We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! for pizaz and comfort”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The trendy decor was matched by themed meeting rooms such as the Vinyl (with record player and selection of vinyl records), The Aviator, etc. The rooms were modern with every convenience including a mini laundrette, kitchenette, lovely wide views from the glass walls, king beds and well designed and equipped bathrooms. The towels were generous and plush.
A home away from home!
The location is over the road from the trendy shops of Manuka, a block in the other direction to the restaurants, and a great morning walk down Giles St to walk along Lake Burley Griffin,

Room Tip: All looked great. Fifth floor had a great view over Parliament House, Black Mountain, and Manuka Ova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freda02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hello Freda02,

Thank you for staying with us at East Hotel and for your review!

It sounds like you've really enjoyed our style and we'd love to have you back to check out some new artwork that's just been placed all around the ground floor through the lobby and conference areas. It's the first of many art installations to come!

Thank you again. We are proud you have labelled us as your home away from home!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,786 - 1,792 of 1,961 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed 5 nights in apartment with balcony. Clean, very comfortable, spacious, good cooking facilities for self-catering. Two good shopping areas close by.Walked to the Lake and galleries and Capital Hill.

Room Tip: Room 407 very quiet. Rooms overlooking Canberra Avenue could possibly hear traffic noise?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pasummers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear pasummers7,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review!

You've kept it brief and so will I...

Looking forward to wowing you again!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights. Felt like holiday rather than work. Everything was excellent and low key. Check in easy room spacious, comfortable, sunny really quiet. No corridor or guests next door noise. Mine had Kitchenette and balcony. Beds great. Restaurant food tasty and prices good. Only gripe. The bathrobes were tiny and no hooks to hang them in bathroom. Definitely coming back again as best room i have stayed in for ages.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ozbabetasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hello ozbabetasmania,

Thank you very much for staying with us at EAST and being so complimentary about your stay and our facilities and subtle yet attentive service.

If you come back too often, we may have to name a room after you!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights over a weekend in a Studio. Even though this is the least expensive room type, we found the facilities very adequate. The hotel is new so everything in the room felt fresh. The room had a good layout and didn't feel crowded.

The service was very efficient from when we made contact before our stay to our check in and check out. We really appreciated a late check out on our last day. We were slightly disappointed that not all toiletries and tea and coffee was replenished during the room clean, but that was not a big deal really.

The location was handy - close to both Manuka and Kingston for coffee and light shopping.

We ate dinner in the hotel on our first night and were quite pleased with the quality of the food and service was generally good.

Room Tip: The studio room was adequate for us. It even has a kitchenette! We stayed on one of the higher level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bandb2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hello bandb2004,

Thank you for the great review!

Great to hear you found even our entry level East Studio so accommodating! At 30m2 we think so too but sometimes we feel spoiled with some of the larger rooms.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the tea and coffee not being replenished during your stay as this should definitely occur as part of the housekeeping detail.

We do look forward to welcoming you back well into the future.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here for three nights mainly for business, but the hotel is fantastic for any sort of trip. This is a new, funky but spacious hotel, with great appointments and attention to detail. My room looked out of Manuka Oval, and the location is really close to the Manuka shops and to the little treasure Silo Bakery/Cafe at the Kingston shops. I walked to the Parliamentary circle through Telopia Park and along the Kingston shores - lovely sights.
Back to the hotel. Check in was fine - even though I arrived at 11pm. The room was huge, with a completely equipped kitchen including Nespresso, and all the laundry machines tucked away too. Well laid out, with a comfortable but firm bed, well designed bathroom and good separation of all these spaces with sliding doors and the room's clever layout. Even a little balcony (not this time - its 10C outside) Free wifi - shame on you all you multinational hotels.
I didn't eat breakfast here but had a good quality, fresh room service dinner delivered from the Ox restaurant in the lobby.
I have previously stayed at the Canberra Hyatt, but really, this one is more spacious, better appointed and in an area that encourages you to get out and have a walk, while still being really close to the tourist zone. So unless you want to soak up the history of other, older hotels, the East really ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank RolFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hello RolFromOz,

Thank you for the very descriptive review! It sounds like you could write a review for our marketing material!

While you enjoyed your view to Manuka Oval in May, you'd be amazed at the changes there as they resurface the oval and expand the seating capacity. That is a historic marvel that the government is transforming into a mod marvel!

I'd love to have your feedback again as we've continued to tweak many aspects of our experience based on guest feedback.

Thank you again. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I was a little concerned when I arrived as the hotel is not near the Canberra CBD however I was pleasantly suprised to find that the hotel is located near the main street of Manuka (Franklin Street) which has plenty if cafes & restaurants to choose from.

The East Hotel is quite new & has a very modern feel. The rooms are well presented, clean, comfortable & even have a nespresso machine! Bonus!

Staff are friendly & helpful... All in all a good place to stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MymTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Hello MymTravels,

Thank you for staying with EAST. I'm glad you enjoyed our location, service and amenity.

I do hope we will see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the Easter break. W had a 1yr old with us so were looking for a child friendly hotel. Our room was a standard king room, which had a small bathroom and a kitchentte. The room was also small compared to Hyatt where we have stayed before although prices are comparable. As such we found it expensive. However the hotel is fairly new and the rooms still look new and are nice and clean. The windows were facing the street but the room was quiet. Kitchenette had all the basics and was very handy with a baby. Bathroom had nice toiletries and seperate cubicles for shower and toilet with the basin outside. Small issue, while the cubicles had doors, the basin area does not have a door and so was a bit annoying keeping our baby out of that area. Service is very friendly and quick, I would say the hotels staff are a huge plus to the establishment. Very nice staff. We walked to the gym which was small and basic. The lobby has a nice waiting area, 3 computer terminals with free Internet and fresh mint water to drink. Also the cafe/restaurant was on this level but we didn't use it. Didn't focus too much on location has we were visiting relatives but I'm told Kingston is a nice area. Secured parking is an additional $10. Overall decent hotel with good staff though a little expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bhakti_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 60 in Canberra
1,617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 60 in Canberra
2,667 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 60 in Canberra
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 60 in Canberra
785 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#13 of 60 in Canberra
1,152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 60 in Canberra
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $145 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing