We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food, friendly staff and surprising bill!”
Review of Olive at Mawson

Olive at Mawson
Ranked #8 of 1,473 Restaurants in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited Olive at Mawson last night, it was one of the best meals we have had! My husband talked about it the whole way home! Their bread is AMAZING!! We had the fried olives, antipasto plate for amd bread with anchovy dip for entrée. Mains I had the duck and my husband had the lamb shoulder. My duck was cooked perfectly couldn't fault it! My husband's lamb was so tender ans delish! Couldn't go in for sweets at the end way too full. They did bring us some chocolates at the end which was really nice! We loved our experience at Olive Mawson and would recommend to anyone and EVERYONE!

2  Thank rachsmith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveTeam, Owner at Olive at Mawson, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review, we appreciate and value your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

357 - 361 of 378 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Been there for dinner and had an amazing experience. Great food and great service. Loved the home made bread and the dips. Also the pork and the octopus were great. The mains were amazing too. Arthur (owner) recommended me a port and it was truly amazing . Everyone should try this restaurant , really nice ambience and amazing food. Will surely go again.

2  Thank MD084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveTeam, Owner at Olive at Mawson, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review, we appreciate and value your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

A true gem of a restaurant. Everything we ate was devine and the service was personalise with attention to your every need. Great place for a groups , Friends catching up or couples. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxing. For the food alone its definately visiting this establishment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
3  Thank Claudio72270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveTeam, Manager at Olive at Mawson, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review, we appreciate and value your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had such a great experience at this restaurant. The service was great and very hospitable and the food was even better. Do yourself a favour and try the Pork Belly. We have been back 3 times and will definitely be back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
3  Thank 67Iva89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveTeam, Manager at Olive at Mawson, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hello, Thank you for your wonderful review, we appreciate and value your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

In a close-in southern suburb of Canberra you will find Southlands shopping centre, home to Olive, a cosy Italian restaurant. I live not far away and I delight in entertaining friends to lunch there. It is open at night but this 'oldie' much prefers to go out for lunch. Mains are lunch size and are around $20. Their fish and chips are to die for, particularly when they can serve monk-fish. Roast pork belly and about another three choices comprise their lunch specials plus a regular a-la-carte menu. Staff are fantastic

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
3  Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveTeam, Owner at Olive at Mawson, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hello Norman, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed your lunch at Olive and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive at Mawson also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Olive at Mawson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing