We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canberra City YHA
Nearby Hotels
QT Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$123
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Burbury Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/26
Book now, pay at stay
$127
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mercure Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$150
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$118
$98
Novotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/03
Book now, pay at stay
$112
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/02
$126
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$167
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 06/02
$129
$94
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
64
113
46
14
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
113
46
14
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared dormadequate spacegames roomcanberra citycommon roomcommon areaspower pointsbbq areaother guestskey cardgreat central locationfree wifiper nighthostelhammocksnoisetv
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 242 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayid four nights in a 8share dorm during the cold july. Five minute walk from the bus station to the hostel was great and while waking I realised the hostel is situated right in the heart of the shopping area. The room was spacious, clean and warm, good bed altough the pillow was flat as paper! Showers and toilets were in good condition, 3+3 but never had to queue. The kitchen was a bit uninviting during the dinner rush hour due to it's odd shape (the stoves seem a bit too close together, but otherwise served well.

The main attrations are a bit far away as Canberra seems to be a city build for driving people, but that not hostel's fault, their location is great. For a basic hostel I still find it a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccitron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed two nights in a dormitory room to ourselves (parents with 17 & 18 yr olds). The room was clean and comfortable but at night got a little too warm despite the sub-zero temperatures outside. The bathrooms were clean and modern. Staff were very helpful. We travelled by car and the parking across the road in the pay parking was easy and free overnight, only paid from 8.30am in the morning. We were out all day so that wasn't a problem. Good supermarket nearby to purchase breakfast food. Pay for WiFi but didn't use it. The lounge areas upstairs weren't very attractive for sitting around as a family and looked worn-out and grimy with TV blaring. We chose to sit in our room and were knackered anyhow. Good budget accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VikkiByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a general review having stayed here several times over the past 7 or 8 years (mostly for a stopover to the snow or to visit old friends), but until recently it was the only budget option in Canberra and I feel this YHA exploited that. Rooms open onto noisy common areas even in sleeping hours, kitchen was too small and there seemed to be a push from staff to spend money at the cafe instead, big fees for internet and luggage storage so I have had to find alternatives elsewhere in the city (there was a common theme that they're more interested in your money than your patronage), reception who seem disinterested and unwilling to help unless asked. I do apologise if these things have been rectified, but I stayed at Dickson Backpackers recently vowing never to return to the YHA and apart from location it was infinitely the better option, or even AirBNB would be better than this. Such a shame as when the YHA was at O'Connor it was top class, but when it moved to the city it lost charm and integrity. Even the old City Walk Hotel was better than this before it closed down, and that place was known to attract junkies!

Canberra YHA has a great location, it's relatively clean, and showers are hot, and that's the only reason I gave this 2 stars instead of one. I do want this place to improve as guests shouldn't have to leave the CBD for a decent budget stay, but for now I wouldn't recommend anyone stay here unless they had no choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jebskulker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hi Jebskulker
Thanks for your comments on Canberra YHA and we take all reviews of our property very seriously. I would note that your last stay was a year ago, and nothing stands still! Within the confines of the physical shape of the building, YHA is committed to continuous improvement in the facilities. Most recently, this has been the complete overhaul of the hot water system. The manager works always with staff on customer service and the importance of a friendly welcome.
We are sorry that you have not enjoyed your stays and would have welcomed the chance to have discussed the issues you raise with you at that time; but we do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Canberra City YHA is a wonderful center for exploring the city. Close to central shops, restaurants and Civic Center. We occupied a room designed for four which had adequate space for people and baggage. The bed linen was somewhat disappointing as the pillows were practically flat - new pillows are needed. The air-conditioning was noisy at night which kept some of us awake. The notice on the shower room stated that a new water heating system had been installed but was working intermittently - was it ever! - any toilet flush or handbasin usage turned the water cold.
Overall good value for money but be prepared for low pillows and cold showers.

Room Tip: Ask for new pillows!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bookloverMudgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hi BookloverMudgee

Thanks for your review of Canberra YHA. We appreciate all feedback from guests and the manager has noted your comments on new pillows! The hot water system at the hostel was recently replaced. After the main work was done, there were still some final adjustments needed which must have been when you stayed. That is now all done and there is plenty of hot water in all the bathrooms!
We hope to see you again at a YHA soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is clean and modern like most Australian yha hostels I've stayed in. Internet you need to pay for but not crazy prices. I had a room for 4 which was spacious and clean. Bathrooms excellent. Didn't see staff much or use communal areas so can't comment on that. Canberra is such a quiet city that I was surprised that so much noise congregated around the hostel. The bar in the basement was small and looked nice but attracted a lot of noise on the street outside until late (when I sensed the rest of Canberra was asleep by 8...!). The rubbish guys also come by at 4.30am in motorized vehicles to sweep the streets in the city centre so I'd be amazed if you can sleep through that.
So not a bad hostel at all but has the best and worst location-close to access the sights but too central somehow that it attracts a lot of noise at night. I also thought it was a bit steep at $39 (for non members) but couldn't find any better alternatives in Canberra.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneZoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews