We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accommodation in Manuka area”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
572 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Quality accommodation in Manuka area”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Have just re-visited this hotel after several months. At our first visit it was very new and suffering from a few of the usual teething issues. This time round we stayed in an East Apartment and we were impressed again at the spaciousness of the rooms, how quiet it was and the level of equipment in the room - small, but well equipped kitchen, small laundry, coffee machine etc. This is perhaps why it is so expensive! Parking at $10 was well worth it, but again the breakfast is a joke even at a reduced cost of $15. When you're located in this area you need to offer more and it lets the hotel down.

Room Tip: Noise is not really an issue so placement of the room doesn't matter. The apartments are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    406
    71
    9
    2
See reviews for
487
609
66
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

East is a breath of fresh air for Canberra, it oozes class, the service is amazing, the staff are casual and relaxed, the rooms are big, comfortable and beautifully designed - it is a credit to the owners. My only complaint is that there is not an East like this in other capital cities, Australia needs more of this type of hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a great place to stay the rooms are modern and the restaurant and bar
Are perfect for our corporate
This hotel had good service good food.
We would stay there again one of the better places to stay in Canberra

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crop1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I visit Canberra regularly and have tried most hotels as well as a few B&B's, without much success. Great to finally find a good, comfortable modern hotel in a convenient location. The room was large and quiet despite looking over busy Giles Street. Lots of parking at $10 per day, a pleasant change from some of the hotel parking cost rip-offs. Free WiFi up to a limit also welcome. Staff were helpful and friendly. Well equipped gym and near Telopea park for a quick early morning walk. If you want to try breakfast outside, I recommend Silo in the Kingston shops, which never disappoints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good hotel in the Manuka Kingston area of Canberra. Canberra needed some more decent hotels, with the Hyatt previously the only 5 star in town. The East opened only around August 2012, so the hotel was very new at the time of our visit. Nicely appointed rooms, quite spacious. We did not eat in the hotel, but the restaurant was busy which is usually a good sign. The hotel is just a few hundred metres from dozens of eating places in Manuka. If room pricing was equal to the Hyatt, I would prefer the Hyatt, but it is good to see a very good alternative now available in Canberra.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petereturra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I absolutely loved staying here. I stayed for 3 nights, on a 3 for the price of 2 deal. Everything is shiny and new, the apartment was just beautiful. A fully equipped kitchen including a Nespresso machine, milk, juices, water and chocolate in the fridge, a very handy mini bar with a variety of snacks and wine. A TV in the lounge room as well as the bedroom. The king sized bed was like sleeping on clouds, it was all very luxurious. The furniture was clean and comfortable, and the bathroom and shower were huge and stocked with lovely Sprout toiletries. You don't even have to bring your toothbrush or shaver, or body lotion, it's all there! Even the hairdryer was good. While i didn't need the washing machine/dryer it was great that they're there too. More bonuses include the sumptious robe and slippers, as well as the option of selecting a whole variety of new release movies (which you need to pay for, but who cares!), and also a lovely balcony with an outdoor setting. Staff are very obliging and go the extra mile. There are bikes you can hire for free to cycle around the area. The restaurant on the ground floor is great, and the foyer also stocks a lemon water, or lime and mint water for thirsty guests! The times i had to wait for a cab, i could just hang out in the lobby downstairs which is full of cosy armchairs and stocked with magazines and newspapers. It's also a short walk to cafes and restaurants. I would love to stay here again, and recommend this place as luxurious and affordable. Definitely my favourite accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribbeanspunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at The East, Canberra over the weekend for a friends 40th birthday. We originally booked a 2 bedroom apartment with two king beds as there were two couples. We had a phone call from the hotel Saturday to ask if we would be happy to upgrade to two one bedroom suites instead of a two bedroom apartment (as there was a family with kids in desperate need of an apartment)... sure no problem! Upon entering the hotel, it is not like your usual property... it is fresh, modern and alittle bit fun. Check in was a breeze, rooms were huge, living/dining area, equiped kitchen (Nespresso machine and all).... nice modern bathroom... we couldn't have asked for more, room also quiet, no noise at all. Parking inside of the building for a small fee of $10.00 per night. Easy check out... polite staff made this an enjoyable stay. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but it looked great. Property is central to everything you need. We will be back and will be telling all of our friends about The East Canberra! Thank you!

Room Tip: The Luxe Studios are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrislovesSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,332 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing