We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable but was over 200 for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pavilion on Northbourne
Ranked #22 of 59 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had to find a room for one night passing through, it was late and hard to find a room. Was costly for what we had.

The room was ok, all the way at the back of the property. It was comfortable and good parking.

On the downside the room felt a little cramped. The bathroom was narrow and did not vent the steam well making us wonder if we would set off any fire alarms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnSharonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Central location. Nothing fancy but nothing horrid either. Had a quiet room with all the basics. Staff were really friendly and added in breakfast for free.
Plenty of free car parking with security gate. Free newspaper each morning.
Handy spot for breakfast with a basic but nice selection.
Comfy beds but the pillows were horrible!
Yes I'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurplePower72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 1 night & had a very enjoyable stay. The facilities were wonderfully fresh & clean, & the meals at the atrium resteraunt & buffet breafast were very good. Staff were professional without being stuffy. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in Feb 2013 - was glad they had a pool however disappointed there were no sun lounges so my vision of lying by the pool with a book were unfulfilled. Just a quick dip and out, there was nothing but a kitchen chair to sit on and no shade or umbrellas.
Coffee in the atrium was undrinkable, the bed was so hard I had to request a mattress topper after the first sleepless night. Staff were, in the main, indifferent - with the exception of the very pleasant lady at the front desk. Bathroom was tiny and tired, functional but certainly not 4 star. The hotel is a bit tired and dated. There must be better hotels in Canberra for the price? Look around for them would be my recommendation.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel away from noisy Northbourne Avenue is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tikki14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Novel area attrium makes an sweet difference to the area.
we had a good night sleep * 2 and excellet buffett breakfast included as 1 night package for Toulous Lautrec exhibition.

Will stay again 4 sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxwelloau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and didn't completely dislike the stay but it wasn't anything special. The hotel is something built in the 70s and the lobby hasn't been renovated since. It's a large atrium where breakfast is served and a bar at night. It's also filled with a ridiculous amount of pot plants which makes it look like an indoor rainforest. Luckily the rooms are much more tasteful. They seem recently renovated with modern furnishing. Fairly large but with very small bathroom. The bed was comfy with soft fluffy pillows. Overall the rooms were reasonably comfortable however the lack of air conditioning was annoying. There was a vent with a stream of cold air but couldn't control the temperature from the room. First night was too hot, second night too cold.
There's a small outdoor pool and gym, and a coin operated laundry on site which can be handy.
The real plus was, this hotel is massive, lots of parking and lots of rooms available which meant we didn't have to wait till 2pm to check in. This was real handy because we got into Canberra early afternoon and wanted a snooze.
Location wise, it's in the north side of Canberra, closest place to eat and drink was Dickson where all the ethnic restaurants are. We found a cool pub there called suburban and a nice Chinese restaurant across the road, about 15min stroll from the hotel. Otherwise everything else is driving distance or you can easily get a bus down northbourne ave to the city centre, it's a 5 min drive.
Overall I would recommend if you are on a tight budget, no staying for long, and not coming in middle of winter or summer where you want in room climate control.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piggy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a surprise. 24 hour room service, nice new (quite) fridge in room, MASSIVE extremely clean and comfortable bed- two types of pillows, soft and medium (4 in total). If I could have smuggled that bed out- I would of! Near new TV, heavy drapes that block out all light- I slept in till 10.30am, yay! The lobby and bar area in the middle are fantastic, plants surround this little paradise and everything is available. Extra night needed- no problem, late check out needed- sure no problem. Not getting in till late- no worries. They even have food machines available 24 hrs. The staff were great, very efficient, friendly and well trained. I'm only ever staying in one place when I go to Canberra!!

Room Tip: I got a room with a bed bigger than any king I've ever seen, also came with a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mack0168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 59 in Canberra
1,761 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Canberra
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 59 in Canberra
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#24 of 59 in Canberra
1,825 reviews
3.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 59 in Canberra
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#19 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $89 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing