We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth saving for a special night”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
South East NSW
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth saving for a special night”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

I'll be upfront here and say this isn't our usual place - we watch our budget and this would normally be too expensive for us. But we saved for a special night out in Canberra, minus the kids, and gosh I'm glad we chose this place to stay at.

The apartments are just beautiful. King size bed. Mugs as well as cups. Coffee machine with pods provided. Room service. Really lovely furniture in the rooms - I wanted to take the bedroom armchair home with me! Great views over Canberra. Big bathrooms, nice strong shower. The toiletries were gorgeous, none of your run of the mill cheapie "conditioning shampoo".

The room was very quiet, no noise from next door or the corridor.

The service was absolutely perfect. Very welcoming, helpful and cheerful.

The bar staff were also terrific, the wine list was great with a good mix of local, foreign, reasonable and expensive wines. The one cocktail I had was absolutely delicious.

This is not where we'd stay if we travelled to Canberra all the time, just because it's not our usual market, but for a special, romantic night out - absolute bliss.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Framus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    406
    72
    9
    2
See reviews for
487
610
66
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forster, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment. Roomy with funky rather than comfortable furniture. Great setup in the kitchen. Very good bathroom supplies but toilets not cleaned properly. The sliding door for the second bedroom was covered in finger marks at child level, looked quite seedy. Loved the restaurant, great service and food selection. Very good breakfast also.
Minimal helpful communication at check in. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon and when we enquired about a reservation for dinner at Ox we were told to phone the restaurant but that it was unlikely that we would be able to get a table. We did get a table and the restaurant was half empty - strange! The lollies in the foyer were good for the kids and a nice surprise. Very well located hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussie-Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morayfield, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived at 7pm and found the staff to be very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We really appreciated the Nescafe pod coffee maker in the room .The area was central to everywhere we needed to go. Parking underneath was very reasonable at $10.00 a night .Breakfast also was very cheap at $10.00 per person and it was no trouble to cook fresh bacon and eggs for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have nice sun in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I booked a studio apartment for a stopover on the way to the Snowy Mountains and this hotel is excellent as it is on the way and close to the Kingston shops where there are lots of restaurants. Beware the location instructions if you are using satnav as the property is possible technically Griffith rather than Kingston. I had previously eaten at the Ox restaurant on another visit but did not dine there this time although the food is available as a room service option. Upon check in I was unexpectedly upgraded to a one bedroom apartment as were my friends with whom I was traveling so that was a pleasant bonus. The room was very spacious and well thought out with a full kitchen and a separate bedroom and lounge and a large well designed bathroom. The staff were friendly and very helpful and there is parking beneath the building foe $10 per night.

Room Tip: You may want to avoid the ones which face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatienceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

It was a bit of a rocky start. We booked a single bedroom lux suite for five nights. I requested a quiet room and was told that one had been reserved on the fifth floor. When we checked in, that had slipped to the fourth floor. But the room had a bad odour from the bathroom. The staff obligingly relocated us to the third floor. The room was well set up but not the type of clean you would expect and the couch was stained. Never mind. The suite was well designed, warm and well equipped - except there was no sign of the DVD player the website had promised. "We only provide them if guests ask" was the response, which we did and one was brought to the room. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows (request a soft one). The hotel is very well located close to Manuka shops, Kingston Foreshore and the parliamentary precinct. The staff were very good.

Room Tip: Go for the Lux rooms if you can afford it and not on Canberra Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Knurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed at east hotel over the weekend. Rooms are clean, comfy and spacious enough to fit 7 of us. Good location and plenty of underground parking spots. Buffet breakfast was also good. Highly recommended! One suggestion - make sure you book the room 1-2 weeks in advance.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
237 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Booked online. Read some good reviews here on Tripadvisor. Good price and with bike hire thrown in, it is great value. Take note the bikes are not racers or mountain bikes, simple road bikes (as per the picts). We had room 202 which can be converted into a 2 bedroom apt. Comfortable bed and good toiletries. Rooms was fully equipped with a kettle and pots/pans for self catering. Nespresso machine and instant coffee. Comfortable bed and good sized shower. No complaints at all. A good location close to the Manuka shops - we walked over for dinner which was under 10 mins. Breakfast can be thrown in for $10 if you pre-book (at least the night before) which is good value - eggs, bacon, hash browns, toast, pancakes for the hot breakfast and muesli, fruit and yoghurt for the continental. $20 if you want both hot and continental. This would be a perfect business hotel too, but just as good as a couples getaway or family hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cpr2exs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,334 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,055 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing