We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for work and play”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good for work and play”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thoroughly recommend this hotel, and agree with all the positive comments other reviewers have made: spacious suite with mid-century modern decor, well equipped in every way, totally comfortable. Excellent location, can walk to restaurants and excellent shopping in Manuka and Kingston, and other good restaurants are a short drive away in Barton and Griffith. Major sites nearby. Whole tone of the hotel was welcoming, co-operative and relaxed - but completely efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms straight above the outdoor bar could be noisy at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balisand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    406
    71
    9
    2
See reviews for
487
609
66
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Such a great hotel, I stayed overnight with some family members in a 2 bedroom apartment. The size of the rooms were fantastic and the contemporary decor was great! Great location, friendly staff, and clean rooms. I would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLAjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Location is excellent - we walked to Parliament & museums. This new and very contemporary hotel is located near a good selection of cafes, bistros & restaurants as well as having independent OX restaurant & bar on premises. A lobby deli had many breakfast options. Our suite had a very comfortable king bed in a separate bedroom (with pillow choices), the sitting room also included a small well equipped kitchen and laundry machines - very appreciated. We could happily stay for longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Patricia S,

It's always great to hear when our guests pack the comfy walking shoes and have the time to explore the beauty and sites of our area!

Let us know when you're headed back from the other side of the Pacific - we would love to have you with us again!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A modern hotel , good location with well appointed spacious rooms.
My only negative comment would be that the pillow slips are too small for the pillows which makes the pillows too firm and lumpy for my taste. I did request softer pillows the second night but there didn't seem much difference.
I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello petalee,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and great comment on the pillow slips - thank you for mentioning. We have new pillow slips on the way which will allow our pillows to fully "express" themselves.

With 560 pillow slips on the beds at any given time, we've specially ordered our pillow slips as we want them to be just right!

Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sans Souci, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from the East hotel in Canberra. We had a Toullouse -Lautrec package.
Exceded our expectations.
We have stayed in many hotels overseas and Australia, this is the first time I have felt like leaving a review.
We had a beautiful one bedroom self contained apartment, could have stayed much longer. The staff were very friendly and helpful without gushiness. Location was great.
Will return next time in Canberra.

Room Tip: We had a one bed on the east/north corner, this was large and sunny with huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUDY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Judy H,

Wow! What an honour!

Sounds like we've set the bar for your next visit. We look forward to showing a level of consistency in the level of service and product.

Will we see you back for the National Gallery's next exhibition "Turner from the Tate"? 1 June - 8 September - book now if it's anything like the popularity of Toulouse-Lautrec!

Until next time . . .

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Heading to the NGA in Canberra for the Toulouse-Lautrec exhibition, we looked at booking into the Hyatt, our usual accommodation space. Sure, it's historic and our preferred suite in the old courtyard area has benefited from luxe renovations which we have always enjoyed at the premium price demanded. However, this time the asking price - more than $800 for two nights - was just ridiculous.

Relying on good old Trip Advisor, we reviewed its travellers' recommendations and selected the East Hotel as an appealing alternative. What a great choice!

The Luxe Suite we booked online far exceeded our hopes. With generous space and comfortable furniture to spare, we were delighted with the appointments. The king size bed gives great sleep. My request for a flatter pillow was promptly answered. The complimentary bathroom toiletries were appealing and proved satisfying. In the kitchen, the offerings were amazingly plentiful and generous. We could have stayed a week and still felt pampered.

The newsy broadsheet written by the owner, Dan, gives some flavour of the management's commitment to running a great establishment and we found ample evidence of this during our stay. Reception staff were welcoming and no-fuss, their offer of assistance if required a happy alternative to the feeding frenzy of service providers at the Hyatt. Technicians checking the air conditioning and security systems respectfully requested access and were considerate to our activities and requirements during the brief period of their intrusion. Housekeeping staff were polite and responsive to our needs.

I just love that the level of service provided is deliberately aligned to the expressed needs of guests. If you want the full-on exhaustive make-over, it is on offer. But if you like to be left alone, there is a simple presentation offering attention to any or all of the things that might need attention.

And more, I loved the affordability of the kitchen and fridge options. An in-house, ready chilled bottle of white wine for $30 is a generous concession to the desired comfort of one's guests, in my book. And a modestly priced bottle of sparkling mineral water is unheard of, in my earlier experience. We did not explore the in-house eating options. Indeed, I want to return just to do so. Certainly, it is an attractive notion to visit the deli and purchase items on whim for consumption in one's own room.

The East Hotel implicitly - and explicitly - invites its guests to relax and luxuriate in the comfort of its attentiveness and we found we could trust them to deliver fully on that promise.

Room Tip: We slept with the balcony door open and our room at the rear of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
The lure of our TripAdvisor rating proved too much for you to resist, Happy Itinerant?

Well I can't thank you enough for continuing to sing about your EAST experience!

You have elaborately described what our team has been chosen for with their wonderful, individual personalities and their ability to carry out the EAST culture.

Reading your review has been a huge pat on the back for everyone here at East Hotel - we strive to deliver on exactly what you have taken your valuable time to write about.

Thank you again, HappyItinerant. I do truly look forward to meeting you one day very soon back here at East Hotel.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossie
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I absolutely loved the look of the hotel from the outside and the reception area and staff were obliging on arrival. We had an apartment for the weekend and exhibition tickets for Toulouse Lautrec, and loved that also. The furnishings were great, nice bathroom and the apartment was very roomy. Location can't be beaten and you can walk everywhere with cafes, the Kingston Hotel across the road and restaurants everywhere within a 1 kilometre radius.
However, (and I notice somebody else must have had our room as they have the same remarks) our bed was soooo hard. I'm not a fussy sleeper and can't EVER remember not being able to sleep EVER for the hardness of the bed but I am truly having problems even sitting today for the hardness of the mattress we were sleeping on for the last two nights. AND we found a babies nappy in the apartment on arrival which we left out for housekeeping with a note and was still there this morning when we departed!!!!!We also had to ask for another gown which was off putting and the two glorious water containers in the foyer with mint and lemon would have been great for a refresher on arrival but they had no glasses left they informed me....had run out.
They are trying hard, but have a bit of a way to go with this hotel. We go to Canberra often and would probably give them a miss next visit. A lot is so good about this place but housekeeping needs a shake up and God they need new mattresses urgently.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Kerrien,

Thank you for your valuable feedback!

I can assure you your comments have been shared with the team as this is how we grow stronger.

It seems like your comments are all relatively minor issues that add up to an experience leaving you without our tasty water to wash the bad taste out of your mouth.

To briefly address your issues:
* The leftover item from the previous guest should not have been missed. And while I'm not sure where a note was left for our housekeepers (as they generally leave alone what looks like personal items and stationary-in-use), this should have been picked up - if even when delivering your extra robe.
* Based on when your comment was posted I believe you stayed on the weekend we were completing the installation of our custom-made mattress toppers - which are now on all beds. We've changed our service and now *remove* them on request. The mattresses must have been the most controversial item in the hotel - guests loved or hated them. Now, with mattress protectors, the feedback has been incredibly positive.
* The water - our lovely water! Only just implemented days before your arrival, this proved such a hit on a very busy weekend with beautiful weather that we indeed ran out of cups before the team had the opportunity to remove the water station and before more cups were delivered on Sunday.

On your next trip to Canberra, it would be a pity if you missed out on our now super comfy mattresses, tasty flavoured water and housekeeping service with attention to detail.

Please do give me a call should you choose to visit again. I would love to welcome you back.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,332 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,055 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing