We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pavilion on Northbourne, Canberra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilion on Northbourne
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Dickson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pavilion on Northbourne, Canberra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Paviliion on Northbourne. It was close to attractions we wanted to see, and information centre. Breakfast and dinner meals were superb served in delightful surrounds. The shower was a little difficult to get in and out of for older less agile people. Would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    431
    249
    82
    49
See reviews for
216
400
106
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel's greatest feature is the atrium - it holds a restaurant (WONDERFUL dinner. Well cooked and quick), plus a bar in a beautiful garden setting as well as a cafe. We ate and drank there each night we stayed, and had breakfast at the cafe.

I am very picky about cleanliness, and was very impressed with the standard of cleanliness at the Pavillion. Staff were very polite and helpful. I really could not fault this place. We will absolutely stay there next time we are in town (which I hope is soon, because Canberra is great).

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the gym as the noise of people running in the treadmill might annoy some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissZoeLaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

A coat of paint makes the pictures look way better than the rooms actually do. Overpriced, run down and outdated furniture and fixtures, heating that doesn't work, a dirty towel left in the room, dirty old carpet, wine not available that is on the menu. No extra blankets, one size pillow fits all, 2 towels (generous) to a room, new release movies $18.95 All this at a "discounted" $169. Reviews on Agoda are a sham. Staff are o.k. our room central heating didn't work on a cold and wet Canberra day. 5 visits by various people still didn't make a difference. Last person gave us a noisy little air blower heater! When we complained to the manager she upgraded us to a spa room, Heater didn't work in there either! Spa looked like it had seen a lot of action, no shower curtain for the shower. Self contained unit with no crockery or utensils. Living room set top box didn't work so rather we borrowed the one from the bedroom. ON a positive if you like plants there are heaps of them outside the rooms and in the restaurant. I have stayed in many hotels in my travels and would advise you could find way better for the price. This Hotels rooms should be around the $99 budget price.

Room Tip: Another location would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skidys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. Came here on a business trip and booked because they had a great deal. Terrific lobby with nice ambience, bar and restaurant. My room was quiet and bed very comfortable. Location on Northbourne Ave is convenient and the hotel did not have issues with noise. Service was smooth and professional.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in Canberra as we where going to the Turner from the Tate exhibition
at the national gallery , this hotel is really lovely with all the green plants everywhere our room was spacious the bed very comfortable and big , the breakfast was excellent we also ate in the restaurant had the early bird special which was a lovely meal . my husband was really impressed with the amazing greenery and the service was excellent , we would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sallyearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a good basic hotel. The room are quite generous (although the bathroom was small). The bed was very comfortable and the room was fairly quiet. I must say I was quite impressed with the eco friendly bath and shower products provided.

Although I didn't eat at the restaurant, work colleagues told me the food was quite good.
The service at reception was excellent and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belle_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recently, we (two couples) visited Canberra for the weekend to attend an exhibition at the National Gallery. We booked the Pavilion on Northbourne which was very central to our needs. On arrival, we were greeted warmly and professionally. Although we could check in, our rooms were not ready (we were quite early). Our rooms were at the back of the hotel and although there was a wedding on the same floor, we did not hear any noise from it or from road traffic. Our rooms were very spacious with a desk, small table and chairs, tea making facilities etc. Beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was quite small but adequate, but no natural light in there. It was good to be able to open the bedroom window. A full breakfast was included in our "package" and consisted of a variety or cereals, fruits, breads, pastries and hot foods. Checking both in and out of the Hotel was quick with friendly staff. The interior of the Hotel was very welcoming and with many plants, trees etc.(reminded me of a Singapore hotel in that respect). A football club was less than 10 minutes walk away and we had our evening meal there. There was a secure car park at the rear of the hotel. Although it is quite some distance to the central shopping in Canberra, we would all stay at the Pavilion again when visiting Canberra by car.

Room Tip: We had Rooms 320 and 321 at the rear of the 3rd floor, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#20 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#19 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Property: Pavilion on Northbourne
Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#20 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing