We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And to think I thought YHA was the only backpackers here”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canberra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Civic Pub Backpackers
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I came across this backpackers by the staff at YHA that also told me that YHA was full. I didn't expect much but the rooms were similar to that of other backpackers and at a competitive price. The up/downside is that downstairs is a bar which is good place for a drink but you can hear the music in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rinkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 31 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

I came across The Civic Pub Backpackers in a search for cheaper accommodation in central Canberra. Other cheaper accommodation was either way out of town, or at least not accessible by foot. The Civic Pub Backpackers are pretty much in the heart of the city and very close to everything you need.
On the outside it doesn't look like much, but once you walk inside, your insides melt. The decor is amazing and you instantly feel relaxed and welcome. The staff were very friendly on my arrival and from the point of asking for accommodation to having paid and in my room took all of 3 minutes.
The room itself is just a run-of-the-mill dorm as advertised, but I wouldn't call it a normal backpackers in the sense that there isn't a common room as such or an equipped kitchen to cook your own meals.
I noticed that someone else wrote about no blankets. There just happened to be one in my dorm which I could use because no-one was in my dorm. I would hope they have some that you borrow from downstairs, but it would be good to have them in the room already.
All in all, it suited my needs perfectly and I look forward to drinking quite a few beverages in the warm and inviting bar that awaits just below my room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey_Dawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

It is good to stay somewhere for a couple of nights and the cheapest i have found in Canberra. Convenient to get to shops and pubs/clubs. I also like that it is clean for a pub. The staff are also really nice. The drinks are in wide variety and very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaddieGiblin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The civic pub backpacker's is incredibly practical and conveniently located. The staff are helpful and accommodating and the facilities are well kept and clean. It was easy to book last minute- an incredibly good attribute for a backpacker's to have.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boggabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Civic Pub Backpackers accomodation is situated within easy walking distance of the city of Canberra, and the hub of the nightlife. It is clean and has all facilities necessary, however there are no blankets which could pose issues to some. For young backpackers, it is an extremely practical and equipped place to be lodged!! I would stay again in a heartbeat !

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Cheap, clean and everything you need. Comfy beds with sheets and towels, good showers, lockers in rooms, ample power points. Located above a really cool pub and 2 minute walk to the centre of the city.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Clinton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I was stay 2 night.
the linens and towel were clean,
and output of shower was confortable temperture.
near to the mall.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank K2014M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
1,729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra, James Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,297 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Civic Pub Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Civic Pub Backpackers

Address: 8 Lonsdale St | Braddon, Canberra 2612, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing