We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rude front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
Ranked #54 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“rude front desk staff”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

extremely rude front desk staff.they treat you as if you are staying free.Not recommended at all.I dont know if staff is changed otherwise would definitely not recommend to stay.Average location,isolated from everything,average rooms and no recreation facilities.

Room Tip: avoid this like plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank deepak_rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceahotel, Owner at Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Deepak_Rai,
I am having trouble understanding what your concerns might be - please be informed that none of my staff are rude to our guests. We are located 2 blocks north of the CBD, a fantastic location from which to start exploring Canberra. Our rooms are very well maintained and represent great value accommodation in Canberra. The comments you make about my staff and my hotel are not correct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    132
    139
    59
    91
See reviews for
117
125
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My family and I stayed here for our Floriade visit October 2012. We were delighted with the bathroom toiletries they have provided, the lemon myrtle infused products were very relaxing. The 4 for the price of three breakfast buffet was also very welcome. The bedclothes were clean, the staff all friendly and helpful and even happy to chat with you if you require. We rested quite well as the room was quiet. Also, the milk and the kitkats were lovely! We also ate in the Haig Restaurant and my, was it sumptuous!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here one night in October 2012. My room had 5 beds, a little kitchen, and a nice fridge. We could have fitted the whole family (very unusual for a hotel room). Bed was very comfy, TV and kettle etc worked well. My room had a spa bath big enough for 2 adults. Blankets and sheets were crispy and comfy. I think my bed had memory foam. Ahhhhh. The hotel was quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful.

They have free Kit-kats in the fridge, and a very decent breakfast buffet for $15.00 + an on-site restaurant (I didn't try that). It was fine - nothing boutique, but perfectly adequate.

There is no porter, and no doorman, and nothing flashy that you would get a more expensive place. If you are expecting something super flash for the price, then you need to be more realistic.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms do not have as much sun as upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuxcatt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

we were extremely dissappointed in our room. It was nothing like the photos on the websight which i believe is false advertising. The room was in desperate need of a Revovation. we had four nights which was far too long in such drab surroundings. wont book it again. If you are looking for a clean bright room dont book this place, extremely disapointed. never again. the lighting is terrible. the breakfast was horrid.

Room Tip: Dont book this hotel if you want a quiet romatic weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceahotel, Owner at Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Kathleen M,
I think you might be somewhat confused - the photos and the HD video on our website are correct. We have new queen beds and king single beds in all of our rooms - new split air conditioning in all our rooms - new solid ash timber furniture in all our rooms - rooms are painted regularly - new 48 oz wool carpet in all our rooms - lots of amemities in our rooms. I can only wonder what you concerns were with our $15 fully cooked buffet - all of our regular guests love it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I went down to Canberra to see a band, we got back to our room at 2am and left the next morning at 8am. The bathroom was clean, the beds comfortable. We never usd any of the hotel restaurants or facilities.
Stay here if you (like us) just need a bed close to the CBD. Dont stay here if you want more from your room or you are expecting the Ritz, its just not going to happen!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumpy308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised. Room was small but clean and comfortable. We used the spa and that was fantastic. Great for those on a budget and good family accommodation.............

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vbuttigieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

While the hotel is close to the CBD, there are several reasons why this is a cheap hotel to stay in. I booked a one bedroom spa suite and upon entering the hotel immediately asked to check out and have my booking fee returned. I was told this was not possible as any changes must be made 48 hours PRIOR to check in. This seemed strange as it's impossible to know what the room will be like before checking in. Essentially I was trapped into staying here. My room was dingy and dark, with holes in my blankets on the bed. Bathroom had not been well cleaned with mould and hair from previous guests. I could hear the ENTIRE conversation of the couple in the room next to me. When I asked to be moved to a different room, reception refused and sent up some ear plugs. At 6pm at night! It is concerning that reception offer free ear plugs as a solution to noise in rooms. The walls are so thin that at 1am I was awoken by the guest next to me and his female "companion". Was disgusting!
I did not stay the entire time I was booked in and upon checking out early, I asked the VERY rude and unhelpful staff whether I needed to sign anything to which I was answered "nuh, just give me your key". There was no concern that I was checking out early and why I might have been doing so. When I initially checked in with several bags, I was pointed to a trolley to which to take my things to my room. Myself. No one at reception offerred to help and it was only when a fellow guest assisted me that I made it to my room. I will NEVER stay here again and have advised ANU campus that they do NOT put guests up in this hotel. It was disgusting.

Room Tip: A tip to choosing a good room here would be to choose no room at all. Clifton suites on northbourne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ceahotel, Owner at Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam ( Amina,K),
Photos of our rooms are on our website and also of wotif.com. We do not have a porter service which is advertised on our website and also on wotif.com. We are a very popular hotel used by the ANU. We have a cleaning contractor available 24 hours a day; if your room was not to your satisfaction, all you had to do was let any of our team @ Reception know and the problem would have been fixed asap. Our one bedroom spa suites are very popular with everyone who stays with us. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasant one.
I feel it is very wrong of you to slander my hotels' good name.
Yours sincerely, Jim @ ceahotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.2 mi away
Canberra Rex Hotel
Canberra Rex Hotel
#26 of 57 in Canberra
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,597 reviews
1.1 mi away
University House
University House
#30 of 57 in Canberra
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.8 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,477 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#22 of 57 in Canberra
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra

Property: Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra
Address: 108 Northbourne Ave & Cnr Girrahween St | Act, Canberra 2601, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two blocks north of the CBD, a five minute stroll, our 83 room boutique style hotel. Value That Impresses:The Capital Executive Apartment Hotel, located just a short stroll from the city centre down Canberra's most tree-lined boulevard, Northbourne Avenue, is your stylish and comfortable "home away from home". The 59 studio apartments and 24 one bedroom spa suites, combined with 24 hour under cover security parking, offer the holidaymaker or business traveller great value at realistic prices. Features That Please:Soak up the classic modern ambience that is our stunning three storey atrium as you enjoy a pre-dinner drink or a quiet meeting in any of the intimate lounge areas. Pamper yourself in our sauna room or one of our 2 x 8 person heated spa pools after that workout in the gym. As day becomes night, enjoy Canberra's languid summer evenings outdoors in our alfresco courtyard overlooking the stately pines of Haig Park; or, if it's just that special time together, simply phone for our prompt and friendly room service. The choice is yours. Rooms to Relax In All room types feature reverse cycle air conditioning and are serviced and maintained to a four star standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Executive Apartment Hotel Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Capital Executive
Comfort Inn Canberra
Canberra Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing