We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy but almost perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Trendy but almost perfect”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

I booked for 2 nights on the internet after searching Trip Advisor which Hotel Hotel was listed as the number 1 hotel in Canberra. The hotel is part of a new development in a precinct called New Acton. I requested a large room with an outlook to the outside. The room is large and the king bed was very comfortable. It's almost new and very clean. The decor is hip and on the dark side which is in keeping with most contemporary hotels around the world. The reception counter is a small area within a large open cafe / wine bar / foyer space with a fire place. The room is large and smelt refreshing and clean. The hotel is within close walking distance to a number of food outlets including cafes, bakery, wine bar and restaurant, grocery shop within the precinct. There is also a cinema under the hotel. Overall, it's a great hotel to stay if you prefer something other than a standard 4 or 5 star corporate city hotel. It's not cheap but it's different. We will stay in this hotel again but will ask for a room that does not face the highway. Only 2 issues management should be aware of and take action to address it- for a 5 star hotel there should be more than 2 bath towels & if your room is facing the lakeside highway the glass windows are not sufficient to buffer the traffic noise to have a peaceful sleep. We stayed on a Saturday and Sunday night and I needed my ear plugs to get a decent sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tweedie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    158
    64
    27
    11
See reviews for
71
275
26
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

There really are so many ways to describe Hotel Hotel itself, including the architecture, staff, ambiance and styling - luxe, unique, techy, trendy, funky, comfortable, accommodating, pleasantly moody, eclectic and modern. If you're a fan of antiques and old-style comforts, maybe try University House across the road. Hotel Hotel is for those unafraid of the new, and welcoming of the funk. Canberra just got a whole lot more street cred thanks to this place, and for that reason, I'll be back in Canberra for a recreational visit that doesn't revolve around weddings or work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Loved our recent five-night (March 12 - 16) stay at Hotel Hotel. The look of the hotel is very unique/trendy which I love, the staff is absolutely perfect (attentive, accommodating, friendly) and is located within walking distance of restaurants/shops, although the restaurant in the hotel is a good option as well. My only issue with the hotel is the lighting. While I appreciated the low-lighting in the room, I felt it was too low for the sink-area of the bathroom and would love to see either a lighted make-up mirror installed or, at least, the ability to increase the light level above the sink. Otherwise, a beautiful hotel that I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koalanotabearinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Hotel Hotel is superbly decorated and designed. It is truly one of the most impressive hotels I have seen and the staff are absolutely divine. The only problem we had was that our room had 1 window with no natural light coming in and this made it feel like we were in a dungeon. This was added to by the fact I had no phone signal in our den. Waking up and not seeing if it was bright or cloudy outside meant we didn't enjoy this as much as we had hoped. Great place, but ask for a room high up with windows!

Room Tip: High up and ask for windows!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EddieOates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Intelligent and creative design, highly original decor, great location and sensational staff make this a real destination in Canberra. Our Creative Suite was spacious, very quiet, fitted out with retro luxe furnishings, super comfy bed and the best bathroom ever. While there are great restaurants and bars a few steps away from Hotel Hotel, the in-house restaurant/bar is super and highly recommended. Coffee is unspeakably good, and the staff won't judge you if you feel the need for a second pastry at breakfast.

Don't come if you are looking for multi-storey atriums with expanses of white marble tiling and intimidating pubic areas. Do come if you want to feel welcomed, cocooned, relaxed, unselfconscious and well cared for. While we were travelling in a small group, we would also recommend for women travelling alone as it felt like a very safe environment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raquel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our first visit to this newish hotel. As other have stated it has a very different design approach which may not suit everyone. We thought the room was small but the bathroom was OK. Didn't like the dim direct lighting effect, particularly to try and adjust the AC. The windows look out on an atrium in the centre of the hotel so no view. There is no desk (or space for one) in the room. So perhaps the intention is that you do that sort of work in the lobby bar area. It was OK for us for a weekend but I wouldn't want to spend a week on business here. It's close to Civic and has good access to the rest of Canberra. They don't have a real kitchen going currently just bar food, though there are options in the area. Gratis wireless access is nice and the parking at the Wilson nearby is subsidised.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Very new so clean and modern. Rooms are nice without being over the top. Nice bathroom and free internet. Good bar with nice food and drink selection. Excellent modern gym. Staff need some work getting asked the same stock questions by 3 people makes it feel like it is not quite genuine. The breakfast restaurant Macon & Green Grout was a big disappointment not sure how it is linked but was on the iPad in our room

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.8 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,086 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,238 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#17 of 57 in Canberra
1,320 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hotel

Property: Hotel Hotel
Address: Nishi Apartments 25 Edinburgh Ave | NewActon Nishi, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hotel is a hotel. A place of collaborative craftsmanship conceived of and made by artists, makers, designers and fantasists. It is the brainchild of the Molonglo Group, an artisan led property development and creative production house.

The 68 rooms are dressed with salvaged and restored 20th century Australian furniture, original artworks stockpiled over ten years, objects collected in nomadic times, and artisan made furnishings. The beds are made from reclaimed oak, the walls are a mix of concrete, cork, earthen clay, and natural fibre wallpapers. It is a quintessentially Australian vernacular expressed through raw materials. A reimagining of the textures and layers of an Australian shack and landscape. Finishing touches include Aesop amenities and heated bathroom floors.

Half of the rooms look out of their opening hardwood windows onto the lake or bush; and half onto the internal atrium populated with ferns from Tasmanian forests destined for clearance.

The hotel's public lounge is a series of nested spaces made of woven rough-formed concrete structural lintels. The lounge houses the reception and concierge; a library stocked with small press and vintage books; two large fireplaces for people to colonise; and the Monster kitchen and bar with its Mosaic room, Salon room and Dining Room.

The Mosaic room is a triple height room filled with large-scale original artworks. The Salon and Dining rooms are an homage to post war immigration to Australia and the eclectic-kitsch tastes that came with it - shattered terrazzo floors and floral carpets, Greek oil paintings alongside German neon prints.

The Monster kitchen and bar wanders throughout these lounge spaces preoccupied with local and seasonal food prepared for sharing.

The hotel sits in the environmentally thoughtful pineapple shaped Nishi building within Canberra's arts and culture precinct, NewActon.

HH is connected to the NewActon precinct, its amenities and gardens, by the grand stair; a geometric explosion of salvaged local timbers. Scattered around NewActon are 39 HH managed apartments.

Hotel Hotel's service and character is given life by kind and curious folk who welcome people like they would to their own home.

The result of the collaboration is a hotel rethought both in terms of what it is, how it is made and therefore what it does.

It is a re-evaluation of the consumption culture that dominates much of contemporary design and manufacture. It favours the work of designer-makers, artists and curators who are invested in the authenticity, integrity and care of the well made. The notion extends to those people not generally cast into the designer spotlight but who are equally essential to the proposal.

The artist and the framer that framed their artwork so well. The tile maker and the tiler that laid the tiles with such care. The curator that collected the mid-century furniture pieces and reupholster and French polisher that restored them. The furniture designer and iron monger, brass worker and carpenter that made their design possible. The chef and the producer that grew the ingredients.

And the endless banter that goes with it all.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing