We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but dark”
Review of Hotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hotel
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a nice new hotel and is different, service was great, food excellent
Only faults whoever fitted toilet seats has a poor eye - there are crooked, the bathroom could do with some additional lighting, my room got little natural light and was dark

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Geoffbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, General Manager at Hotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments about Hotel Hotel and in particular the service and the food.

It's the first time I have received a comment about the toilet seats but will ensure we do a check of all bathrooms and fix any crooked ones.

With regards to the lighting in the rooms and the bathrooms, this is something that I am working on with our design team to increase the light in certain areas. We hope to have a workable solution soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to place your comments on TripAdvisor, I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Hotel soon.

Tracy Atherton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 777 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at Hotel-Hotel partly because its manager, Tracy Atherton, is an old friend and former manager of Amankila in Bali, and we were eager to see her new home. Wow! Both of us were blown away by this one of a kind work of art and service. Everything at the hotel is recycled, re-used, local, and artisanal, from the water carafes to toiletries to walls. When we arrived late at night, the staff was ready with oysters and snacks from the kitchen and a flight of Tasmanian and Australian single malts for my husband. Our "Meandering Room" was huge, and the giant oval bathtub removed the worst of jetlag and got us ready for bed. Comforts abound, but the what this hotel is really about is service, warmth, a can-do attitude, and community. We loved sitting in the public areas, sipping excellent coffee or wine, and enjoying the many people who use the space as more than just a hotel lobby. Knowing Tracy, the ethos of warmth and service reflects her management style; married with the elegant funk of the hotel materials and design, this place is a great place to stay and a good place for the community. BTW, be sure to visit Canberra's National Gallery of Art while there.

Room Tip: The Meandering Rooms are large but somewhat dark as they look out onto the courtyard. The other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

On 10 May 2014 my wife and I stayed at Hotel-Hotel to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. I arranged it with hotel staff in advance as a surprise for my wife. I wanted to take her to the hotel as she has always talked about it. We have been there before to the cinema and the coffee area near reception, but wanted to know more.

It was great to see other parts of the hotel outside the public areas and to see the building internally at night. It is certainly impressive and quite special in the design.

Through the Front Office Manager, and his team at reception I received great support and help in getting the finer points organised for our stay - flowers, wine, the right room etc. It was indeed a surprise for my wife.

We both greatly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and welcomed the time to further explore New Acton. The room we were given was excellent and in the best condition. It was very well presented and the view was excellent. We enjoyed the use of the restaurant area for coffee and breakfast. The staff at the restaurant were great and the food was of a high standard. The contact we had with housekeeping staff was also great.

I want to congratulate the hotel on the staff at reception, the concierge, the restaurant and housekeeping for the professional and efficient way they carried out their role. My wife and I are retired and so have had a lot of experience in hotels in Australia and around the world. Our experience with Hotel-Hotel and with the staff requires the highest commendation. Their presentation, manner, willingness to support us, and their effort in making our stay enjoyable was of the highest order.

I pass on our thanks and congratulations to Hotel-Hotel staff. This is a fine hotel which is well supported by the staff. I will certainly recommend Hotel-Hotel to other people I know.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. The view of the lake and surrounding area is great. A corner room is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Cosy little room overlooking Lake Burley Griffin what more could we ask for on our weekend away. Staff were helpful and friendly with all of our enquiries. The lobby bar was great to stop in and relax before heading out to dinner. The staircase is amazing as is the very unique style of the Hotel. Cant wait to come back and stay in winter and sit by the fireplace.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Lake are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the2ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Last weekend we had a mini holiday at home, by booking into Hotel Hotel in the New Acton Precinct in Canberra. The warm and genuine welcome from reception and concierge staff set the tone for all staff interactions during our stay. The contemporary design and use of plentiful raw wood and concrete sounds as though it would be cold, but actually created a welcoming & warm ambience. The room was fabulous - beautiful bed, bathroom, teas and coffee, ipad, couch and occasional chair - the general level of comfort was very high. We enjoyed some excellent wine and tapas in the bar and then made our way to our evening movie with no need for rushed parking / stress - a great night was had!

Room Tip: The 'Original' rooms face an internal fern garden and are quite dark. Book one with an outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseEdgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I was so looking forward to staying at Hotel Hotel knowing the style and quality of other developments that The Molonglo Group have achieved. The building is beautiful, layers of thought and quality result in an impressive property but unfortunately the superlatives end there.

Its an expensive Canberra Hotel, I have stayed at the Hyatt and The Diamant, Hotel Hotel is more expensive than both of these but the service was much less.
Arrival - no valet parking so we had to navigate into the public car park and drag our bags through the underground car park back to Reception. We were walked to our room, why not use that person to park the car? What is the manager thinking - appearance over substance?
Concierge - never saw anyone at the Concierge desk, ever. When I asking where I could have my car washed the result was less than impressive.
Eating - no kitchen. There is no kitchen in this 5 star hotel, I was directed to a nearby restaurant. I was speechless… no kitchen?
Staff - utter platitudes when these points were raised, appearance of being aloof and condescending.
Expectations - mine are high, and yours should be too for the price of this hotel hotel. Mine were dashed.

Room Tip: choose The Diamant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, General Manager at Hotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Simon

Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Hotel on Trip Advisor and for your kind comments about the Nishi building and the quality of the property.

Unfortunately during your stay our kitchen was still under construction and the valet parking service wasn't available. Rest assured we are currently working through both options, with our kitchen opening mid June and the valet parking option in the next few weeks.

Simon I'm sorry that you thought our staff were 'utter platitudes', I'm very surprised to hear this as the majority of the comments about our staff are exceptional. I will try and find out who gave you a less than impressive response about your car wash and recommend that they advise guests in future to use Waves in Braddon.

I'm disappointed to see that you have rated us 1 out of 5 for every section including cleanliness, rooms, sleep quality and location, our other reviews have rated these areas highly. I would invite you to contact me directly to further discuss any issues related to these points.

Thank you

Tracy Atherton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We absolutely loved staying at Hotel Hotel. The staff is great and the standard of the whole place including the rooms is world class. It is a very quirky, different and memorable experience which we are keen to experience again. Our only regret was that we only stayed one night! The hotel is conveniently positioned near places where good food is available. We had drinks and a platter in the bar, sitting next to the open fire with cushions which was lovely to share with our family and we can't wait to visit again when there is more dining choice available in the hotel. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Lake view. There is a road in front but the double glazed windows cut noise to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 59 in Canberra
2,642 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,583 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 59 in Canberra
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#13 of 59 in Canberra
1,141 reviews
2 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 59 in Canberra
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hotel

Address: 25 Edinburgh Ave | NewActon Nishi, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $134 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hotel is a hotel. A place of collaborative craftsmanship conceived of and made by artists, makers, designers and fantasists. It is the brainchild of the Molonglo Group, an artisan led property development and creative production house. The 68 rooms are dressed with salvaged and restored 20th century Australian furniture, original artworks stockpiled over ten years, objects collected in nomadic times, and artisan made furnishings. The beds are made from reclaimed oak, the walls are a mix of concrete, cork, earthen clay, and natural fibre wallpapers. It is a quintessentially Australian vernacular expressed through raw materials. A reimagining of the textures and layers of an Australian shack and landscape. Finishing touches include Aesop amenities and heated bathroom floors.

Half of the rooms look out of their opening hardwood windows onto the lake or bush; and half onto the internal atrium populated with ferns from Tasmanian forests destined for clearance.

The hotel's public lounge is a series of nested spaces made of woven rough-formed concrete structural lintels. The lounge houses the reception and concierge; a library stocked with small press and vintage books; two large fireplaces for people to colonise; and the Monster kitchen and bar with its Mosaic room, Salon room and Dining Room.

The Mosaic room is a triple height room filled with large-scale original artworks. The Salon and Dining rooms are an homage to post war immigration to Australia and the eclectic-kitsch tastes that came with it - shattered terrazzo floors and floral carpets, Greek oil paintings alongside German neon prints.

The Monster kitchen and bar wanders throughout these lounge spaces preoccupied with local and seasonal food prepared for sharing.

The hotel sits in the environmentally thoughtful pineapple shaped Nishi building within Canberra's arts and culture precinct, NewActon.

HH is connected to the NewActon precinct, its amenities and gardens, by the grand stair; a geometric explosion of salvaged local timbers. Scattered around NewActon are 39 HH managed apartments.

Hotel Hotel's service and character is given life by kind and curious folk who welcome people like they would to their own home.

The result of the collaboration is a hotel rethought both in terms of what it is, how it is made and therefore what it does.

It is a re-evaluation of the consumption culture that dominates much of contemporary design and manufacture. It favours the work of designer-makers, artists and curators who are invested in the authenticity, integrity and care of the well made. The notion extends to those people not generally cast into the designer spotlight but who are equally essential to the proposal.

The artist and the framer that framed their artwork so well. The tile maker and the tiler that laid the tiles with such care. The curator that collected the mid-century furniture pieces and reupholster and French polisher that restored them. The furniture designer and iron monger, brass worker and carpenter that made their design possible. The chef and the producer that grew the ingredients.

And the endless banter that goes with it all.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing