We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is now my Canberra Hotel!”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed one night in a two bedroom apartment which is actually two interconnecting rooms. Room 1 had a decent galley style kitchen, good sized bathroom, living/lounge area and separate bedroom with two single beds. The room was stylish, clean and comfortable.very liveable.
Room 2 had a smaller kitchen although not lacking in any way, good sized bathroom and a King Bed.
Together they made the perfect little two bedroom apartment. We also hired a port a cot, and this was in the room when we arrived with it's own towel (many hotels often forget to provide this) and extra soaps.
I didn't deal personally with reception but believe they were very helpful. Onsite parking is free and secure.
Close to Manuka and Kingston we had many choices for Dinner and Breakfast. Although there is an onsite restaurant that can provide this we decided to explore the area.
Late checkout was a great inclusion that allowed a relaxed morning and breakfast experience.
I find myself returning to Canberra more often and this will be my hotel of choice in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlancBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 1,913 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Amazing. The last hotel for me to stay in over the past few weeks in Canberra and the wait was worth it.

Matthew on reception was polite, efficient and so helpful. He explained simply how the FREE wifi (my new war cry with hotels with stupid preauthorisation a now in second place). To be clear, free for the first 100MB each 24 hours measured from midday. More than enough to check Facebook, emails and write reviews on TripAdvisor!!

The room is spacious (understatement!!), a coffee machine in the room with coffee pods rather than pathetic instant coffee.

Not sure if this a hotel or a serviced apartment because of the size of the room and the facilities. Who cares. At this point in time this is THE place to have family and friends stay when they are in Canberra.......am so looking forward to see how they are going this time next year.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very nice, clean & friendly staff hotel. Seemed like no one had stayed in my room before me. This is a suite type hotel with many immenities that are very helpful for the business traveler with long stays. Microwave, fridge, stovetop among others. had a restaurant on site but very expensive. I used the restaurant across the street & a couple blocks away was a small retail center with many different ethnic restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embassyworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at East Hotel for one night. Chose it on strength of reviews here and not disappointed. An incredibly comfortable hotel, lovely foyer with nice quirky touches - jaffas! Magazine and book borrowing and comfy lounges. Really made to feel like you were welcome to hang around.
Room was great. Beautiful and stylish furniture, Danish feel, and a generous size room. Kitchenette was nicely done and great that could make yourself a proper coffee. I didn't hear another soul the entire time we were in our room, an unusual thing in a modern hotel.
Staff could not have been more helpful (reception desk plus restaurant)
Car park underneath was cheap ($10 overnight) - a fact I hadn't spotted one the website.
The in house restaurant offers 'provisions' for your room, which is a very thoughtful touch. The breakfast is not extensive but for $15 was cheap. Endless proper coffee, fresh fruit, pastries and muesli were enough to make us happy. Reception staff were happy to point us in the direction of alternative cafes, so lots of easy options.
Location was perfect, everything we wanted to do was walkable.
Only sorry we didn't take the retro bicycles for a spin!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This place was just great. The location was perfect. One night we walked to Manuka for dinner and the second night we walked to Kingston. As we were two couples travelling we had a one bedroom suite joining a second ordinary room. For additional privacy it would have been good if the suite bedroom wall was not see through.
The iced water, apples and bicycles were a great touch that we enjoyed.
We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the East Hotel on a recent visit to Canberra. It is modern, fresh and verging on luxurious. When you approach the reception, you immediately notice the bikes which are available for guest use. Then there are the flavoured, iced waters, fresh fruit, and those with a sweet tooth, the sweets, available in the lobby.
The room (Luxe Studio) was everything we expected and more. Modern, fresh and spacious. The Kitchenette is well set up and the tea and coffee, quality. The bathroom is amazing, all that is needed is candles and a nice glass of bubbles.....
Although we found the bed to be quite hard and uncomfortable, and were not sad to see the end of it. When I mentioned this on departure, one of the beautiful ladies on reception, said that they would note this for future visits, and while I was checking out, she updated our records, so that next time we visit, they will have the bed set up to our specifications, now that's what I call customer service and care.
We also took the opportunity to dine at the Hotel's restaurant "Ox", service was excellent, can highly recommend the Steak Tartar. For something a little more casual there is a pub just across the road from the entrance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've been to Canberra a few times now and always find it hard to choose a hotel that isn't in some part of town that feels like a deserted wasteland... Ok, maybe that's a bit dramatic but there is certainly a danger in Canberra of being in a part of town that is busy during the week and dead on the weekend.

This is NOT the case around the East Hotel as it is surrounded by interesting places for coffee or dinner and a short walk to many of the touristy things that so many will be going to Canberra for. An easy walk to Parliament and to the National Gallery (which was the purpose of our visit).

The hotel itself feels wonderfully new, with lovely staff and a great fit-out across the hotel. Our room was a larger apartment as I was sharing with my mother...

The apartment gave us a well sized living area to lounge around in, and the balcony was also a nice touch. If you're staying for a longer period you'll no doubt appreciate the kitchen area that is fully stocked and functional.

Good bathroom that is well designed and thankfully not one of the awful new designs that are disastrous when sharing...

I never like to eat in hotels, however OX Eatery is certainly worth a look if you can get a table and it is one of Canberra's hottest eating places at the moment. We had dinner there and the food, wine and service were all great.

Now for the things that could have been done a little better... The room was not configured for twin share when we arrived so had to call for this which is a minor inconvenience but still a reasonable expectation. The worst part was that there was one bath towel when we arrived... No hand towel, no bath mat etc etc. We had to call for towels to be delivered and even then we only received one bath towel. Thankfully the next day the correct amount of towels were provided - as expected given this is really one of the most basic things to get right in a hotel.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to any friends visiting Canberra.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globalcoffeeaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,507 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 59 in Canberra
2,595 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 59 in Canberra
758 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 59 in Canberra
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $141 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing