We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well appointed accommodation”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well appointed accommodation”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This is a great location, within just a few minutes walk of Telopea Park, Kingston shops, Canberra Glassworks, and the old Bus depot markets - just to name a few nearby attractions. The amenities at East are excellent. My only complaint was that my room was too warm for my liking and I had difficulty turning the air-conditioning off. Fortunately, opening doors onto the balcony meant I could let in some cooler air, otherwise I would have found it too warm and stuffy overnight.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly255344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    406
    71
    9
    2
See reviews for
487
609
66
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

After struggling to find last minute accommodation for the Australian Running Festival I stumbled across East hotel. They accommodated my room change (from 1br to 2br back to 1 br - Long story !) without complaint and without any penalties which was impressive given how busy the weekend was. Rachel was very helpful on the phone and all the staff were very friendly upon arrival where I found I'd be upgraded to a studio apartment. The room was very spacious, modern, clean and well stocked. The bed was Super (almost too) comfortable (given my alarm went off at 4:30AM to make the start line). Add in the ample onsite parking, great location (gotta love the Kingston restaurants) and the super friendly check-out time of midday and I couldn't have asked for more. This will be top of my list for future trips to Canberra.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_H_2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at East last year for a night and reviewed it then as excellent choice.
When the AFL released their fixture in November we booked a room for each of the GWS Canberra games without hesitation, the first was last night and so glad we did.

We received a free upgrade to an apartment, This is superb accommodation, all the comfort and amenities you would expect, plus a bit more. The apartment would be at least 60 sqm, full kitchen, bathroom, dining area and lounge area with a feeling of space in every area.

The kitchen is fully equipped and the minibar fare is much better priced than most similar hotels, the Nespresso machine a nice touch, if you have one at home bring your own favourite pods with you.

The room was spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable, all the occasional furniture was classy and had both form and function.

Check in and out was simple and hassle free, the staff are friendly and very efficient.

One minor gripe, they have a very good deal on breakfast, but no breakfast establishment should run out of bacon at 8.30am, the whole breakfast layout and experience felt clumsy and the eatery staff not as friendly, suspect it (Ox Eatery) might be outsourced, if not then the hotel does have one small area to improve in.

Cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Very comfortable and spacious. Stayed in February and had a perfect weekend visiting exhibitions. Tickets organised by hotel and nothing too much trouble. Excellent facilities and bargain breakfasts! Good location - so many choices for eating out very close by. Would stay here now every time we visit Canberra.

Room Tip: spend a little bit more and go for the slightly bigger rooms with a balcony. You can open the door a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janinebooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Good location, price and facilities- particularly if you were staying for more than 2 days with its modern rooms and kitchen. Don't eat there- go out, plenty of surrounding options. Forget the Hyatt etc. This is my preferred Canberra option

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BleedingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in late March for work. Arrived at 8.30pm and restaurant was still serving dinner so headed down for a glass of wine and something to set after checking in. Studio Room was modern and well furnished, comfy bed, good sized bathroom. Convenient location, close to restaurants and short drive to Parliament House. I had a hire car so under cover parking was convenient. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello loulabelle7993,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your quick stay. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to have you with us for your visit to the Nations Capital!

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to provide you with everything you needed.

I do hope that you travel to Canberra often as we'd love to start building your profile with all of the "special little things" that will make every stay special for you. Likewise, stay with us if you get to visit Canberra for leisure - you'll find we have the perfect location not only for business but a weekend of relaxing and staying in Canberra's trendiest suburbs.

Until next time!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the East hotel for one night. From the minute I spoke to the booking staff over the phone I was treated very well. We booked one of their special packages but wanted more, like breakfast, a bigger room, free bottle of wine, etc. Nothing was to much to ask for.

When we arrived, check in was smooth, the room was tastefully decorated and modern. Our room had a microwave, toaster, kettle and could easily be used as a mini flat for an extended business stay. We thought the bottle of wine in the room was the free bottle of wine but it turned out to be just part of the mini bar. No problem: after checking with reception, they made that the free bottle of wine. They have free bicycles and jars of lollies in the foyer. At breakfast I accidentally knocked the napkins off our table. The waitress came instantly and replaced them all with fresh ones. Great service.

And the restaurant and bar was 'alive' at night with everyone having a good time. I will certainly stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello Henri614,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for the kind review!

We are all about the detail in everything we do so thank you for picking up on some of the little things we believe are important to travellers in todays world.

We appreciate the feedback for the team at Ox - we'll be sure to pass it on!

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,333 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing