We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, clean apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
Ranked #39 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We went on a spur-of-the-moment trip to Canberra after seeing a Wotif mystery hotel deal for a two-bedroom apartment for just over $150. It turned out to be the Pinnacle Apartments.

It's a very big complex, and it appears to be badly understaffed at reception. There was a classic Italian car rally in Canberra on the weekend we went, and a huge number of bearded men with Alfa Romeos were waiting to check in when we arrived: we looked at how slowly things seemed to be going, and went for a meal. We came back a couple of hours later, and checked in with no real problem, although the reception guy really couldn't have been less interested in his job.

The apartment was huge: a big, two-bedroom place with separate dining and living rooms, a balcony off the dining room, and a balcony/garden off the living room. There was a big bathroom with a jacuzzi (the kids were delighted, and a separate toilet. And there was a laundry (curtained off from the bathroom) with a washing machine and a tumble dryer. There was a proper kitchen with a four-ring hob. And, unusually for a serviced apartment, there were actually pots, pans, plates, cutlery and cooking utensils.

They didn't do any of that silly Australian motel stuff of offering a two-bedroom apartment but charging extra if there are more than two people, and they didn't ask you to pay extra for linen. (Foreign readers will be shocked that this was a pleasant surprise; Australian readers will not.)

I think there was free Wi-Fi. But it was the weekend, so I didn't bother using my computer.

The apartment was immaculately clean, and the beds were comfortable. The sofa was great too, but the two armchairs weren't somewhere you'd want to spend a lot of time.

The TV used an Apple TV box. I've seen some reviews suggesting that the Apple TV can eat into a free Wi-Fi allowance. The receptionist assured me that it did not. He said there were pay movies that could be accessed through the Apple box, but that normal TV (all digital free-to-air channels and a few Foxtel channels) was free.

I've seen several complaints about excessive noise. We had no problem with noise at all.

At check-out on Sunday morning, they were once again horribly understaffed - there was a huge queue again - but as we hadn't done anything to incur extra charges, I was able to just drop the key and leave

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruceShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 382 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

This apartment was fantastic for a family with 3 children. It had a double, 2 singles and a sofa lounge which would be suitable for a child but not comfortable for an adult. The location was great for visiting Questacon, The Bus depot markets and restaurants and Kingston and Manuka. The service was great and towels were changed every day. Kitchen was great to use. Everything was comfortable and spacious. Also a safe and quiet neighbourhood. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor with a balcony but pick ground floor if you don't like stairs. Some roo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Pinnacle Apartments, we had a 3 bedroom apartment on the top floor. The look of the apartment was fine, but after that it all just went down hill. The facia on the outside of our bedroom was hanging on by one nail, this we discovered as the wind increased during the night and it sounded like the roof was about to fly off. Downstairs security door (heavy steel) slammed shut with every entry and exit, this could be heard from the 3rd floor. We had a constant stream of drunkards coming home until 3am slamming shut the heavy steel door. Have photo's of facia, showed it to the gentleman on the desk, not much was said but "Sorry about that".
I have been in the travel industry for 15 years and have stayed in many hotels and apartments. This one was just horrible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MolPol66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stay at the pinnacle apartments frequently. The 2 and 3 bedroom apartments I have booked have been clean, tidy, modern and functional. The beds are comfortable and the facilities are excellent. Everything works and the apartments are located close to the CBD.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank soonami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Close to RMC for son's parade. Kindly we were granted free late check out. Thank you. Appreciated the extra hour. Fabulous restaurants, cafe and small shops within walking distance. We'll be back. Quiet, clean, great sized bedrooms and bathrooms. Well equipped kitchen and dining area. Free WiFi was a bonus for business.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Berit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

After reading reviews prior to staying here we would have expected that the air con didn't work or shower etc. For our four bedroom apartment we found it clean and comfortable. It could have done to have a bit more linen and crockery, with 9 people staying here. Our 9th had to request linen several times before it was delivered. Which leads me to what we found as the negative here, the service. Our friends were not allowed any access until the one person who made the initial booking arrived, even if they called to vouch for them. When I wanted advice on transport options, the receptionist not only claimed to have never heard of the major convention centre I asked about but was abrupt, and it felt like my presence was an inconvenience to her. We could only have 3 keys which logistically made it difficult. If you are going to house 9 travelling adults then offer more keys.

Room Tip: The 4br is spacious but living area small considering
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecloverfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights [21dec-24 dec] with 3 kids and 6 adults. We booked 4 bedroom apartments as we were large in group . Both the bedroom at lower level has no air-conditioning facility at all . When asked for some fan at the reception , unfortunately they can't do anything and told us to keep the window open to cool down the room.
Unfortunately we spend 2 sleepless night with kids as it was hot summer in Canberra. I hope if someone visit in winter they will face the same issue with heating as there is no air-conditioning at all with the rooms at lower level .
Other facilities are good but if you spent a a sleepless nights your holidays are spoiled.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra Kingston
3.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
1,694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#22 of 58 in Canberra
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kingston Court Apartments
Kingston Court Apartments
#45 of 58 in Canberra
33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#13 of 58 in Canberra
658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Burbury Hotel
Burbury Hotel
#14 of 58 in Canberra
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Apartments Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Apartments Canberra

Address: 11 Ovens St | Kingston, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#33 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $130 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinnacle Apartments Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinnacle Apartments offer a mix of one, two, three and four bedroom fully serviced apartments, found nestled in a tree-lined Kingston street. The Pinnacle Apartments offer security and relaxation in the heart of Australia’s capital. This is a perfect retreat for those travelling to Canberra on business with the convenience of being so close to the commercial hubs of Barton, Parliament House and the Russell Offices. The moment you open the front door and step inside your apartment, you will discover the naturally lit living area. Serviced daily, each apartment comprises oversized living areas and balconies. Guests have access to a gym, outdoor pool, BBQ area and complimentary WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinnacle Apartments Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra Hotel Canberra
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing