We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest hotel in Canberra”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Coolest hotel in Canberra”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Cool in Canberra doesnt really relate to hotels, or much in Canberra, Thats why EAST is such a surprise! It’s tempting to slink ourselves into a Clockwork Orange chairs, take a handful of complimentary candies from the three Alessi jars and settle in for the evening watching a live wall of video art from Machu Picchu images to Poppies.But that's just the reception. Our luxury apartment has all the mod cons you would expect. If you have families you can get a few apartments as they can be opened up into one. For us the highlight was OX eatery. Normally you avoid hotel restaurants, but EAST is one of the reasons to stay, so make sure you book a table, its packed every night with good reason. See more at Lawsonsview....Great design, great concept, service and originality.

Room Tip: get the corner suites for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawsonsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    402
    71
    9
    2
See reviews for
482
601
64
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for only one night at this hotel, but could have happily stayed for a month! Our one bedroom room had everything you needed, a fully equipped kitchenette, that didn't impose on the living space, a great bathroom, a balcony and great furnishings oh, and as we were leaving I opened one more cupboard and discovered a washing machine and dryer. We didn't eat in the hotel as we walked over to Manuka for breakfast which was really easy to do. Lots of great places on your doorstep. There are also clever technical features which I noted, but didn't get time to really check out. A really great find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxevalueseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband & I were invited to stay here as part of a Canberra Tourism campaign last year and I was blown away by how modern, comfortable and luxurious the rooms were - nearly everyone who stayed here with us was heard to declare "my room is nicer than my own house" - it sure is nicer than my house. The furniture in the room is the designer stuff but oh so comfortable. The buffet breakfast was also lovely - different.

http://www.theadventuresofmisspiggy.com/2012/11/humanbrochure-canberra.html

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at the back of the hotel, that does not overlook the pub across the road. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPiggyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watsons Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The East is a welcome new entrant to the otherwise drab, tired and over-priced Canberra accommodation scene. Location is great - right between Canberra's two best retail areas, Manuka and Kingston. The newly upgraded Manuka Oval is a short walk away.

A lot of thoughtful design effort has gone into the hotel. Reception is fresh and welcoming and front desk service was first class. Our suite was perfect for either business or pleasure. A separate sleeping area with own TV is adjacent to a large, well-equipped bathroom with large shower and separate toilet. Cupboard space is plentiful too, with a good safe provided.
The bathroom area features plenty of room, good amenities and top class installation of stone and tiling. Hot water was plentiful.

Bedding was high quality, maybe a little firm for some but perfect for us. The spacious living area has a comfortable lounge and work area, with separate TV. For business, power points are plentiful and well located at a sensible height - not on the skirting board. A neat kitchenette is equipped with quality appliances including medium sized fridge, hot plate, real oven as well as a microwave. Again, fittings and appliances are classy, including drip coffee maker, ice bucket and toaster. A deLonghi Nespresso machine is a great inclusion. A cupboard opens up to reveal a compact laundry tub, washer and dryer.

Overall, it was a highly functional room of generous dimensions, comfortable and contemporary. And the best thing - everything is new. The gym is first-class and offers top of the range equipment in a spacious environment.

East fits well in both quality of offering and price point. Business facilities include airy conference and meeting areas of various dimensions. Maybe a little 'glassy' for some but presumably there are blinds.

We did not use the restaurant so have nothing to add about the food, other than the restaurant looked pretty good.

WiFi signal. In the room was excellent, with charges on a volume basis, starting at $10 for 100mB download. Adequate for an evening to catch up with standard email traffic and some browsing.
Parking facilities are excellent and the $10 per night rate is reasonable.

After numerous disappointments in Canberra we are delighted to see the East on the scene. After only six months, East is rating #1 of 52 Canberra hotels on TripAdvisor, a sound achievement.

Management responses to TA comments are also timely and appropriate. There is no doubt these guys are really trying hard. Combine that with a well-designed contemporary property where everything is new and the outcome truly matches current market needs.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards Manuka Oval may be subject to distractions from the newly installed floodlight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Would definitely recommend this hotel. The staff, the rooms all fantastic. Great value for money. The only thing I wish it had was a pool. And if I had to pick on anything it would be pillows. Way too high and too hard and the menu that is in the room needed to be updated the prices were different from what the prices are in the restaurant. But would also recommend the restaurant. Which was great for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Location is good for sport and entertainment - Manuka Oval next door, Kingston and Manuka both easy stroll for plentiful restaurants and bars. Not so good for city - its a 10 or 15 min drive into Civic. The parking under the hotel is good and was supposed to cost $10 per night, but on check-out we were unexpectedly given a free pass to exit, so that was nice.

The hotel was only opened in August 2012, so everything is new and works well. Our studio apartment was large and well-appointed. Expresso machine was a highlight. The little kitchen was very functional (and there is a late-trading supermarket across the road in Manuka to get supplies). The bed was hard but Ok. TV was easy to operate and the ipod dock/radio was a good touch (but couldn't receive radio stations for some reason). Nice view regional from the little balcony. At $240 for a Saturday night, we thought it was excellent value. No breakfast included - and they only offer continental - but there are numerous excellent cafes in Manuka, or its easy to cook in the room.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. If anything, they were slightly over the top, trying a bit too hard to please. If that's a rather churlish criticism, it applies also to the apparent ethos of the hotel generally. The foyer is nice, with books and magazines, but they trumpet this as being something new and exciting. They also make a big deal of there being free bikes available (again, not revolutionary) and the fact that the restaurant (which is in the hotel but somehow not part of it) can send meals up to the room (this, according to the in-room blurb is not "room service" but something newer and funkier.) Really?!

There are signs everywhere written in very "hip" language which just re-state tired old hotel messages in an apparently exciting new way (bathroom: "You know the drill! We love the drill! Leave your towels in the bath if you want them replaced" etc, etc.) The attempts to be new and exciting were everywhere and we found it quite annoying. Its as if they are trying really hard to reinvent the whole city-fringe hotel experience, but actually (a) it doesn't need reinventing and (b) they haven't, its just a fairly ordinary, decent hotel.

Having said that, the room was good and well-priced and the location excellent for what we were doing. We would probably stay there again but would also hope they chill out a bit once the novelty wears off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanmerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Paid $300 night for Toulouse Lautrec package which included entry tickets, parking, champagne and breakfast. The exhibition at the National Gallery was fantastic after the usual struggle to find parking. The hotel appearance was nice, reception staff a bit young and parking good. That is about where it stops. Room not cleaned as found old vegetables in drawers, empty juice container in cupboard and the rock hard bed was from a cement factory. When we asked if the room cleaning could be finished no real response as a few of the vegetables disappeared but the trusty discarded juice container shared our company for the duration of our stay. Probably still there. The breakfast was beyond poor. Described as continental a much description would be college food. Embarrassing. Advised the reception on departure of our problems and the only response we received was that they knew the breakfast was a shocker and they were working with the contractor. Not good to throw in breakfast they know is poor. Our other concerns didn't seem a big deal so I guess they are usual. Avoid.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ammolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing