We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare, bold and extraordinary experience”
Review of Hotel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Hotel Hotel is an incredible experience, not simply a place to stay. Its design is a crazy mix of textures and colours that fit together seamlessly. You feel like you're a guest in an art-loving philanthropist's secret hideaway.

The rooms are modest but well-appointed. Delicous cork & golf leaf walls, textured cement and well-thought design elements. Aesop toiletries add an extra touch of decadence. Views across the lake are lovely.

A note for business travellers, there's no desk in the room, so having a quick meeting or doing work in the room would be uncomfortable for anything but sending quick emails.

Also, there's no bath which is understandable when you look at the size of the rooms, but I like nothing better than a long hot bath when I'm away from home.

Staff are wonderful, it's done well, it's thought through. Do have a cocktail at the bar and gaze up through the glass bubbles to the tree-fern forest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayleggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy A, General Manager at Hotel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Good afternoon Ray,

Thank you very much for a beautiful review of Hotel Hotel. I'm delighted to read that you had such a great experience and that you found the design features, wonderful staff and handpicked bathroom amenities made your stay such a lovely one.

We can't wait to welcome you back hopefully very soon... Next time you stay I would definitely recommend staying in either our Creative or Meandering room types. They have all the wonderful features you enjoyed in the Original room, but the Creative rooms are larger in size and all have desks in the rooms so they make a great space for the working traveller! You might also want to consider the Meandering rooms, they have everything a Creative Room has plus a fabulous oversized egg shaped tub where you can soak your stresses away! We have new images loaded up on our website so check it out..

For your next booking please feel free to email me directly and it would be my pleasure to organise this for you.

Best regards

Tracy Atherton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 732 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here only one night. Spacious room with view of the inner garden. Not much day light. Lovely bathroom set up and amenities. The material in the hotel impressed us. Some vintage furniture, old wood, plain concrete, recycled material...including the scrap paper for the note book. The staff are amazingly helpful. Love it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emytha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I am on holiday in Australia and decided to spend a few days in Canberra, I found this hotel on the internet and what a find! From the moment I entered the door I was treated like a long lost friend. The staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble and they really do go out of their way to ensure that your stay is perfect. I was travelling alone and staff always took the time to chat with me and advise me of the many things to do and see in Canberra.

My room overlooked the lake and although there is a main road between the hotel and the lake it did not cause any problems. The room was spacious, well appointed and had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was excellent with a wonderful shower, delightful toiletries and huge thick towels.

There is not a restaurant at this time(there will be one soon) but cooked breakfasts are served in the bar area and a good selection of tapas and snacks are available at other times.

I am not normally a fan of modern architecture but this hotel really is a one off and definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in a Meandering Room. When we checked in our bank account was debited three times. Over $4500. It was an error. But I was cranky. And got cranky. Given the christmas period it took well over 10 days to get refunded. So I was cranky and broke.

It really didnt get us off to a good start.

So then once I had my meltdown we went to our room (husband and I). I think we were in room 28 or 30 (cant remember) and had a meandering room facing into the atrium. Well, the rooms are amazing. Amazing not in a typical 5 star way. Amazing different. It is refreshing. The rooms are pretty dark so if you like lots of natural light you may struggle with this. However our room was huge, with a sitting area and big bed. Huge bathroom with separate toilet, huge double shower, full size Aesop products, Ipad next to bed as your clock (and free internet access), beautiful robes, awesome mini bar with organic chips, my favourite raw chocolate by Pana, local wines etc.

The only negative about the bathroom is the bath is HUGE (thats a positive) but takes AGES to fill up - so pour a wine and wait about 20 minutes if you want a bath.

The hotels gym (which I looked at but didnt use) was great with really well equipped cardio (top state of the art treadmills were all I looked at - I am sure they had good other stuff).

The hotel has a cool relaxed vibe about it. It is in a great location - movie cinema in the building and some great restaurants near by (note to hotel management - get the pizza place next door to deliver room service and that would be AWESOME!)

Despite the rather big error and my rather big meltdown we would definitley come back - they bent over backwards to try to appease us and fix the error (with general manager, front desk manager and other hotel staff really seeing what they could do for us) which we appreciate - at the end of the day I do know mistakes happen (I make them all the time!). We normally stay at the Hyatt over Xmas - we wont go back there anymore. So good to see Canberra is upping the stakes in top end hotel accomodation.

Room Tip: If you want natural light ask for an outward facing room - if you are happy with a darker room ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura0576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I are from Canberra and decided to treat ourselves for New Years Eve and stay in an Original Room at the recently opened Hotel Hotel, cheekily requesting a lake side view when we booked. We managed to score a lake view on the 2nd floor of the hotel with a nice view of the lake but also an up close and personal view of Parkes Way, a fairly busy road (by Canberra's standards). Despite the clearly audible traffic noise during daylight hours, this quietened down during the night but if you're picky about noise, I would suggest requesting a room not facing the lake.

This aside, Hotel Hotel is definitely a breath of fresh air for Canberra. The Original Room was compact but well designed with a very high quality fit out (gorgeous bathroom with full sized Aesop products, quality provisions in the mini bar including coffee from the talented A Baker lads located across the road from Hotel Hotel). Beautiful attention to detail for those that appreciate good design (wall and floor finishes, eclectic furniture to compliment the super comfortable bed, ipad, television within touching distance of the bed) and the service from the friendly staff was flawless.

We will stay again, but will most likely upgrade to the Meandering Room for more space and a bath!

Room Tip: Suggest forgoing the lake view to avoid the traffic noise (although it's Canberra so traffic is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julesmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed on a Monday night on a whim while driving back from Melbourne to Sydney. Booked online and walked in 5 minutes later. The front desk staff were amazing, welcoming and personable. They seemed genuinely excited to have us stay. We spoke for 20 minutes about the hotel and the area (and beards). We were absolutely blown away by the lounge area. The stacked concrete, beautiful recycled timber features, fresh native flowers and eclectic furnishings all blend so tastefully. It is extremely evident how much thought has been put into every aspect of the design.
This was all confirmed as we walked into our meandering room and stood speechless for a minute of two. On the left a clay rendered wall, on the right, exposed concrete. Floor to ceiling timber windows with automatic blockout blinds. Vintage arm chairs, coffee tables and lamps make up the sitting area. The most comfortable king sized bed with super high quality bedding meant that we really didn't want to leave in the morning. A minibar with local and boutique brands (including vegan chocolate) set into a well designed wall unit. The bathroom with rain shower and heated floors smells like orange rind and geranium, mainly because of the multitude of Aesop products scattered throughout. Perfect LED lighting, touch screen phone, iPad with hotel info, alarm clock and other services and wall mounted TV round out the unique touches that make you feel like there isn't anywhere else to stay in Canberra. Which after staying here for one night, will always be the case for us.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Hotel is without doubt the best hotel in Canberra - very quirky & eclectic but deliciously comfortable. Every inch of the design has been carefully thought out. Located in a very hip enclave, you may never want to leave the precinct. Can't wait for our next trip!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Hamhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,384 reviews
2.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 58 in Canberra
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hotel

Address: 25 Edinburgh Ave | NewActon Nishi, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $138 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hotel is a hotel. A place of collaborative craftsmanship conceived of and made by artists, makers, designers and fantasists. It is the brainchild of the Molonglo Group, an artisan led property development and creative production house. The 68 rooms are dressed with salvaged and restored 20th century Australian furniture, original artworks stockpiled over ten years, objects collected in nomadic times, and artisan made furnishings. The beds are made from reclaimed oak, the walls are a mix of concrete, cork, earthen clay, and natural fibre wallpapers. It is a quintessentially Australian vernacular expressed through raw materials. A reimagining of the textures and layers of an Australian shack and landscape. Finishing touches include Aesop amenities and heated bathroom floors.

Half of the rooms look out of their opening hardwood windows onto the lake or bush; and half onto the internal atrium populated with ferns from Tasmanian forests destined for clearance.

The hotel's public lounge is a series of nested spaces made of woven rough-formed concrete structural lintels. The lounge houses the reception and concierge; a library stocked with small press and vintage books; two large fireplaces for people to colonise; and the Monster kitchen and bar with its Mosaic room, Salon room and Dining Room.

The Mosaic room is a triple height room filled with large-scale original artworks. The Salon and Dining rooms are an homage to post war immigration to Australia and the eclectic-kitsch tastes that came with it - shattered terrazzo floors and floral carpets, Greek oil paintings alongside German neon prints.

The Monster kitchen and bar wanders throughout these lounge spaces preoccupied with local and seasonal food prepared for sharing.

The hotel sits in the environmentally thoughtful pineapple shaped Nishi building within Canberra's arts and culture precinct, NewActon.

HH is connected to the NewActon precinct, its amenities and gardens, by the grand stair; a geometric explosion of salvaged local timbers. Scattered around NewActon are 39 HH managed apartments.

Hotel Hotel's service and character is given life by kind and curious folk who welcome people like they would to their own home.

The result of the collaboration is a hotel rethought both in terms of what it is, how it is made and therefore what it does.

It is a re-evaluation of the consumption culture that dominates much of contemporary design and manufacture. It favours the work of designer-makers, artists and curators who are invested in the authenticity, integrity and care of the well made. The notion extends to those people not generally cast into the designer spotlight but who are equally essential to the proposal.

The artist and the framer that framed their artwork so well. The tile maker and the tiler that laid the tiles with such care. The curator that collected the mid-century furniture pieces and reupholster and French polisher that restored them. The furniture designer and iron monger, brass worker and carpenter that made their design possible. The chef and the producer that grew the ingredients.

And the endless banter that goes with it all.

... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing