We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK apartment but no service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
Ranked #36 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK apartment but no service”
Reviewed October 21, 2006

It's not easy to find a 3-bedroom apartment in Canberra, so we went with Pinnacle Apartments. Others have said it's a property for the budget-conscious, but $214 a night is not exactly dirt cheap. The apartment itself was poorly maintained, and really disappointing if you believe the website's description. The bathrooms and kitchen were reasonably clean though. The carpet was dirty and one of our group who is normaly only mildy sensitive to dustmites broke out in hives within 30 mins of checking in. But our main grievance was the service (or lack of). We asked for the faulty light globe in the lounge to be replaced three times during our two-night stay, and nothing happened. Our apartment was not serviced until 7pm on Day 2 -and when the housekeepers finally appeared they only had time for a quick change of towels.

  • Liked — Location, OK price
  • Disliked — poor service
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sydneyresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    136
    120
    30
    25
See reviews for
188
18
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

After reading all the reviews I decided to risk this property anyway. It was a great price and a great location, and yes, almost all the other reviews are correct: needs updating, at least one or two small things broken (in ours one of the lights, the oven light and a sliding door), scuffs on the walls, chips on benches, etc. But basically these are small things and generally the size, location and general cleanliness is good. But don't even think about booking direct if you can - try the online discounters. Ours was $70 cheaper than their rate per night, and for that it's worth it. Spacious two bedder. The worst aspect, however, is with the cheaper price (even the rac rate is still less than most properties in this area) comes some budget conscious guests, and this place is Family City! It's crawling with families and kids and they are NOISY. So if there is any way of ascertaining who is above, below and either side of you before you go to the room, then DO IT, otherwise you could find yourself with the family from hell above you (like us) - 4 kids that made Dennis The Menace look like a saint. Otherwise, it's a fine property for a fine price.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Noise factor and lack of privacy
  • Tips/Secrets — Find out who the neighbours will be, try and find a room that doesn'
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zaubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2006

The Pinnacle Apartments in Kingston, ACT are quite comfortable, but terribly outdated. To improve the place, you would need a decent can of paint, a really good carpet cleaner, and a can of WD40 for the shower doors that stick, trapping you!
I have stayed here numerous times for work purposes (cheap skates!) and have had the same things in all the rooms. The curtains are usually broken at some point and threaten to come completely off the window.
I was burnt one year by the failing battery in the TV remote and my rear sliding door refused to lock.
The apartments are never serviced, so if your staying a week, I would suggest getting your own milk/coffee etc.
Otherwise the room are quite spacious, and comfortable. Would suit anyone who plans to spend a lot of time out....

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Truth000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2006

While this property is in a great location, the rooms need a lot of attention. The carpet was dirty, the walls were scuffed and stained. Worst of all was the room temperature - the heat pump just couldn't keep up with the -2 overnight temps while I was there. All others in my traveling party reported the same problem. I had to make a 7:00 AM flight and there reception was un-manned. Have contacted the staff 4 times and still have not received a receipt . ..

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

The location of this place is pretty good: Kingston is a good place for a bite to eat and the apartments are close to the restaurants and cafes. The apartments were spacious (in fact we were upgraded from a 2bdr to 3 bdr) but the place just seemed tired and drab. It didn't feel well-maintained or scrupulously cleaned, the furniture was past its best and door frames etc were damaged. Our air con didn't work either. There were also groups of youths hanging down from balconies, and people generally hanging around: we were told by the receptionist that lots of the apartments were let to long-term families. Also parking, while secure, was a long way from many of the apartments so luggage had to be hauled through pathways and upstairs. Wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crikeycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2006

At first glance I found the Pinnacle Apartments to be a little outdated in decor and style but that did not dissuade me from enjoying the setup of the rooms and the comfort in them. There were two balconies in the two bedroom apartment and a decent sized dining and lounge rooms and kitchen with all the ammenities one could ask for.The apartments are also very handy walking distance to all restaurants and shopping in Kingston.

The service by staff was prompt, courteous and professional in all regards with all questions solved immediately.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilona007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2005

The 2 bedroom apartment we stayed in was 'ok' (functional), however it was very grotty. The carpet was filthy and the furniture and walls were very grubby and in need of a good overhaul i.e painting, cleaning and/or replacement. I wish I had spent a little more money and gone somewhere nicer and cleaner. I would have to say in all honesty that our stay at the Pinnacle Apartments really spoilt our time in Canberra. When we first arrived we wanted to leave and stay somewhere else but everywhere was booked out so we had to endure the Pinnacle. Maybe other apartments at the Pinnacle are nicer, but all I can tell you is the one we stayed in was horrible. I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.2 mi away
Kingston Court Apartments
Kingston Court Apartments
#49 of 57 in Canberra
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 57 in Canberra
1,598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
2,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Apartments Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Apartments Canberra

Property: Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
Address: 11 Ovens St | Kingston, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#32 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinnacle Apartments Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinnacle Apartments offer a mix of one, two, three and four bedroom fully serviced apartments, found nestled in a tree-lined Kingston street. The Pinnacle Apartments offer security and relaxation in the heart of Australia’s capital. This is a perfect retreat for those travelling to Canberra on business with the convenience of being so close to the commercial hubs of Barton, Parliament House and the Russell Offices. The moment you open the front door and step inside your apartment, you will discover the naturally lit living area. Serviced daily, each apartment comprises oversized living areas and balconies. Guests have access to a gym, outdoor pool, BBQ area and complimentary WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinnacle Apartments Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra Hotel Canberra
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing