We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely accommodation with genuine character (and a great restaurant)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Australian National University

Australian National University
Ranked #34 of 213 things to do in Canberra
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation with genuine character (and a great restaurant)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this location my wife with friends while visiting Canberra. What a lovely facility, full of old school charm and at a superb price. The room was not the polished marble modern type most of us have come to expect, but the difference was a real positive from the clinical, usual, offering. This had 'proper' old style wooded wardrobes, desk and chair, with a similar traditional old style bathroom. Personally I thought it was excellent, especially given the fact Boffins' restaurant was also so good. Ps I visiting a fair few Universities.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Esprit1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    37
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
brisbane australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not really a tourist attraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went along because my dad studied there so it is not really a tourist attraction but it is a nicely laid out university that the government has spent a fortune on so if universities are your thing it is worth a visit as it is supposed to be Australia's #1 university

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cookieabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good facilities for a University, very large & confusing campus though - needs more signage on how to get to each area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank punkrockess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attended a Conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Attended a conference in the Finkel Theater in the John Curtin School of Medical Research. A fantastic building, met a man outside having a cigarette who is doing research into asthma!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EnidfromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Awesome campus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The ANU campus is huge, green and conducive to learning or relaxation. I enjoy studying and living on campus. There are numerous sculptures around the campus and even a gallery (Drill Hall Gallery). It's a great place to jog or have a picnic. You can even enter the library and pick up a book and read (no student ID needed)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Australian National University also viewed

Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory
 

Been to Australian National University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing