We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer a Best Western but still good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Plymouth
Level Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“No longer a Best Western but still good value”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We had two nights in this hotel which is well situated to visit all the main sights in Canberra. Dickson is a self cotained suburb of Canberra about 10-15 minutes driving time from the main sights. Unusually for a capital city, there is plenty of parking in the centre of Canberra and the vast majority of it is free, traffic is also light so there is no incentive not to bring your vehicle. The hotel is situated on a small side street which is usually quiet and we booked a 1 bedroom unit with ensuite bathroom (which contained a washing machine), seperate lounge and well equipped kitchen (off the living room). The room was well prepared, clean and aired. There were nice attentions to detail such as complimentary washing powder for the first wash and bottles of mineral water. There is plenty of on site parking, most of it in a basement garage which has a lift to all floors and which is secured over night. The only negative point would be that the furniture in the lounge was quite heavy and dark coloured and there was not a lot of natural daylight in our lounge so it all appeared a little dark. As the title states this is no longer a Best Western but it is still a good hotel and well situated . I would stay there again should I wish to visit Canberra.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plymouthtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    137
    40
    22
    22
See reviews for
93
90
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed in the Parklands hotel for 3 nights in Dec 2011. This is our second stay in this hotel, and for this trip we chose a 1 bed apartment. Very happy with the decision, as the kitchen was equipped with a full size fridge, dishwasher, microwave & cook top (no oven). The apartment also had a washing machine & clothes airer, but no clothes dryer (although there were two dryers available in the complex - cost $3 per load).

The location is extremely quiet, yet conveniently close to restaurants, supermarket & petrol stations.

Our apartment was modern, clean & tidy, with a comfortable queen size bed. Split system air-con in the lounge area. IPod dock in the bedroom. Secure underground parking. Bottled water supplied each day. Free wi-fi.

We used the pool & gym once. Oddly there was no treadmill, but sufficient other equipment to keep us occupied for half an hour. The pool was nicely maintained, and extra towels were provided. Only thing missing was a spa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristesse73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed in Parklands for 10 nights in Jan 2012 in a 1-bed apartment. It is a short walk to Dickson shops (including a huge Woolworths) and restaurants and a 15 min bus-ride to CBD. If you come by car there is convenient secure parking free of charge. The apartment (located on the ground floor) had a balcony and was very bright, spacious and airy. It had a well equipped kitchen and a washing machine (but no dryer, which is available to guests in the laundry room and costs $3 a go). The apartment is very well maintained (spotless white walls and carpet) and the cleaning crew does a very good job. There are two TVs and complimentary Internet access. Being at the outskirts of Dickson it is very quiet and you'll wake up to the twitter of birds. We enjoyed very much our stay here and plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hila5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Firstly, I'd like to note that it seems that Best Western no longer operate this hotel.

Located in Dickson, on the outskirts of Canberra city, we stayed here as we got a cheap package via a deals website. For what we were looking for, it was fine. Reception was well stocked with information for travellers, the attendant was pleasant, and the reception open hours are from 7:30am-10:30pm, which is excellent.
The room was clean, comfortable, and certainly adequate as a well priced base for our trip to the National Gallery (which is a 5 min drive away). There is a large shopping centre and dining strip 10 mins walk away, with plenty of easy food options for dinner. For those driving, they have secure parking with elevator access from the car park to the two accommodation levels. There is a vending machine outside reception for drinks or snacks at any hour of the day if you don't want to make trek to the shopping centre.
We did not use the breakfast room, and had no idea there was a pool, so cannot comment on those.

Things we noticed that could be improved upon include the fact that we could here very clearly the room above us, who's occupants seemed to feel the need to have a spa bath at 4am. Not in the control of hotel, I know, but the noise from the running water and spa jets was quite noticeable.
Also, most of the rooms share a common lockable door with the neighbouring room. If the neighbour is noisy, you can easily here them coming and going outside the room. Not a huge annoyance, but it was noticeable.

Overall a pleasant stay for the night as a stopover on our way south for a week.

Room Tip: If you can choose a room on the top level, or with no shared doorway, do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I was very disappointed with our stay at Parklands. The room had cobwebs hanging from the ceiling,dust build up on the pictures in the room and on skirting boards, the room was not vacumed for the 3 days of our stay and the bathroom was not cleaned either.Considering the price we paid for this 3 person room I would have expected a lot more. They also ask for your comments on the Customer Survey card but do not bother to respond. Over priced , not clean.
The only positive points were , great location and free secure parking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The Parkland Apartment Hotels provide convenient and clean accommodation for the Canberra area. There are convenient shops and restaurants located a short walk in Dickson, leaving a 5-10 minute drive to get to most regions of Canberra.

Check-in was very good, with them calling me to provide instructions on how to enter the premises if I didn't make it before reception closed due to a delayed flight. The apartments are spacious with plenty of television channels. Comfortable beds and good in-room heating helped survive the cold Canberra nights. Free secured car parking is also available. A major plus is the free internet service provided which is pretty fast and reliable.

The only downside to the stay was the bathroom which was on the small side and could have done with a good cleaning around the shower doors. Kitchen facilities and utensils are also good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsetter_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I've stayed here a few times, this was the first time in a 3 bedroom apartment though.
I never thought to ask if it would have 2 bathrooms but considering I've stayed here in a 2 bedroom before and it did I figured a 3 bedroom definately would.
No - one interconnecting bathroom for 6 people! What a nightmare. For $300+ a night you'd like to think that you'd have at least 2 toilets (if not 2 showers).
We were advised by reception that no three bedroom apartment has 2 bathrooms - crazy!
I'd never stay here again in a 3 bedroom apartment.
The Parklands is looking abit old and daggy in places, on the first day I had a look at the pool and gym to use the next morning, the ceiling in the pool area was sagging (water leaking through the roof). The next morning the pool and gym was locked up - closed until further notice - that was annoying as I like to use gyms when I travel (not that it was anything fantastic - a few pieces of equipment - no treadmill).

The only perk of this place is the location, so close to Dickson shops and only 5 mins to the City centre. However you could easily find other accommodation with a good location. Next time I think I'll head back to the Pavillion, Northbourne Avenue.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spunkygonecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
4.5 mi away
Premier Hotel & Apartment
Premier Hotel & Apartment
#27 of 57 in Canberra
297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
330 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#20 of 57 in Canberra
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,546 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,634 reviews
5.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Hotel & Apartments

Property: Parklands Hotel & Apartments
Address: 6 Hawdon Pl | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly Dickson Parklands Hotel & Apartments)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parklands Hotel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DICKSON PARKLANDS. WHERE HOME MEETS HOTEL Just because you're away, doesn't mean you can't have all the comforts of home. Stay with us and enjoy the space and freedom of apartment living with all the best bits of a hotel. Not only that, but we're super close to the Canberra city and a short stroll to Dickson. Sound good? We think so too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parklands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dickson
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing