We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Canberra City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canberra City YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Clean, plenty of room in dorms and in the kitchen, quiet. A suggestion: power points should be better placed in the room, i.e. one next to each bed, not just 4 (in a 8 bed dorm) next to the window. The staff was very helpful, and there were a lot of activities for the guests, like bbq, movie nights and bike rental. Even if bathrooms were quite small, they weren't crowded or busy and most important they were always very clean. A good place for families too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    104
    45
    14
    4
See reviews for
11
34
105
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This seemed to be the only budget hostel option for my overnight stop in Canberra. I stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm as this was the only option available at the time of booking. I prefer rooms with as few people as possible, but this wasn't bad at all.

The hostel is an easy 5-10min walk from the bus station (I walked it on my own at 11pm and felt very safe), a shorter walk to Target and a local shopping mall and a fairly lengthy walk to anywhere else, including the main tourist sights. Canberra isn't a particularly pedestrian friendly city, so take a map if you wander off or even better try to figure out the local bus system. I didn't do the latter, but my feet wished I would have done by the evening!

The hostel itself was clean and tidy. The room had an attached balcony/terrace, but I didn't see anyone use it apart from drying clothes. Reception advised the nicest bathrooms were on a different floor to mine, can't remember which though! so I used those and were nice. I liked the little communal area with sofas on each floor too, they were good for hanging out if you wanted to get out of your room.

Overall, not the best hostel you will stay in, but adequate for a short stay in the city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Jackie
Thanks for your review of Canberra YHA . Yes, the city can be a little daunting for pedestrians to get around, and to try and work out the public transport system. We do hire bikes though at the hostel (half or full day) and they are a great way to get to all the main city attractions which are within cycling distance. Canberra has lovely bike tracks around the lake which makes this a good alternative to walking.
We hope to see you again at another YHA in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a large but simple double room that did the job. You cannot get ensuites but have to use the shared bathrooms, which were quite new and good enough. The swimming pool in the cellar is a bit of a joke because it is so small that you can't really swim at all. The common kitchen is quite well equipped but there are always puddles on the floor because the water leaks down from the surfaces.
Handy hint: There is a public library with free internet access two streets down from the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hi Donegal
Thanks for your review of Canberra YHA. The manager sees all reviews and will look into that water leakage in the kitchen - thanks.
Just to let you know - the hostel does have a few ensuite rooms, but they are very popular so they book out fast. We also have the non-ensuite double/twins where you stayed as an alternative.
We hope to see you again at another YHA in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I booked a bed in a 8 bed dorm the same day I checked in.
Great place and friendly staff that seems to be backpackers as well.
Room was a bit messy, as there was a few in there that looked like they stayed there for a while.
This is one of the better hostels I’ve been in and I would definitely go there again. If I find a YHA in a another city, I`ll go there. I give 4/5 cause the price was a bit stiff. $35 a night unless you are a YHA member.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpacking_Eskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've never done the hostel thing before, so I was wary to begin with.

The Canberra YHA was clean, convenient and was great for the group I was travelling with. It was more cost efficient to stay in the YHA than in a local hotel, so we braved it for one night.

Bathrooms were adequate, although the hot water had a mind of its own... but then again we shouldn't be having long showers anyway! There were power points in the bathroom so I could use my hair dryer without waking my roomies.

I stayed in a share room of 4 people who I knew, which made the experience nicer. The bed wasn't too bad; you just had to make it yourself.

I'd only recommend this for short stays. I did also notice a few families who were staying there also, along with an older couple - so it appeals to all age groups by the looks of it.

There is a bar downstairs under the YHA, and you could hear the music from above (along with the people talking on the street) but noting a pair of ear plugs couldn't fix.

We had breakfast included the next day. Just cereal, toast and (crap) coffee. But you know what; it was included in the price so I can't complain too much.

Would I stay there again? Only if I was travelling with a large group of people and we wanted to save money. If I went to Canberra with my partner, I'd pay the extra to stay in a hotel. What can I say, I like a little luxury!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the bathrooms were more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in this place when it was being built by the waldof in 2001 - then it was really flash. Now it's dirty dirty dirty - but that's what you get when you have backpackers doing cleaning for their accommodation. But at $40 a night for a dorm bed you'd expect a lot more but this is pretty typical of Australian YHAs - poor standards and high prices. I best to avoid this one

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
HI

Thanks for your review of Canberra City YHA. We take all reviews very seriously and are sorry that you did not have a good stay at the hostel. The Manager has seen your review and it will help us with our continual process of reviewing and improving how the property is managed.
We did just want to clarify though that YHA does not use backpackers to clean our hostels - we either use professional cleaning services or have staff housekeeping on site. YHA prides itself on having the highest quality network of hostels in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

stayed here for the october long weekend. Very close to the casino and all the night clubs which is pricelesss for location. Beds were clean and very comfortable. We were in a 4 share dorm and it was good. there is an awesome bar downstaris...very NYC style,.

Cons: staff serving breakfast - had a long wait after we ordered. No cold water. No ICE around. Hungover and waiting for cold water...drinks machine was out of order. Not really any convenience stores around to buy stuff...5-10 walk to the shopping centre.

They say there is a pool but THERE ISNT. no pool. we dressed in our boardies and got our towels out and we looked like idiots walking around as there was no pool.

other than that, good for a bed to crash on. fOXTEL on tv upstsairs. would stay again. $40 p.p per night.

lastly...CLEAN THE TOILETS PLEASE!! toilet paper, stains etc on bowls....

Room Tip: all rooms are great. No pool as advertised
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanctus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.5 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
1,199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#25 of 57 in Canberra
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
1,632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
1,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#15 of 57 in Canberra
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra City YHA

Property: Canberra City YHA
Address: 7 Akuna St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canberra City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canberra City YHA is right in the heart of the nation's capital, 5 mins from the interstate bus terminal. Hostel facilities include cafe, indoor pool/spa/sauna, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), fully-equipped kitchen, rooftop BBQ area, TV/games area, and underground bar. Hostel hosts weekly activities and BBQs in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Canberra City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra City Yha Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing