We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a great location”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a great location”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment on the 5th floor facing towards Parliment House. Being brand new, everything was clean and fresh. Very roomy apartment and the 2 TV's (1 in bedroom and 1 in lounge) were great. The double glazing on all the windows made for a very quiet night-in fact I would say best hotel I have stayed in re noise (or lack thereof). The bathroom was a real winner for me, really spacious and all the glass gives it a real "fresh" feel, and the access from both the entry and the bedroom made the whole place feel bigger again. The kitchen and laundry facilities are excellent and well placed. Our king bed was made up of 2 king singles, but was so comfortable (although I suspect some people might think they are a bit hard). Loved the sliding pannel door that separated the bedroom from the living area - a real contemporary touch. We had no issues at all and just generally loved the place and would definately stay again. Although you are not in the city centre, honestly, it is a 5 minute drive and the bus stop is right outside the door! All the major sights/attractions are either within walking distance (3 or 4km) or a very short drive - Canberra is quite compact. We ate in both Kingston and Manuka (both a very short walk) and the only disappointment was that we ran out of time and couldn't try more places. If you prefer to self cater, there is a coles supermarket in Kingston and an IGA in Manuka, as well as hot bread shops and such. All the hotel staff we had any dealings with were friendly, courteous and just super nice and super helpful. Big THANK YOU to the gorgeous young lady who check us in and out - she was superb.
Just note, though, that the entrance is actually on Giles Street.

Room Tip: Definately try and get a room as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Travellingbugg,

Wow! The whole team is buzzing with your comments!!!

The only piece of advice I have to offer on your one disappointment of your visit (of running out of time), is to stay longer! We are happy to be your home in Canberra!

Good point about our entrance being on Giles Street (for pedestrians) and our underground carpark entrance is on Oxley Street. Feel free to park downstairs and come up the lifts to check in.

Thank you again!

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,282
    406
    71
    9
    2
See reviews for
487
609
66
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The East hotel is still new enough to have new mattress and new carpet smells in the rooms!
Beds are enormous and the room space generous. Having a little kitchen space (microwave, cook top) can make a difference to how much you spend on food. (Whilst we ate out, we used the microwave to warm up wheat packs after hiking round the city!)
Staff gave the best service I have had in a hotel for a long time, possibly ever. Seriously. Attentive and friendly.
Bar was great for dessert and drinks and the restaurant (The Ox) was packed every night (and we were there mid week) and looked scrumptious.
I would not stay anywhere else in Canberra from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eryca-on-hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Eryca-on-hols,

SO glad you had such an excellent experience with us! The entire team loves knowing they've made the desired impression!

However, I need you to do me a favour please: for a quality, intentionally designed 4.5 star hotel, I would like to know how we can earn your rating of 5 out of 5 please!

Please contact me directly - we can chat!

Cheers,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The newly opened East Hotel is close to the good restaurants in the Manuka/Kingston area of Canberra. On a major road, Canberra Ave, but stayed on the other side of the hotel which was quiet. A ways from Canberra CBD, but close to Parliament, National Gallery etc. Spacious rooms that are well furnished, but some of the furnishings may not be too robust. Separate shower and toilet areas in the bathroom and very nice amenities. A small kitchen with microwave and hot plates and small fridge with a Nespresso coffee machine being a nice touch. Strange to see no dishwasher though. The bed was extremely comfortable and firm in nature. Underground parking is $10/night which is a little unusual for Canberra and the 2 lower levels are dedicated to hotel guests. The 2 above are a public carpark. The staff on the front desk were very helpful. Lots of in room lighting and the air conditioning worked as it should. A large desk to work at and a good quality LG flat screen TV on the wall. The corridors though were quite dark.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms numbered 04-11 as they face the next door apartment building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syd675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Syd675,

Thank you for the positive review!

We do have extensive parking on 4 levels underground. We have to allocate a certain number to "public" spaces as per ACT planning and development regulations. The guest park on levels 3 and 4 for greater security. While it may seem like a bit of a drive down, it's a short elevator ride up to the comfort of your room.

And I probably shouldn't let out the secret but some of the room numbers you suggest avoiding catch glimpses of Manuka Oval . . . shhh!

We look forward to seeing you into the future.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at East 4 times now over the last couple of months for business, and I have been really impressed by the location, staff, rooms and the restaraunt. I've stayed in 3 different types of rooms and all have exceeded expectations. Nespresso machines in each room is a nice touch. The bathroom and particularly the showers are awesome. The hotel staff go out of their way to assist, and seem genuinely interested in your feedback. OX the restaraunt attached is a dream come true for a bloke like me...5 level spit roast, slowly bbq'ing a variety of lamb, pork, beef, poultry etc, right in the middle of the bar, on display to drive you insane, and wet your appetite. The bar has the largest gin and single malt selection I have ever come across in Australia. All in all, a great place to stay for business or pleasure, and really well priced to boot.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Matt F,

We've noticed you do!

If there is every anything we can do to personalize your stay or make it seem more like home, please let me know.

I'd like to ensure you "keep coming back" . . . And bring your friends too! Let's talk negotiated year-round rates!!!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
572 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a pleasant change this hotel is from the usual in Canberra. We stayed just the one night (a Sunday) and were really impressed with the snappy decor, the spacious and well laid out rooms (we stayed in a Luxe Studio) and the use of photos on the wall in the central core of the building. Whoever designed this hotel deserves a medal for design! From what I gather all rooms have a kitchen and the Nespresso machine was a lovely touch. On the downside, the service left a little to be desired (although it is only new so perhaps they were working things out) but the breakfast was a big disappointment. At $23 a head we expect more than a very basic meal (nothing cooked is available and the rest is limited) particularly when the hotel is surrounded by excellent cafes in both Manuka and Kingston. Next time, we'll stay here again as it's a great hotel, but we'll eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: The Luxe Studio was excellent for a couple and much larger than usual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello jrandsk,

We are happy to hear you appreciate the detail of the hotel - an advantage of heavy involvement by the local owners who have been designing, building and running hotels and serviced apartments for the last few decades!

Ox Eatery has taken feedback on board and have changed (and will always tweak) the breakfast format. While it will remain continental breakfast, the price has changed to $15 and the team at Ox is always open to feedback - as are we, so thank you for your post and constructive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for one night in a one-bedroom luxe apartment. We paid an opening special rate and parking in the underground carpark was free. The decor in the room was lovely, with beautiful warm colours used, although the chairs weren't all that comfy to sit on. The bathroom was nice, although the spa bath was quite small, not big enough to fit two people comfortably. The living area was a bit cramped, we could hardly get in the door with our suitcases as the dining table was right inside the door. The service was friendly, professional and helpful. The staff quickly fixed a few things for us, such as off milk in the fridge, and banging from building works in the floor above. The hotel is in a nice area and we found the surroundings to be very quiet. The main downside was that there is no in-room dining. You can get a meal from the restaurant downstairs, but we weren't given any options and we were given steak, chicken and chips. The meal was ok but not worth the cost. It's not a problem if you're happy to dine out, as there are plenty of restaurants in the suburbs nearby, but we were tired from a long day of travelling. The receptionist tried to find some local restaurants that would deliver to the hotel, but there only seemed to be fast food. So overall, a good experience, but I'm not in a rush to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello pmblossom,

Thank you for your honest feedback!

We agree that the spa isn't big enough for two people of almost any size. Where we have the opportunity, we describe it as an executive spa tub - good for someone to relax with a glass of red and a book. Definitely not suitable for a "cuddles and bubbles" weekend! I admire you trying to take advantage of the opportunity!

One challenge with providing fresh milk in the fridges is ensuring it's changed regularly and it sounds like the milk in your fridge slipped through the cracks. I apologise and the team have been notified of this service shortfall.

As for in-room dining, we have been working with our esteemed colleagues at Ox Eatery for a solution. A few factors to consider: our rooms are fitted out with either kitchens or kitchenettes, and Ox Eatery is an external business meaning a few things including restrictive access to hotel room floors. But when you want a meal prepared for you, you want a meal prepared for you and this is understandable!

As a result, they have created a menu which is now placed in all rooms and will change regularly. The concept is for guests to take a short elevator ride to the lobby to pick it up - or have it delivered by the hotel team (with appropriate secure access to guest floors) for a small delivery fee. The process will continue to be tweaked but this now offers dining options from what is currently Canberra's hottest restaurant!

Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked the Manuka Park Apartments (MPP) for 8 nights in early October. Most unhappy with the room and the whole set -up (another story). So we cancelled out of there after 4 days and moved across the road to East Hotel. What a revelation. We took advantage of their opening special and ended up paying about $45 less than MPP for a one bedroom apartment. The East is first class accomodation. Whilst it has only recently opened the staff could not have been more friendly and we had no complaints about the accomodation at all.
Would thoroughly recommend and even if you paid an extra $30 - $50 or more than MPP it is worth every cent

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd H, General Manager at East Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Peter h,

Thank you for the kind comments. We do strive to continue to provide high levels of personalized service to keep you returning!

Cheers,

Todd Handy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,204 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Hyatt Hotel Canberra
#4 of 57 in Canberra
2,332 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,061 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,054 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 57 in Canberra
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: 69 Canberra Avenue, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — East Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the vibrant hubs of Kingston and Manuka, EAST will be the ultimate location for your visit to the Australia's capital. At EAST you will experience all the services you would expect from a premium hotel, whilst feeling completely at home in the well-appointed accommodation. EAST's one and two bedroom apartments and studios provide the utmost in comfort, style and convenience. If you are on the road with your kids, we have thought of you too with our specially designed kids studio complete with bunk beds, bean bags, video games and even a kid-appropriate mini bar!Each room has a gourmet kitchen with cool appliances including Nespresso coffee machines! Comfort and convenience is all good and well but we also have all the technology you need with 42-in LED televisions (the one bedroom apartments also have a 32-in TV in the bedroom!), FOXTEL, in-house movies, wireless broadband and ipod/ipad docking stations. Rooms are also fitted with double glazed windows, a work desk, dining table and chairs, a 2 burner stove top, extensive cooking utensils crockery and cutlery, microwave, oven*, dishwasher*, balconies* and washing machine/dryers*.* some exclusions for studios ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing