We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, Central YHA”
Review of Canberra City YHA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canberra City YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

On the whole the YHA in Canberra was pleasantly surprising. It was totally convenient, and very accessible and for dorm accommodation it was of a good standard. It had good facilities and was well maintained. My only issue is that the carpet smelled funny and the "doona" covers and bathrooms were dirty. There were things from previous guests under the bed and in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own en suite bathrooms. If there are 3 of you sharing you can get one of those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

Nothing wrong with the hostel - it was clean, the staff were friendly, there was a big TV room, and really liked the location. My boyfriend and I were happy with our very comfortable and spacious double room (it came with free tea and coffee making facilities - a nice extra). We arrived in the late morning/early afternoon and were given a half-day discount for our bike hire. Girl working at reception was super helpful with maps and advice. Tried to use the spa in the evening, but it was freezing! A little disappointing, but it wasn't a huge deal.

My main complaint is what little value we got for our money. It was soooo expensive - we paid $100 p/n for our private room and still had to use the shared bathroom (this was the cheapest accommodation we could find in Canberra!). You had to pay extra for internet and there was no free storage! UNBELIEVABLE! My boyfriend and I had big suitcases with us and ended up having to pay about $20 to put them in lockers for the day as our bus to Melbourne didn't leave til 11p.m. Am mystified as to why YHA thinks that something as simple as luggage storage needs to be an expensive luxury. For $100 p/n, I would have expected better.

YHA Canberra is decent, but overpriced! Make sure you're aware of what all the 'extras' cost before booking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sundolphin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This potentially great YHA is ruined by the excessive noise that resounds throught the premises.Despite 24 hour onsite management staff the TV went full volume and unchecked all day and most nights on 2 of our 7 night stay it was 230am and still blarring !.The attached TRANSIT BAR seemed to attract every deadbeat for miles and the thump of the bass music shook my bed and I was on the 3rd floor! When the bar finally did close around midnight the deadbeats hung around outside the YHA rear courtyard,yelling,screaming singing vomiting and urinating this went on until 3am to 5 am making sleep IMPOSSIBLE.When a complaint was made to YHA staff they simply fobbed me off by saying they were not responsible for street noise.Surely a simple phone call to the police would solve this problem.I would never consider staying there ever again ,the staff seemed more interested in hitting on the backpacker babes than attending to the real issues of managing a good hostel.Thumbs down YHA Canberra City you wont see us again.

Room Tip: dont get a room in this YHA if you like a good nights sleep !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, General Manager at Canberra City YHA, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Hi Ray_b
Thank you for your review of Canberra City YHA and we are aware of the issues you have raised as you have written separately to YHA, and have received a long reply from the hostel manager addressing your complaints.
This hostel has a great location in the centre of Canberra, but with a city location more noise from the street level can arise. Unfortunately, YHA cannot be responsible for noise outside the building in public areas; the hostel night staff are instructed to contact the police where necessary and report it, and they have been reminded of the necessity to do this following your letter.
A door has recently been installed on the upstairs TV room to limit noise from that being heard by any of the bedrooms.
As you stayed at the hostel for 7 days we would have been happy to have addressed your concerns if you had asked to see the manager during your stay. It is very important to YHA that guests know they can always bring concerns to the hostel manager directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Though this was the cheapest place we could find for a two night stay in Canberra, it was the most expensive hostel in the whole of Aus for us! We had to stay in a 6 bed dorm as the double rooms were simply not affordable for us as a married couple! The quality of the hostel was great. The rooms and bathrooms were clean (though using a key card to get into the bathrooms every time was annoying). The chill out area upstairs was great and we watched a couple of movies there. The spa pool was freezing cold, much to our disappointment! Didn't stay there long! Kitchens were busy but manageable and had everything you need. The one great thing about it was half price bike rental on Wednesdays, so go on a Weds, as it's a great way to explore the city. Also, the karaoke night in the bar next door on a tuesday night was surprisingly excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FleeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Not much choice for hostels in Canberra, so thank god the ever excellent YHA got this so right! We had a double with a shared bathroom, and were given a very spacious room, which included a TV too.

The bathrooms were very modern, cleaned regularly, and excellent facilities. The kitchen was huge, so plenty of room for everyone to cook and eat. Internet is cheap enough, especially compared to other places. Staff are friendly, and happy to help in any way needed too.

The hostel offers cheap bike hire (half price on Wednesday), which is an excellent way to see Canberra, and Lake Burley Griffin more completely, as this is a very spread out city!

All in all a fantastic, stress free time, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is good for youths, groups and young people. The hostel is extremely clean, however the kitchen needs improvements. It would be much appreciated if the hostel provides some foods and drinks for free, as most of them are students. Your prices could be a bit lower. As for your bedding, you need to have warmer bunks and provided beds.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I was a bit unsure when my boyfriend suggested we stay in a hostel, however I would definately do it again.

We stayed in a double room (shared bathroom). The room was large, lots of light from big window, with a double & single bed, TV, table, chairs & tea & coffee making facilities. All the communal areas & bathrooms were clean to a high standard.
Kitchen was big with plenty of room for everyone to cook, lots of fridges & shelves etc.
Pool is a bit chilly but nice luxury. No one using pool or sauna so we enjoyed them to ourselves.
We hired bikes from hostel everyday which was a great way to get around without a car.
Only thing I wouldn't recommend was the YHA cycle tour on Sat afternoon. The guy who led the tour knew nothing about the local area, couldn't answer any questions & got us lost!
The hostel is in a great location. It was about $23 taxi from airport for 2.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slidester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
0.5 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hotel
Hotel Hotel
#8 of 58 in Canberra
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Gallery Hotel
Peppers Gallery Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
1,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Canberra
QT Canberra
#16 of 58 in Canberra
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra City YHA

Address: 7 Akuna St, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Canberra
Price Range: $29 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canberra City YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canberra City YHA is right in the heart of the nation's capital, 5 mins from the interstate bus terminal. Hostel facilities include cafe, indoor pool/spa/sauna, free Wi-Fi hotspot (Premium Wi-Fi Plus also available), fully-equipped kitchen, rooftop BBQ area, TV/games area, and underground bar. Hostel hosts weekly activities and BBQs in summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canberra City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canberra City Yha Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing