We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky, Fun and Fabulous”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Funky, Fun and Fabulous”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at East Hotel and loved it ! The rooms are so fresh and modern and had everything I needed for my stay. The hotel and lobby are so funky and I love the bikes for hire. If you can have dinner at the OX do it - the food is amazing and the relaxed atmosphere just added to the experience. All the staff were so friendly and more than happy to help.

Room Tip: Definately get a Luxe One Bedroom Apartment - so much space and a spa bath !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelWriterKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello TravelWriterKate,

Thank you for staying with us and experiencing East Hotel - and Canberra!

The team is pretty chuffed that you took the time out to write a review on TripAdvisor given your vast travel experience.

I've passed your comments on to our colleagues at Ox Eatery as well.

Thank you again. We look forward to reading about your adventures!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    402
    71
    9
    2
See reviews for
482
601
64
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the East Hotel for six months this year while On a temporary work assignment. I can't say enough positive things about my experience. My room was large, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was always helpful, and met all of my requests in a timely manner (e.g., more coffee pods, a replacement for the dull knife in the kitchen, frequent use of the printer at the front desk, etc.).

My only complaint was that the hotel gym was on the small side, and lacked a few things that I would have liked, such as barbells and a pull up bar. However, this is only a minor inconvenience for short term guests, and long term guests could easily find a gym nearby better suited to their needs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 808johnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Aloha 808johnnyc!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your extended stay with us!

My team and I enjoyed reading your review and we do hope that you get the opportunity to stay with us again.

We'll get you some passes to our friends down Club Lime Gym just a short stroll down the road in Kingston - I'm certain they will have anything you could want in a gym & fitness centre!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were upgraded to a suite for our three nights in the East Hotel, and had a very pleasant stay. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The suite was large, bright, nicely decorated and comfortably furnished. It was exceptionally well equipped, with a tall refrigerator with a separate freezer, a washer, dryer, and dishwasher, an oven, stove top, and micro wave, a Nespresso coffee maker, and crockery and cutlery for four. Internet access was free (for 100 MB per day), and there were 25 TV channels. The suite was clean and quiet, the bed was very comfortable, and we slept well. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the Manuka shopping centre, where there is a good range of cafes and restaurants. A few details need attention. The air conditioning was noisy, but we turned it off at night. There were large gaps between the roller blinds in the bedroom, which let in light in the early morning. A number of small things were coming loose or falling apart, but on the plus side, when we needed help to get something to work, someone came to the room within minutes. We enjoyed our stay, and would highly recommend a suite in the East Hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello Hermes99,

Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us at EAST! It's great to hear you had a relaxing stay in one of our large apartments.

I appreciate your quick summary - your appreciation of the small things such as the room inclusions: Nespresso machines, dishwashers, laundry, etc. As well as some items that need looking at. If you could contact me, or the hotel directly, we will resolve the issues ASAP. We like our hotel to always look top notch!

Thank you again. I do hope to hear from you soon!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights, on arrival the receptionist was helpful and friendly, check in was very quick and painless and I was soon up to my room.
I was a little surprised that it was a partly self-contained room with a small hob and pots and pan, plates and cutlery, enough to cook with, pretty good. Just check the cutlery before you use it, almost all of mine were dirty.
The room was large and comfortable with a good study table in the corner and the first 100mb of internet wifi free a day, fabulous there aren’t many around that do that.
Overall the room was great.
The food however was disappointing, the breakfast was very simple and plain, there was no real choice for the hot food scrambled Egg, hash brown, mushrooms, beans and bacon; there were three types of cereal, I was informed that the Yoghurt was very good, but I don’t eat it.
For the money it should have been more.
The hotel is a $30 taxi ride from the airport and a close walk to the shops of Kingston; a big plus for this place is that it has three types of sweets in the foyer” Jaffa’s, freckles and a mint” that you can help yourself to, it is a fabulous idea, well done.
Overall the hotel is a great place to stay, shame about the breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wizard60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello wizard60,

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor.

You have provided a good summary of your stay and it's clear breakfast is important! We have worked with Ox Eatery to revamp breakfast and I would like to buy you breakfast on your next visit to get your feedback. With the new buffet we have a egg station so your eggs can be cooked in the style you prefer.

I'm glad you found the amenities in the room and the availability of 100MB internet free daily useful. Thank you for mentioning the note about the cutlery - this is an embarrassing and unacceptable oversight on our behalf and your comments have been shared with the housekeeping team to ensure they stay alert with their attention to detail.

So glad to hear we are the hotel for you! Let me know when you're coming so we can organise that breakfast.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The East hotel was great. The staff at reception were charming and extremely helpful. Our room-apartment was fantastic with everything a person could wish for away from home. It was spacious spotless and comfortable. Not only did we have the usual tea making facilities but there was also a Nespresso machine!! We had a laundry and full kitchen, the bathroom was spacious and there was even light enough to apply makeup! A large sitting room with TV and balcony and a bedroom comfortable and with lots of light. When we next return to canberra we shall certainly stay at East. The whole concept of an apartment hotel I believe to be excellent. The manager is certainly to be congratulated.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello Helen H,

Thank you so much for your review.

The team and I are very happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. It was great catching up with you as you were enjoying breakfast with your husband . . . and one of the first to try our new breakfast buffet!

I look forward to the delightful Helen H and her wonderful MH returning soon!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

New, trendy without a hint of being pretentious, great service, fantastic rooms: what more do you need.

This would be a very good hotel anywhere, but for Canberra it is outstanding.

The rooms are large, have heaps of natural light, and small balconies so you can not only sit outside but get all of the fresh air you want if you so desire. The bathrooms are large and well designed and there is a small kitchen with a Nespresso machine so self catering is a real option.

The hotel is very located in a relatively quiet neighbourhood but only a short walk from both the Kingston and Manuka shops and restaurants. For the energetic it is quite possible to walk to Parliament House and even the gallery and library.

Best in Canberra

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello BeachSwaggie,

Thank you for the review! And thank you so much for staking the claim "best in Canberra"! Wow!

You have mentioned some of the things you liked about your stay with us: culture, layout, colour schemes, ability to be looked after or self-catered, location.

You've got me working on how to change your perception of us from "very good to outstanding" to "outstanding to excellent".

Let me know next time you're visiting. Challenge set!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

what a great location.smack bang in between Manuka and Kingston.with a great pub just across the street.our room had every conceivable luxury you could want,bath robes,slippers,coffee machine,big tv screen near the bed,micro wave,in fact it had a kitchen .i had read reveiws of the staff not being very freindly,that couldnt be further from the truth.we came back to the hotel after shopping on a saturday night and the staff in the ox and the bar were great.
noon book out time is a good idea.so is the fantastic range of in house movies.but lets not get too carried away.it does have some faults.firstly,paying to park your car in the hotel,which is also being used by the general public for a fee.if the public can park there for a fee then they should at least let hotel patrons park for free.we did make a mistake by having breakfast in the hotel-a big one(yet i made it twice,should have read the fine print).way way over priced and not much choice for the hot brekky,but very tasty all the same.another thing is the air con is pre set for 22.5.which is way too hot for this time of year.
but for the few faults i mentioned we will stay again.couldnt see myself staying anywhere else.i will be in the know next time.

Room Tip: do something about air con before you settle in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevor j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello trevor j,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.

You've provided a good summary of our location and in-room inclusions!

I'm glad you've found the staff at Ox Eatery friendly - and their management are too. Our colleagues at Ox are constantly working to keep a high standard, so it's great to see it come through in your experience dining there.

We do have have our parking facilities accessible to the public but offer a discounted nightly rate of $10 to our guests who choose to use this facility.

I would love to have you back to try the new breakfast (breakfast on me). We work closely with Ox on the breakfast offering and have recently revamped the layout, improved the offering and made the pricing more flexible and attractive.

Thank you again for offering your feedback. It's great to hear the good and wonderful to get your tips on how we can improve.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing