We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't be better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavilion on Northbourne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pavilion on Northbourne
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
southaustralia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Pavilion during mid November. We had booked a deluxe room over the internet. Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the receptionist and offered an upgrade and a discounted breakfast deal, which we accepted. We ate in the atrium bar as well as one night in the restaurant. At all times the staff were friendly and obliging. Our room was kept beautifully neat and clean and was quite a haven to return to after long hours sight seeing. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any visitors to Canberra. Its location is excellent and I simply LOVED the atrium environment. Will stay here again when next I come to Canberra.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherb51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    423
    247
    82
    49
See reviews for
211
392
106
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Back again. Our third stay just as good as the two before. Nothing to complain about. Staff are happy to help and don't make you feel like just a number. Rooms always clean. The bar is a fantastic way to relax before dinner. This time we had dinner in the restaurant and Wow really well cooked food,more than enough to choose from , yummy desserts.
Easy check in and easy check out.
Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

While the Pavilion is by no means new, it is in great shape. Rooms are quite spacious and quiet despite being on Canberra's main route into the city. Parking is also on site and free of charge. Best of all, Capital Hotels, the current owners, have priced the hotel very sensibly to attract both business people and tourists.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thredbo Village, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had to be moved due to small housekeeping issue. The staff were very professional about it and was moved to a suite. Very spacious room but quite dated. Noticed the road traffic/noise. We are not used to urban sounds and it wasn't too early. Due to bad weather the roof leaked out in the middle of hotel and elevator area. Unique spot to stay. Would stay again if the price was on sale. Great staff, good location just needs a little spruce up. Perfect for short stay.

Room Tip: If booking a suite, ask for distance from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpenAnnie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have stayed at the Pavilion in Canberra several times, and have decided it is the only place to stay. We have tried other places but they are either noisy or in poor condition or generally not good value. The atrium space at the Pavilion is particularly enjoyable and it is lovely to arrive or leave the room and walk past all the lovely healthy plants and gentle water features. The rooms are comfortable and have always been very clean, but some are a bit small. The staff are routinely professional and pleasant. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter, as they don't front Northbourne Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy_D_S-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was very clean and comfortable, the ensuite was massive. All staff were excellent and the meals for breakfast and dinner were first class. Will definately stay there again.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
0.9 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canberra Rex Hotel
Canberra Rex Hotel
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion on Northbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion on Northbourne

Property: Pavilion on Northbourne
Address: 242 Northbourne Avenue | Dickson, Canberra 2602, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Canberra
#20 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pavilion on Northbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pavilion on Northbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion On Northbourne Canberra
Pavilion On Northbourne Hotel Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing