the area & this the best.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesc113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCityCanberra, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Jules,

Many thanks for reviewing BEST WESTERN PLUS Garden City Hotel here on Tripadvisor. Your comments and feedback are gratefully received and i'm glad we were able to meet your expectations and provided you with a pleasing, comfortable stay.

We hope to see you again in the future

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Recently stayed here for two nights with my wife whilst doing the tourist thing in Canberra. The hotel is a little out of the way. But then again everything in Canberra seems to be all over the shop! So not too bad really you just wouldn't be able to walk to any destinations (without a backpack and tent) Room was average, fairly small, but comfortable, clean & quiet, and not too far from car park, had the usual tea/coffee facilities, and fridge FULL of their overpriced drinks. Bathroom/toilet was modern however the toilet was up against a wall and almost under the vanity, so a bit of a squeeze there! We couldn't get the pay channels to work on the television, and found no information regarding "how to" in the room directory. However on the next day upon asking staff at reception the gent produced a folder with a photo of the two different remotes located in rooms , selected ours and showed us the instructions. I suggested that perhaps it would be a good idea to photocopy that page and include it in the room compendium ...... he grunted his approval and promptly returned it under the bench. Bet it hasn't been done to date! We were surprised that the motel restaurant is closed of a weekend! However we ate there each morning for breakfast and a full breakfast is reasonable priced and catered for, though there was a coffee machine with all the best buttons disabled and dispensed flat black only. We didn't eat there of an evening. Nearby there is the German Club however, unfortunately, its restaurant is closed of a Sunday & Monday nights (as are most in Canberra!) so whilst I would have loved to try their Pork Knuckle was unable to do so. They did have a Chinese Bistro (apparently). We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourview57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCityCanberra, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Ourview57,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor. Your comments, both positiive and helpful, are much appreciated.

Your suggestion of including the TV remote diagram into the in-room compendium is a fantastic one, and will definitely be implemented in the near future. I apologise that the suggestion was not met with more enthusiasm when made to our staff - it is a great idea and one that we will definitely implement.

Our Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant is open here daily for breakfast and Mon-Fri for dinner. As with many Canberra hotels, we are quieter over the weekend and our restaurant is not currently open for dinner on Saturdays or Sundays. However, we do have a German restaurant, Spanish restaurant, Chinese restaurant and Golf Club bistro all within 500m of our front doors.

Thanks again for your feedback - we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Service at the hotel wasn't anything to write home about but the staff acted in a professional manner.

The room was on the small side but was fine for two guests. Decor is the contemporary decor you find in most hotels nowadays (you know, with the brown and white colour scheme that seems prevalent). The bed was comfortable and wasn't just two single beds joined together which is a welcome change - there were however some old stains on one of the sheets. Sound proofing seems to be non-existent but I still managed to get a good night's rest. The TV was using analogue channels which seems a bit behind the times in 2011.

The bathroom was quite small and the toilet seat didn't remain up - annoying for male guests! Also, instead of a toilet roll, you got to use a toilet paper dispenser, which was another annoyance. Besides that though, the shower worked fine and the bathroom was pretty clean.

The motel is located in Narrabundah which is basically one of Canberra's suburbs. There's nothing really of much interest around so a better location would probably be somewhere in Civic or Braddon, especially if you want to be walking distance to restaurants, shops and businesses. As we had a car however, this wasn't too much of an issue and we in fact preferred an outskirts motel as this meant free parking.

However, what really attracted us to staying here was the price. Rooms were on sale at $120 a night for a brand-name 4-star motel. The downside of the motel is that it's not really near to anything plus I was a bit disappointed with regards to the cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambutaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed here via a 'last minute deal' website. We have stayed in 3 other hotels in the area, and for the price this was a good hotel. Check in was fast, gave us a choice of upstairs or downstairs room, loaned us an umbrella, allowed us to do web check in and print our boarding passes and gave change for the laundry rooms useage. Room was plenty for the short time we stayed in it. Enough stoage area, clean, good size bathroom with accessories, good TV reception, very comfy bed, all in a quiet area. A car is needed to access shops etc, but only a very short drive from Manuka. If you dont want to pay 5 star prices give this a go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCityCanberra, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear Fish096,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Garden City. It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

I am glad that our staff provided such fantastic service and that your room met your expectations.

Thanks again, and we look forward to opportunity to greet you again on your next visit to Canberra.

Kind regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We chose this hotel becuase it was the closest in distance for a function we were attending in Canberra. We only spent one night arriving at 5.30pm and leaving at 9.00am the next morning.

I assume the room we were given was their most basic hotel room as I booked it through wotif. It was a small room with a small bathroom. Very old carpet and fittings looked like they hadn't been updated since the 1970's. The bed was quite comfortable and the air conditioner kept us warm. It was quiet during the night but in the morning we could hear all the cars in the carpark starting up as they were parked outside our window on the ground floor.

It is not close to anything and I wouldn't choose to stay out at Narrabundah unless you got an extremely cheap deal.

Overall it was just okay for a bed for the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoniOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenCityCanberra, Manager at Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear WoniOz,

Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and do our best to take on board suggestions and recommendations for improvement.

All of our rooms were totally refurbished during 2010 including brand new fittings and carpet, so I apologise if you feel the design invoked the 70s - this was most certainly not our intention.

As an alternative, we also have Deluxe and Executive Rooms available for a small extra cost with completely different interior designs, with many overlooking our gardens and lagoon pool.

We would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you again on your next visit to Canberra, so please don't hesitate to contact me personally if you are returning in the future.

Kind regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
5.7 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,547 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,601 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,211 reviews
1.7 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,771 reviews
2.3 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel
Address: 55 Jerrabomberra Avenue | Narrabundah, Canberra 2603, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style, substance and sanctuary! That is the Best Western Plus promise when you stay at the spectacular Garden City Hotel in Canberra. Modern and contemporary hotel rooms, combined with warm, memorable, efficient and effortless service, makes Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel one of the city's premier hotels. Guests enjoy a fantastic location in the heart of Canberra, just minutes from top tourist attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery and Questacon. Located in Canberra's ever-popular inner-south, Garden City Hotel is nestled amongst tree-lined boulevardes and the quiet and tranquillity will ensure a peaceful and restful night's slumber. The on-site Secret Garden Bar & Restaurant is rapidly gaining a reputation as one of Canberra's most exclusive dining venues, with a mouthwatering menu of local and international favourites, imbued with an eclectic twist to keep things dramatic and exciting. The Executive Chef is both culinary superstar and local legend, adding his own personality and vivacity to each dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Garden City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing