We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a push to call it 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pavilion on Northbourne
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A bit of a push to call it 4 star”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very tired, in spite of a "refurb"... Pleasant staff is all i can really say. The finishing touches just aren't there. Grubby, tired decor..vinyl lounge was marked, melted bread wrapper on toaster, incomplete dinnerware and glasses-which were scratched plastic ones. The bathroom needed maintenance, the toilet had loose fastenings and had plumbers tape holding parts together. In our 3 night stay the tissue box remained empty. The worst though is the air conditioning which cannot be turned off... It is a very loud constant hum, not unlike being on an aeroplane. The biggest insult was after mentioning all this when home after receiving the online feedback form, i was offered $10 off my next stay!!! At $250 per night...no thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mf99ccd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    435
    250
    83
    49
See reviews for
220
404
106
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I got this hotel at a really good price and was pleasantly surprised at just how nice it was. I only stayed for 1 night with my teenage son and everything suited us well. I had an enormous, comfortable bed and he had a large single. The bathroom was small but quite nice and modern. The air con worked well and the room was very quiet. Breakfast was a great surprise-it had everything you could possibly want, both hot and cold. It was replenished frequently. The staff were friendly at the front desk too. I would recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DragonJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Only stayed overnight, it ticked all the boxes, well priced, good location, good sized room, excellent dining. Would choose to stay there again. I arrived early and was able to check in and pick up the key later. I did have friends staying and was able to leave my luggage with them but I am sure there would be an area to store my case if necessary.

Room Tip: Can certainly recommend Room 316, king size bed and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Well priced hotel with all the basic essentials. Good location to shops in Dickson and yet not too far from Canberra CBD.
However, the access card system to rooms and the carpark needs improvement as they are somewhat not responsive; it needs a few goes before it will recognize the card. Furthermore, a few more lights in the room and in the carpark will be beneficial to find our way around.
Overall, it is well priced hotel and offer reasonable essential for a few nights stay in Canberra.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Spent two nights last week at this hotel. Having visited Canberra many times in the past & stayed at some very good hotels I have bypassed this one previously. What a lovely surprise this turned out to be! We went to the Toulouse Lautrec exhibition & availed ourselves of this package at the Pavilion which included tickets. Other people on this site have commented on the seventies atmosphere, we really loved the feel of it. The Atrium is very welcoming. The bar area (where we had lunch & then dinner the 2nd evening) was very relaxing & the food extremely good. We also ate at the restaurant which was very nice & not too expensive. The staff were very friendly & helpful. The cleanliness was fantastic & the pool area kept in great condition(water sparkling), only one small suggestion being the addition of a couple of sunlounges around the pool. Our room & bedding was as good as anywhere we have stayed & the included breakfast was very nice.We were impressed that the chef & staff were constantly checking on the food & refilling before anything was completely empty.
All in all one of the nicest stays in Canberra & would certainly recommend to anyone & will be returning here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked the room- 2 bed apartment and upon arrival went to our roomsThe keys provided were the swipe kind and half the time did not work-so we had to buzz to be let into the car park. The car park has zero thought-why not allocate best park spot closest to where your room is-rather than end up at the other end of CP because they were full with cars who were well away from their own rooms-because nobody told them best place to park. We went up to the room and it looked like a recent refurb of the room was half finished. Why refurb a room and then just leave the brass plaque number on the door with 20 years of grime on it-why not polish them often? Inside was what would best be described as functional. No nice lamps-just stark lights in the living area-no blending pictures on the walls. The kid’s room stated there would be a TV in the spare room-non-existent. The Master bedroom you needed to have the curtains closed all the time to avoid being seen from the connecting busy bridge corridor to the main hotel. So that was the room. Water hot as it should be-nothing lacking in terms of kitchen implements etc.

Main Atrium looks nice until you get up close and see that the leaves on the trees are all covered in dust and dead skin.. These things are meant to be in the tropics-‘cos it rains and they get naturally cleaned-nice idea wrong location. Bar- okay drink prices stupidly expensive $8 a beer and $15 for a small cocktail and nothing in competition to walk to hence take it or leave it. With a family you cannot have that luxury of leave it so ended up having to buy off the menu. Burgers fine and not badly priced. We were late one night and had to order room service and the room service pizza bore zero resemblance to a bar pizza. Imagine your childs’ first experiment with making pastry when she /he was 5 with a daub of Tommie sauce on top and imagine the hungriest person saying nope I just cannot eat that-well that was us. Only took 3 days to get it removed from the bill-but the memory of it will last a lot longer!!

Breakfast-both Continental and Cooked excellent-cannot fault it.

Overall tired hotel with willing staff that obviously need the company to kick some money and pride into what they are doing.

Room Tip: To avoid disappointment keep looking at other properties
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HowieT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

As most accommodation was booked out in Canberra due to a long weekend we had little choice but to stay at the Pavilion on Northbourne A very small room with a cramped feeling and certainly due for an update for what is charged.It is further away from the City Centre to walk however there is a complimentary shuttle service but this had to be booked the night before.The hotel was evacuated early morning due to the smoke alarms being activated so stood out in Northbourne Street with other guests while the Fire Brigade entered the hotel.We weren't given any information from staff and after a short time told we could return inside so end of story.

Room Tip: Top floor so you can't hear the people on the floor above walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelicitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#20 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Property: Pavilion on Northbourne
Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#20 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing