We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Papaya salad, grilled chicken and sticky average, quail entree lovely”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sabaidee

Sabaidee
Ranked #542 of 1,352 Restaurants in Canberra
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
762 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Papaya salad, grilled chicken and sticky average, quail entree lovely”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The highlight of our first visit to Sabaidee was the quail entree. It was cooked to perfection and the spicy dipping sauce complemented it perfectly. The mains of papaya salad, sticky rice and grilled chicken were OK but not quite as as good as real Lao food. A good addition to the Canberra restaurant scene.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pechfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oak flats
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Felt like back in Lao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Waitress was so lovely & helpful Food was fantastic & it felt like I was back in Lao. Highly recommended. Loved It

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank captmacOakFlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Limited menu of dishes done very well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

My partner loves it, and I have now been back half a dozen times with work colleagues, family and friends. Strong commitment from the owners and staff to making sure you enjoy your dining experience at lunch or dinner, inexpensive and some unusual (ie haven't seen/tried them before) dishes that are tasty and well worth trying. I think it's already developing a regular, loyal clientele which is always a gods sign of value and quality. BYO but directly across the road from a supermarket bottle shop so drink prices are also kept low. I will go again, probably often, what better recommendation can one give?

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FilBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nice Lao Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

A little place where the old Shalimar Indian used to be. Nice selection of Lao dishes, efficient service, good prices and tasty food. Good for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJRACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
143 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Lao Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This little restaurant only opened a couple of months ago. Apparently the owner worked at a well known noodle house in Dickson for many years, so we were keen to try it. We asked the owner to choose our dishes. We had very different dishes, probably none that we would have chosen ourselves, but all were very scrumptious and mouth watering good!!! The presentation of the food was great and service very attentive. We will definitely be back!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnabelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabaidee also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Sabaidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing