We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pavilion on Northbourne
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$108
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Realm(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$181
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$144
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pacific Suites Canberra(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$180
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Brassey Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Hotel Canberra(Canberra)
$183
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Peppers Gallery Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$96
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Forrest Hotel And Apartments(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Hotel(Canberra)(Great Value!)
$173
$141
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,256 results
Traveler rating
344
486
278
94
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
486
278
94
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor gardenatrium barcentral atriumspa suitebuffet breakfastsingle bednorthbourne avenuedickson shopscity centreroom servicefree parkingcomfortable bedthe air conditioningplenty of parkingwould stay againpleasant stayvisiting canberra
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
865 - 870 of 1,256 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I recently attended a conferance at this hotel and was very dissapointed.

As a hotel nothing to write homeabout, same as any hotel of this nature but as far as conferance facilities it was awful.

400 people attended, Hotel site staes facilities for 100??

Food GOOD but could not seat all attendes,let alone other hotel guests.Took over whole of foyer.
OHS issues,
Grossly overcrowed,
electrical leads over floor.
Chairs in exits and no one attempted to remove them so fire exits blocked for whole day.
I am sure I could have found others but theses were obvious.

Another problem was only hand held microphones were available, not one stand in sight and the speakers not used to holding a mic.
Used glasses from the water tables not collected and not replaced.

However the attitude of the staff was great at every level.
The fault lies with management for agreeing to host this event which was beyond the cappabilities of this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We have stayed many times at the Pavilion on northbourne. we find it suits our needs perfectly. Its position is central to all of Canberras attractions, it is clean, rooms are spacious great staff very good service nice food good breakfasts and 95% of the time very affordable.
Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but not the ones near the side entry, can get a bit noisy if you want to sleep
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Room was nice. Comfortable bed, no traffic noise, free security parking. Bathroom smallish but fine.
Hate the squeeze liquid soap dispensed but lots of places have them. Hot day so used the outdoor pool and it was good but hard to get in and out of as steps at one end but no rails to hang on to.
Lucky my neighbours were quiet until after 8am as you can hear loud talking in next room but that is the same most places.
Fine for short stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I've stayed here a lot, which basically means I like it. The front desk is efficient, the rooms are a good size and are comfortable enough. The rooms are well cleaned and overall nothing to worry about. BUT, it surely shows it's age - likely high-fashion in the early 80's, but not so much now.

There's a lot of cool plants in this place with a couple of large indoor gardens - but the greenery hides behind a layer of dust and everything looks a bit tired and daggy.

The restaurant seems to do a steady trade, but gee that menu looks old fashioned too ("Surf & Turf" - surely not?). What about some fresh Asian greens and the type of contemporary fare that is commonplace these days?

This hotel dispenses with cakes of soap and instead has squeezeable bottles mounted in the kitchen and bath area. Gotta say this is pretty good - works well and is hopefully a win-win for customer and hotel.

Good location, and the free parking is a welcome bonus - thanks!

So, definitely recommended - just don't expect anything too modern.

Room Tip: Traffic noise if facing Northbourne Ave
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Our room faced the swimming pool and, I guess, it helped to avoid a traffic noise from Northbourne Avenue.
During online booking I could not comprehend very reasonable price for room in 4.5 stars rated hotel. Understood everything minute we walked in to the room. The room was visibly outdated; power outlets located very inconveniently; bathroom is small, lights switches are confusing; TV was hard to operate as remote control worked only from the particular angle; no free internet in the hotel.
However, it was good enough for our purposes. Secure on-site parking is very useful. Easy exit to the Northbourne Avenue allows to reach any part of the Canberra in minutes. Fast and efficient service.Shops and restaurants Dickson are only 10 mins away by foot.
We would definitely stay there again if assuming the keep "right" price. However, it could be considered as 4.5 stars only after extensive refurbishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews