We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot to break a long trip back from thredbo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brassey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Brassey Hotel
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect spot to break a long trip back from thredbo”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is my second visit. As a mum with child it is a friendly, helpful place with well sized rooms and well placed to visit question or eat at Manuka shops

Room Tip: The rooms with a queen and single are big with room for a rollaway. Very family friendly. Have staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    224
    96
    35
    20
See reviews for
72
178
39
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

My traveling companion picked the Brassey and I was very nervous after reading the reviews. However, I believe it is a delightful place in a lovely setting. It is a historic hotel so it is older but I think that makes it even more charming. Our room was large and well appointed. We walked from the hotel along the lake front to the National Art Gallery (20 minute walk) and then on the National Portrait Gallery. . Franklin street with its restauant and shops is only a short drive away. The whole experience was terrific.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woy Woy, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I travelled by train with my 84 year old mother, I was a bit reserved as I had read the reports of staff members being rude. We did not find any of this, we were treated courteously, and a staff member even carried my mum's bag up the stairs for her. I loved the size of the room, a twin share, the bathroom was also a good size. One thing I did not think of, was to ask for a ground floor room, maybe none of the ground floors were twins, it was a bit of a walk for my mum up 3 flights of stairs. We were lucky even though the shower was over the bath it was low enough for mum to still get it in, so not a problem. This was entirely my fault as I did not ask in the first place, but we still managed. If travelling with elderly people I would call a taxi to go to Parliament House, it is a lot further than it looks, especially when you have to walk around when you get there. Ok for the young and fit. We caught a taxi each time after this, each trip I paid $10, had five trips, including to and from the station, so it was still cheaper than hiring a car. It is a 15 minute slow stroll to Kingston shops, and a short walk down the the water, it was beautiful in the evening. We both liked the decor, felt it went with the hotel, lovely little sitting rooms with verandas around the place. The breakfast was good, the pancakes lovely, fruit was also nice. The usual eggs bacon, toast, were also good. I would stay there again, and our experience of Canberra and the Renaissance Exhibition was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Despite the fact there was a large wedding in the venue the night of our stay, our room was very quiet. We faced a garden so no view to speak of. While this is a hotel clearly built in the early days of the establishment of Canberra with some atmosphere of those times remaining, the overall effect somehow just misses.
Our room was large but curiously laid out, with a SMALL screen TV a very long way from the bed. Until that problem is dealt with the hotel is in real danger of falling into the 3 and a half star category. The hotel advertising says it is a short walk from the National Art Gallery, Manuka shops and restaurants, and other major destinations. Short is in fact about 15 to 20 minutes, depending on your age and shoes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carilloneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Brassey Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Just to set the record straight, The Brassey is one of two hotels that are closest to the National Gallery of Australia. Walking times from The Brassey to the NGA ..15 minutes, to Kingston 7 minutes and to Manuka 13 minutes. These time are based on my Mum's walking pace.... she is 84.
regards
mark@brassey.net.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We used a Getaway voucher and paid to upgrade to a Heritage Family Suite for 3 nights.
Our check-in was handled efficiently by a very pleasant young lady.
Our room was on the top floor and had a great view of Parliament House.The family suite has a separate bedroom with 2 single beds and 1 bathroom with shower over the bath. This was perfect for our needs. The only thing that was missing was a table and chairs. There was room for this and would have made the room far more comfortable
The breakfast choices were limited but everything offered was very good. The staff in the dining room were very professional and pleasant and an asset to the hotel. We had dinner 1 night and while on the expensive side( a dinner roll with butter had to be ordered for $1.50)
was good.
The building is very interesting and as others have noted the historical photos on the walls are good to look at. The pipes were very noisy but it has to be remembered the hotel was built in 1927 and in my opinion a building like this is much more interesting that a brand new construction. The Brassey does have the feeling of a B & B about it.
The location is very good as you can walk to Kingston or Manuka and many tourist attractions such as Glassworks and the Old Bus Depot markets on a Sunday.
We enjoyed our stay at the Brassey and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edie83Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, Liberia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights for business. Average experience: renovated bathrooms, tired decor. The hotel is like a maze and very confusing! Overall, it was fine and, really, the location was the main attraction. It is an old building, though so beware as you can hear the pipes!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NibblingNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have been staying at The Brassey for many, many years for weekend trips from Sydney. My husband booked the hotel this time so we could visit for the Enlighten Festival. It would be good if the staff were also a bit enlightened as to the fact that the customer might appreciate an apology when things go wrong. When we arrived we were advised that we had no booking. We were shown the guest list. Our names were definitely not on the list. After quite some time the young receptionist found us booked for the same date in 2022 instead of 2012. How the computer could have accepted this is beyond my understanding. No apology, even if it wasn't the same person who had taken the booking. My husband was quite stressed about this. We were then given a room number ( luckily they had a spare). The saga continued when we opened the door to the room number given to find it occupied! Luckily the occupants weren't at that moment in the room! Despite all this, no little gesture of compensation. A real shame, as we will not stay there again. Otherwise the hotel, although we considered it overpriced, as all Australian hotels seem to be compared with European ones, is not bad as far as location, breakfast and rooms go. There is no service to speak of. You certainly won't feel special here.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one as they often have functions
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rennyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Manager at Brassey Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
To read a comment like this was disappointing. Commonsense could have prevented the entire sorry episode and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. However, names and dates would be of assistance here. We have guest comment forms in all our rooms and if you have a complaint you can always ask to speak to me. This affords instant an response. Happy to talk to these guests mark@brassey.net.au

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Little National Hotel
Little National Hotel
#5 of 57 in Canberra
983 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#16 of 57 in Canberra
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Realm
Hotel Realm
#11 of 57 in Canberra
1,033 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Capital Hill Canberra
1.0 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brassey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brassey Hotel

Property: Brassey Hotel
Address: Belmore Gardens & Macquarie St | Barton, Canberra 2600, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brassey Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the footsteps of the Parliamentary Triangle, the Brassey Hotel is set on two and a half acres of manicured gardens and lawns. This 1920’s hotel has old world charm with all the comforts of a quality property, with a range of accommodation options. Each room offers complimentary WiFi, reverse air-conditioning, writing desk and Foxtel. Positioned within one of Canberra’s most prestigious suburbs of Barton, you will be a short stroll from all the iconic attractions including Parliament House, the National Gallery of Australia, the National Library, Old Parliament House and Lake Burley Griffin. The Brassey Hotel is metres from the Realm Precinct which allows guests to partake in all of the amenities afforded by the 5 Star Hotel Realm. The Precinct offers a range of dining options, including French restaurant Buvette Bistro & Wine Bar, the casual Ostani Lounge, Bar & Restaurant, chef-hatted Japanese restaurant LiloTang, Cantonese fine-dining restaurant, The Chairman & Yip, and casual cafes Maple + Clove and Ritual, as well as a gym, spa, indoor pool, hairdresser and conferencing facilities, all with complimentary Wi-FI. The precinct also offers a state-of-the-art gym and day spa, opened in 2017. Hale Gym + Spa has the latest Technogym equipment and casual yoga, Pilates, spin and boxing classes. Hale Spa is Canberra's latest wellness destination, offering a sanctuary for the body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brassey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brassey Of Canberra Hotel Canberra
Brassey Hotel Canberra
Brassey Canberra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing