We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky new establishment”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Awesome experience with the family room. Well thought out to entertain the kids. Nice brekky and conveniently located close to restaurants and attractions.
Quiet and comfortable beds. Rooms were clean:)

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JayHo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello JayHo83 Family!

So glad you got to experience the 2 bedroom kids cubby room - they tend to go very quickly, particularly during school holidays and long weekends. We love them too!

We won't be as "new" on your next stay, but we're always looking for ways to be unique and bring smiles (or smirks!) to our guests faces!

Thank you for the review. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed two nights at this hotel on a recent business trip to Canberra. I have stayed in many different hotels in this city and this one is the best, and that's not even taking into account value for money. The room was spacious, clean and had all the features you would expect. Luxurious toiletries. a Nespresso U machine to make your own coffee were added bonuses. The bed was a very comfortable King size with a range of different pillows to choose your comfort level. Outside of the room there is a really well equipped gym, which I hadn't realised existed on making my reservation (mental note to bring gym gear next time), the bar and restaurant had a real buzz, great atmosphere. The bar tenders were really friendly and helpful in making suggestions about our night cap to end the evening on a perfect note. The decor of the place is very trendy, but not at all pretentious. The service staff from check in to room service were friendly and helpful. Parking was a breeze, under ground with a discounted flat rate for hotel guests. I didn't eat at the restaurant so can't comment on that, but the coffee is good in the morning and as well as an option for an eat in breakfast, they also have a good range of takeaway options for those in a hurry.
Our group also booked a room for a meeting, they have a selection of meeting rooms which appear suspended and are 'glassed in' areas overlooked the reception area of the hotel. There are curtains for privacy, but it was a very reasonable charge and was great to meet outside of our office environment. Finally, the location is just five minutes walk to Manuka shops, which has a huge range of cafes and restaurants as well as an opportunity for retail therapy for those who might need it. If you were in Canberra as a tourist I would equally recommend this hotel, its a great location near the Parliamentary triangle and all the sites, and only 10 minute drive to Civic (city). I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not face on to the Kingston hotel, can get a bit of residual crowd noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdeleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear AdeleAustralia,

Can you please write our next promotional brochure? ;-)

Only kidding, but you have written a beautiful review of your stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough piece of literature of your time with us. I hope it inspires others to travel to Canberra and experience EAST.

Please do contact me the next time you plan a trip to Canberra. We would love to have you back.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for 3 days during a business trip. The hotel is well located not far from the lake. The whole atmosphere from the minute you enter to the lobby, is very welcoming and young. The hotel is well designed and it gives you kind of "home feeling". The rooms are specious and everything kept very knit and clean. For me this will be one of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hardof J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello Hardof J from your home in Canberra!

Thank you for the review. I am glad you had the time during your quick 3 day trip to explore the Inner South of Canberra and appreciate the amenities of East Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you home on your next trip to Canberra!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My family visited Canberra over the long weekend in October & were pleasantly surprised with our accommodation. Sleek, chic, & modern. Close to the cafes of Manuka & not too far from the city centre. The only suggestion was that the buffet breakfast in the downstairs cafe was a little short on with selection. A designated kids game's room wouldn't go astray either.Other than that, we would stay down here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5Welshys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello 5Welshys,

Thank you for the review and the constructive comments!

We do love having families with us and are always looking for ways to better up the ante when it comes to "wowing" all ages of travellers we have.

We are also in the middle of redesigning the breakfast format with our colleagues at Ox Eatery. There are some exciting times ahead in the breakfast time slot. Watch this space!

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to EAST.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights in a Luxe apartment in late September. These must be one of the best situated and set up apartments in a hotel in Australia. The facilities in the apartment down to the Nespresso machine were first class - could not be faulted. The staff were helpful and friendly. It is a 5- 10 minute walk to either of Manuka or Kingston villages, with the plethora of restaurants and shops at each. It is an easy 20 minute bus trip into the CBD. I would recommend the East to anyone planning a stay in Canberra.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello Robert B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the stay you and your wife experienced with us.

We love that we made such an impression and ticked all the right boxes for your travel needs.

I appreciate your review and the future referrals you will provide to us.

Please do let us know the next time you plan to visit Canberra.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

As a world traveller and consequently a frequent hotel guest, it is rare not to find a point for improvement with most hotels. I struggle to find any points for improvement here .. top quality hotel and a pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disserning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello Disserning,

Thank you so much for the very kind comments and review. Couldn't be happier that you had such an excellent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I came to Canberra to see Floriade and stayed at the East hotel only for one night (Luxe studio) but it was excellent! Friendly service and nice, quiet room. We both had a nice rest and the late check out is good for sleeping in! We will be back here when we come back to Canberra.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room, away from the lifts as we are both light sleepers and this request was met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hello Annie Y,

Wasn't Floriade great?! Thank you for your review and staying with us.

Great comments on the Luxe Studio - we have many guests who prefer it due to it's great size and amenity relative to a normal hotel room you might encounter.

Please do let me know when you plan to return.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
2,522 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $154 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing