We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant stay and friendly staff but dated decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brassey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brassey Hotel
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay and friendly staff but dated decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at the Brassey for two nights for a small conference held at the premises. There are two entrances (from Belmore Gardens or Macquarie Street) and both are 'homely', like you are visiting someone's (large) house. I found the staff very friendly and helpful, particularly at the bar/restaurant. We had conference drinks at the bar - they offer some free snacks! There was also a lovely outdoor area in amongst a garden - perfect for the pleasant weather.

I had a Garden Court room (rather than a Heritage Room) on the ground floor. The room size was ample for one, with a large armchair at the desk and generous sized wardrobe. The bathroom was an odd layout but there was plenty of room in the shower recess (plus excellent water flow!). The furniture was dated but the room and amenities were clean. Breakfast was included in my room price, and there was a large spread of hot and cold items at the buffet - something for everyone.

The negatives: 1) no soundproofing - I could hear people stomping up and down the corridor outside; 2) there weren't any rails for the handtowels in the bathroom (just a towel rail which was nowhere near the sink area). Although the decor is old, everything was clean and functional so I didn't think this was a negative.

It is about 15-20 minutes to walk to Manuka Village which has shops and restaurants/cafes if you want a meal nearby, and it is conveniently located near Parliament House (for good views). I thought there was good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    163
    73
    28
    18
See reviews for
54
121
35
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Brassey is tired, worn out and needs reinvigorating. You can't hold on the "we've been here for 50 years" tag without showing that you are actually keeping up with other suppliers of accomodation. My room on the ground floor was dark, not soundproof at all (thanks to whoever coughed all night from somewhere) and needed some sort of sparkle. Very small TV screen was from the 60's. Breakfast was so, so predictable with an unremarkable array of the usuals.
Canberra tries to be "up there" but not this particular place at all.

Room Tip: Perhaps stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geraldq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Very clean, comfortable, small room but fine for one person. Quiet at night and the bed was comfortable. Was adequate for 2 nights with a good shower and heater in the bathroom. Breakfast selection had lots of healthy options and the staff were obliging. Over all more than adequate but not outstanding.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Runaway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have stayed at the Brassey several times on business. An older style hotel but still quite comfortable. I have always found the staff to be pleasant and professional. Food and wine are quite good, but not outstanding - which is useful because other food places seem to be at least 10-15 minutes walk away; and Canberra taxis don't seem to like short trips.

Rooms are quiet and comfortable; but seem to vary in size, so ask and pay for a larger one if that is an issue for you. Cable internet access is available at $10 per day but no wi-fi which I miss. Overall good value for money, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very dated and tired interior and the rooms were quite small. The Brassey is definitely in need of a makeover or at least new furnishings. Our room was not soundproof in the slightest, and absolutely everything could be heard from people walking down the corridor to people having a shower in the room adjacent to us. Aircon/heater did not do a great deal at all. The receptionist was not particularly professional and was a bit rude at times. For the price of it, it was not what I was expecting. On the plus side, it was in a great location, and the breakfast was good - again though, not worth the $30 they charged.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eliza_R_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Hartley
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at The Brassey for a weekend. Check-in clerk was totally lacking in personality and quite brusque bit the first impression was quickly forgotten bythe charming atmosphere of this heritage-listed hotel. Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed an excellent buffet breakfast. On Sunday we were delighted to discover there was a free jazz concert in the bar - evidently this is on every week.
The Brassey is tucked away, a bit hard to find, but this adds to the charm - its very quiet. I would definitely stay here again. If you like a small intimate hotel and are interested in the history of Canberra I'd recommend The Brassey.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed at The Brassey this year and had the most wonderful stay. The rooms were very clean and the amenities were great. The staff were fantastic they could not do enough for you and were always happy and smiling it made me feel so welcome. I will definitely stay again on my next visit, such character and hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Can2Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#4 of 58 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 1,797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
1.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#15 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#12 of 58 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brassey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brassey Hotel

Property: Brassey Hotel
Address: Belmore Gardens & Macquarie St | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brassey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the footsteps of the Parliamentary Triangle, the Brassey Hotel is set on two and a half acres of manicured gardens and lawns. This 1920's hotel has old world charm with all the comforts of a quality property. Positioned within Canberra's most prestigious suburb of Barton, you will be a short stroll from all the iconic attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery of Australia, the National Library, Old Parliament House and Lake Burley Griffin. The Brassey Hotel is metres from the Realm Precinct where guests can access a variety of dining options including chef hatted fine dining, Japanese cuisine, wholefoods café, bars, oven-fired pizza and tapas lounge, Mediterranean cuisine and high tea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Brassey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brassey Of Canberra Hotel Canberra
Brassey Hotel Canberra
Brassey Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing