We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Below average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Paid $300 night for Toulouse Lautrec package which included entry tickets, parking, champagne and breakfast. The exhibition at the National Gallery was fantastic after the usual struggle to find parking. The hotel appearance was nice, reception staff a bit young and parking good. That is about where it stops. Room not cleaned as found old vegetables in drawers, empty juice container in cupboard and the rock hard bed was from a cement factory. When we asked if the room cleaning could be finished no real response as a few of the vegetables disappeared but the trusty discarded juice container shared our company for the duration of our stay. Probably still there. The breakfast was beyond poor. Described as continental a much description would be college food. Embarrassing. Advised the reception on departure of our problems and the only response we received was that they knew the breakfast was a shocker and they were working with the contractor. Not good to throw in breakfast they know is poor. Our other concerns didn't seem a big deal so I guess they are usual. Avoid.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ammolite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    385
    68
    9
    2
See reviews for
462
579
63
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
port macquarie
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Careful design, most things work so there are lots of little touches that work. Free hire bikes to ride around the foreshore get you to the art gallery a lot faster than the taxi option. Rooms are first class appointment linen, technology snak facilities. Breakfast was overwhelmed on the day our conference group was there where they really didn't have enough chairs to deal with the rush was the only issue and this smoothed down quickly. The art touches, news agency in foyer, computer access books in rooms and library and fruit were all nice touches. The staff were too pleasant if that possible sometimes to the point of engaging counter enquiries to the delay of others waiting but the thoroughness never left anyone wanting. They did have an express check out option for someone in a hurry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moriac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Nice, clean, modern hotel, pleasant staff, rooms nicely fitted out, etc etc. BUT don't have breakfast there!! The Cafeteria is obvisously outsourced and run by a some totally incompetent people: tables are not cleaned up for next guests, no coffee spoons, no water in the Espresso machine, no napkins, had to ask for more plates, no sugar for coffee etc. This is an example how outsourcing can lower one's standard.

Room Tip: Unless the hotel changes the arrangement with those responsible for breakfasts, one better walks acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyPierrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

East Hotel is new so all the amenities and furnishings are in very good condition. Nice to see a cooktop (induction) and ironing board in a hotel room so good for travellers who are staying for longer than a couple of days. Nespresso machine and docking station are nice little extras.

Only disappointments were the wifi (couldn't login and reception couldn't fix) and no extractor fan in bathroom so mirror fogged up.

Very good location - close to Manuka Oval and Kingston shops.

Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. We have stayed here a few times and have not been disappointed. Fresh, modern chic, nespresso, close to great restaurants and manuka oval and a complimentary lolly jar. Very impressed

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherrycharade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice hotel. New and in a great location - just across the road from Manuka shops, cafes, restaurants. Very well appointed, and the first hotel I've come across with kitchenette that has a supply of 'stores' in the cafe/lobby. The bed was excellent, and I can't say enough about a hotel that has fresh milk in the fridge; so rare and so welcome. On the down side - and it's minor, but something hotel management should keep an eye on - attention to detail is EVERYTHING. Half used bottles of bathroom products is not so great. Also, the rooms facing Canberra Avenue can be very noisy in the morning with weekday traffic (starts about 7.00).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoJo_Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The whole experience at the East Hotel in Canberra from check-in to check-out was fantastic. At the time of our stay, the East Hotel was one of the newest Hotels in Canberra and that showed. Everything was still very new and shiny.

The Hotel is a 5 minute walk from both Manuka and Kingston where there are plenty of dining options. It is also across the road from the Kingston Hotel and bottle shop.

The Luxe Studio we stayed in was well appointed with a Nespresso coffee machine, small kitchen and a big bathroom. The bathroom was clean with all the usual toiletries that were replenished each day. The inclusion of a proper full size hair dryer was a nice touch. Extra Nespresso pods are available for sale from the deli downstairs or you can bring your own…

The king size bed was very comfortably - soft but firm and the room on the 5th floor was very quiet. The windows were all double glazed and despite being above the bar, there was no noise once the door was closed. The air conditioning was very efficient, and to provide some environment benefits it will not work when there is no one in the room nor when the balcony door is open.

The clock radio is an iPod docking station and there were plenty of power points around the room to charge all your modern accessories. There is free WiFi but it is limited to 100 megabytes per 24 hours and you can purchase additional data should you require it. There are plenty of movies on the TV as well.

The Car Parking is an extra $10 per night, but it is underground secure parking. There is street parking surrounding the hotel, but it's a busy area so you may not always find it there. The OX café/restaurant has a nice menu, but we didn’t dine there. It does appear to be a popular spot so you may need to book. Just double check the opening times of the restaurant.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel does stock a small deli for food and extra toiletries that you may have forgotten.

A very enjoyable place to stay and somewhere I will stay again when I am next in Canberra.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing