We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great deal”
Review of Brassey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brassey Hotel
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A great deal”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here when visiting the Turner exhibition at the National Gallery.
The tariff was very reasonable - and included entry cost for exhibition and a hearty breakfast and daily paper.

There appeared limited options for restaurants within walking distance of the Brassey, so we opted to have dinner at the hotel - the meal was delicious, service was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Sadly, Wi-Fi was not included in the tariff - surely, in the national capital it should be standards
Only comment, and it's very minor, is that there was some mould on the bathroom tiles.

We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    236
    107
    38
    21
See reviews for
76
189
39
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Old world charm but beautifully comfortable rooms. Excellent room service and lovely buffet breakfast.comfortable beds and large rooms were a welcome after we checked out of the Rex hotel ( we took one look at the room and left).. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

As regular travellers to Canberra, The Brassey is our hotel of choice when in town. Breakfast was great as usual, and dinner nice also. We find the location ideal as we are prepared to walk to the south side attractions. Kingston shops is only a ten minute walk, as are the Sunday markets at the Bus Depot.
The only criticism would be the poor lighting in the bathroom, and some furnishings need updating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan_61_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We love visiting Canberra and we love Brasseys but this time round we were a little disappointed in the standard of our favourite hotel. The rooms are always lovely but this room had a rather old bathroom with cracked, stained tiles. The pillows were terribly hard as were the towels and more soap would be appreciated. The breakfast is always a delight, the staff are welcoming and the value for money is rather good. We received a great price including bed, breakfast, 2 tickets to Turner Exhibition and 2 tickets to Glorious Days Exhibition. Brasseys is still our favourite hotel - it has the character so often missing from newer establishments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombatstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've stayed many times at The Brassey and prefer it to some of the more modern and new ones around the local area as it has atmosphere and the rooms seems more like a B&B than a hotel.

However, despite the obvious renovations this time around and ongoing for a while now, although I loved the addition of the gas fire in the entrance foyer, I found the particular room I had this time was "less than" in quality from previous stays.

For instance, the towels were scratchy and hard, only one tiny round piece of soap was provided, the shampoo/gel bottle in the shower was empty, the bar fridge had been left open and the milk and everything else was warm, there was no hairdryer, and the tiles in the shower were cracked, poorly "fixed" and taps were coming off the wall. Funnily enough even the placement of the toilet roll holder was impossible to reach from the "loo" :)

Good points were the large beautifully laundered pillowslips although the pillows were hard, all the appointments were meticulously clean although water was left in the jug from the last person, and the tea/coffee supply was welcomed. I appreciate having an iron and board in the rooms, and the heating is good in either summer or winter.

A good range of TV channels but could not get Wi Fi. Very difficult to read in bed with the lamps or overhead light.

The dining area hasn't changed and is very dark in wood colour but with ample choice for breakfast and dinner at reasonable costs.

Just a small point, but I DO so like a smile from the Receptionist when arriving :)

Still a great place despite some of the dislikes!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabBaz2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, General Manager at Brassey Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks for the feedback... your comments have been passed on to housekeeping so they can better attend to guest needs. With regard to the bathroom, yes we still have a couple of yet to be renovated bathrooms. These are part of this years upgrading program as part of our continuous
renovations.One of the joys of older buildings. !!! Thanks for your on going support.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A friend and I used The Brassey's' Turner from the Tate' package in late June.It was a good choice.We were expecting cold wet weather and dressed accordingly and it was pouring with rain as our plane touched down. A short taxi trip to the hotel ( approx. $30-)and we were in the cosy foyer of the Brassey, the gas log fire was very welcoming as was the young woman at the desk . Our room was large , bright and warmed with an airconditioner that we could adjust for a cooler temperature at night .Our bathroom was a good size with good lighting and well equipped . We enjoyed the tea and coffee facilities and the Champagne on ice (part of the package ) was a treat we left to pre dinner time.We walked to nearby Manuka village ( with umbrellas ) and loved the interesting shops and cafes. That evening we had dinner in the Brassey's restaurant. The menu was varied and reasonably priced,the Creamy Pasta with Prawns was delicious . I enjoyed the window view out into the wet evening , it was a good contast to the cosy ambience of the comfortable restaurant with its linen table cloths.The Brassey is an older hotel and it plays up its history with early photos of Canberra on its stucco walls and lots of french windows and a garden.Next day twe walked in another direction to The National Gallery to see Turner's wonderful paintings.Our tickets were untimed which was great as we could please ourselves.We really enjoyed our two days in Canberra and our stay at the Brassey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I have stayed at The Brassey many times on business and you always get a nice welcome at reception. I was attending an event this time and upon check in they had it noted I was attending and gave me a map with instructions of how to get there.

The rooms are quite spacious and I always seem to get a different configuration. There is always a hand written note from the manager and a chocolate bar. Just the little things that make you feel like you are at home.

Heating is great - air-con in the room and a wall heater as well in the bathroom. There's a hot water bottle, extra blankets, ironing board and complimentary tea/coffee. All the amenities that you need really. Even a bath mat to put in the shower so you don't slip.

It seems to be primarily a business hotel but it close to many attractions so I would stay there for both business and leisure.

Room Tip: I've stayed in a few rooms and they are all good. One tip I would say is to run the hot water in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 57 in Canberra
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,059 reviews
1.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brassey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brassey Hotel

Property: Brassey Hotel
Address: Belmore Gardens & Macquarie St | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brassey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the footsteps of the Parliamentary Triangle, the Brassey Hotel is set on two and a half acres of manicured gardens and lawns. This 1920’s hotel has old world charm with all the comforts of a quality property, with a range of accommodation options. Each room offers complimentary WiFi, reverse air-conditioning, writing desk and Foxtel. Positioned within one of Canberra’s most prestigious suburbs of Barton, you will be a short stroll from all the iconic attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery of Australia, the National Library, Old Parliament House and Lake Burley Griffin. The Brassey Hotel is metres from the Realm Precinct which allows guests to partake in all of the amenities afforded by the 5 Star Hotel Realm. The Precinct offers a range of dining options, including French restaurant Buvette Bistro & Wine Bar, the casual Ostani Lounge, Bar & Restaurant, chef-hatted Japanese restaurant LiloTang, Cantonese fine-dining restaurant, The Chairman & Yip, and casual cafes Maple + Clove and Ritual, as well as a gym, spa, indoor pool, hairdresser and conferencing facilities, all with complimentary Wi-FI. The precinct also offers a state-of-the-art gym and day spa, opened in 2017. Hale Gym + Spa has the latest Technogym equipment and casual yoga, Pilates, spin and boxing classes. Hale Spa is Canberra's latest wellness destination, offering a sanctuary for the body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brassey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brassey Of Canberra Hotel Canberra
Brassey Hotel Canberra
Brassey Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing