We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The East Hotel in Canberra provides high quality and spacious accommodation in an excellent location. We were very impressed with the space of our 1 bedroom apartment and the quality of the furnishings. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was modern, clean and well appointed. The Kitchen was a welcome addition and again provided high quality appliances and equipment. We enjoyed a lovely dinner with friends in the restaurant and overall had a most enjoyable stay. You can walk to the Manuka shopping precinct or to the Kingston shopping area and if you want a pub meal there is a good hotel right across the road. A great spot to stay in Canberra and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank keentravellerand1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    406
    71
    9
    2
See reviews for
487
609
66
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at the East over the Easter Holiday weekend. Easy & friendly efficient checkin and checkout.. Even to the little extras of Easter chocolates on reception available to littlies or the oldies. The hotel presented very modern, new, clean and very modern and hip. "Groovy" The room presented very well - Studio Luxe (with bath) spacious enough for 2 persons on a weekend stay, 4th floor room, excellent view. Bathroom was adequate in size for 2 persons with bath and all the bathroom necessities available. Kitchenette was excellent for those that wish to whip up a simple meal, everything was catered for from the toaster, kettle saucepans to knifes and forks to cooking utensils, to a small table and chairs which accommodated us for our breakfast each morning. Room was quite clean as was the carpet and the bathroom. Bed very comfortable. TV was excellent. Nothing major to complain about.
The proximity of the hotel to the Manuka shops and restaurants we could not fault, it was so close and walking distance to excellent & many numerous restaurants and shops.
We did not eat at the OX restaurant but did have a late night drink in the bar, service no problem and friendly. Bikes to hire were available at this hotel.
For the sweet tooth lollies were available to help yourself, such a treat not many hotels would offer this, We helped ourselves to the treat nightly as did others a little something special at this hotel.
Probably the only thing I could mention was the spider webs on the windows outside on the balcony that could do with a wiping down.
But other than that an excellent hotel and would definitely recommend and would stay again.
Thanks again absolutely loved the hotel and would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side (Canberra Avenue have a view over the cathedral and trees) Studio Luxes are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 84Cedarhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homebush West, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Firstly canberra is an amazing place I dare anyone to come up with 10 reasons why it isn't because I have 20 reasons why it is.

East Hotel was a breath of fresh air. From the quality of the room to the service and the price.

I've been to a few hotels and I must say East is the hotel away from a hotel.

Let me explain.

Most hotels out there still make you think of work even when they try not to. They're just so damn professional, I hate it. East was professional, don't get me wrong, but they were the right kind of professions. And that's being friendly and providing top service at the same time.

The staff were amazing. All of them. And a special note to you ox eatery young ones...well done! It was super busy a couple times especially today when I checked out after breakfast. But you guys got things back up and running again even though some customers were a little precious. Oh sorry to the guy that didn't get his yoghurt, cry me a river buddy. I hope you didn't get your yoghurt because you were rude and obnoxious to both the chef and the manager, cry baby!

The hotel is also located in one of the more quiet and relaxed locations in canberra. Surrounded by a mixture of local residential properties and a few other accommodations.

I will have no problem giving east hotel my money again, even though I epically failed during check out when I provided the wrong card and then went over my cheque limit. The poor girl had to swipe my card a few times but she had a joke over it.

Overall, east is what hotels should be like. I also enjoyed the fact it had more families and couples rather than 'party animals.'

Will see you again east.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

In a really good location, close to everything. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, and there was heaps of space for our family of 4. The Easter egg hunt for the kids on Sunday morning was a nice surprise for the kids. Checkout at 12noon is fantastic, we left before that, but it meant we could sleep in and not have to rush around to check out. Room amenities were great, and it was no problem with reception to deliver a toothbrush, when we had forgotten ours. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NBTraveller870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Clean, quiet, good service, well appointed, lovely decor, great shower and bath - our stay in a Luxe Studio over Easter was everything we may have hoped for and then a bit more.

Other reviews in the excellent category say it all, but one additional observation was that the look, feel and vibe of this hotel was as if it was brand new and just opened. As it actually opened over 18 months ago, it was obvious that the management team and staff have stayed on top of their game.

Oh ... one last thing - I have never commented on toiletries before in a review, but the Appelles Apothecary Range and especially the 'Ginger Lily' Himalayan Bath Salts were exquisite.

The only suggestion for improvement would be to make the external signage for the hotel more prominent and easier to see when driving - there was very little contrast between the Hotel's name in silver on a light-coloured stone background.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyfromNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed at the East for a weekend. Had looked at the reviews on Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. We had a two bedroom apartment with the second bedroom being decked out fantastically for the children aged 11 and 10. There were complimentary chocolates, x-box and an assortment of colouring in activities. Rooms were clean and had all the comforts of home. We had a great stay there, nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff. Really enjoyed our time at the East. Would recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed there a few times - check in is always super fast and the staff are very casual in their approach but still professional.

The gym is fantastic and available 24 hours which is what I like to see.

The restaurant downstairs is great, there is also a supermarket that has some gourmet produce as well as basic staples as good prices about 5-10 mins walk away.

I've never been to the bottleshop across the road - but the hotel is really ideal in the sense that there is a a strip of shops with a supermarket/cheap bottleshop and dodgy bistro all pretty much within walking distance. There is no immediate reason to leave the area if you are there on business, I find Canberra's CBD quite un-walkable and I keep getting swooped by Magpies anyway, so I like to stay at the East when in town. The CBD is pretty lacklustre anyway, so best to stay there and then drive where you need to drive to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,332 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing