We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Civic Pub Backpackers
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$108
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$144
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$154
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$181
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$95
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Forrest Hotel And Apartments(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$102
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
6
17
6
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
17
6
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 32 of 32 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had to vacate my room at midnight and sleep the rest of the night in my car. I was bitten from head to toe and although I have pictures to prove it, I will do everyone a favor and not post them. At first I thought I was being bitten by Mozzies but when I got up and turned on the light, I could see the Bed Bugs crawling around my sheets...Yuuuuckk!
I approached the manager on his arrival the next morning and requested a full refund. After showing him my bites, he had little choice and returned my money.
The room I had did not have flyscreens and the noise from the street was loud.
Just give it a miss.

Room Tip: A good room is not possible.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark190562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterTOm2013, Owner at Civic Pub Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Hi Mark,

Thank you for your review.

We are extremely sorry for your bad experience. Since your experience we have worked really hard to rectify the issue. 9 months ago we replaced all our foam mattress, replaced all pillows, had the all the rooms treated and steam cleaned.

We are now working hard to improve on our standard of accomodation with new additions such as lockers and power-points for every dorm bed. Soon to come free Laundry and Wireless connection.

If your in town again please come past and see us dinner is on me.

Regards Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

A group of my work colleagues go to Civic Pub during the busy lunch hour on a Friday every now and then, usually in a group of 10. You order at the bar and sit down to wait for your food. Usually the wait time is around 45 minutes to an hour, which is acceptable because it's very busy and the food is hot and comes in large serving sizes, and there aren't many other options in Braddon.

Today there were 4 girls on the floor and 2 guys in the kitchen, and over 100 people in the pub. After the usual hour, 3 people at my table were served food. 20 minutes later, 2 more people were served. After an hour and a half, 2 other people were told the pies had run out and they had to choose something else. Why not tell us that an hour ago when it looked like there might not be enough pies to fill orders? My meal never came at all. Did the chef drown after walking down to the lake to catch my fish? A grilled fish should have taken the shortest time. After an hour and 40 minutes I got up and politely asked for a refund at the bar, walked a block away and ordered a takeaway pizza elsewhere. 10 minutes later I had food. My lunch break took up 3 hours today.

I could see that our table was not the only one with complaints. Civic Pub, this is not news - you are always busy at lunchtime on a Friday. Either remove a few tables from your floor or hire more staff. In the meantime our office will be seriously considering whether the convenience of your location is worth the wait time for your food.

Room Tip: The pub is really busy and noisy
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodtraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews