We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special, better value to be had elsewhere + a random man in our room!?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
Ranked #35 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nothing special, better value to be had elsewhere + a random man in our room!?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently booked a 2 bedroom apartment online at this property.

Although it was satisfactory, we came home from breakfast at 10.15am to prepare to check out to find an employee in our apartment. He said we needed to get out of the apartment as check out was at 10am. I told him their website said checkout was at 11am, as did my booking confirmation and the screen shot I have attempted to attach to this review. He accepted this and we said we'd be out ASAP. About 5 minutes later reception phoned our room telling us we needed to vacate the room as we were past check out time. Once again, my husband explained that our paperwork & their website said check out was 11am. Her response was "It's not, it changed months ago."

I do feel that if you are going to change your check out time it needs to be changed on everything to avoid confusion, not to mention the awkward situation of walking into your apartment that you paid $250/night for to find a stranger walking around it!

OK, so, the actual apartment -
We arrived to find the second bedroom had 2 single beds, despite requesting another double in the reservation. We did not query this as I had only made the booking that morning.

The apartment was relatively clean and contained everything you might expect to find in self contained accommodation. Our bed wasn't very comfortable - I could feel the springs in the mattress.

There is a spa bath in the bathroom and the shower is over this. It is quite awkward to get in and out of, as other reviewers have said. If you are elderly or have any mobility issues I'd definitely take this into consideration.

I won't stay here again. I feel it is overpriced for what it is and I have stayed in much nicer accommodation in Canberra for less $$$.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ald78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    137
    122
    30
    25
See reviews for
190
19
7
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed at the Pinnacle Apartments for one week in May 2012.

Positives: Clean room and facilities, powerful Jacuzzi bath, comfortable bed, relatively good location (about 8 mins walk to shops and restaurants)
Negative: Poor facilities e.g. no en-site bathrooms to two bed apartment, no cable TV, and so called Gym is dilapidated with dangerous facilities, thin walls = noise. Rates too expensive for what you get. Would not return to stay out of choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredalale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked 2 nights in a 4 bedroom appartment over the long weekend so 4 couples could catch up. The apartment was spacious and clean. The kitchen was well equiped. The shower was a bit awkward to get into as it's over a deep spa bath.We did have a problem with the hot water system breaking down but the staff were extremely helpful moving us to another 4 bedroom appartment and reducing the bill. There are 2 secure parking areas but the spots are unallocated and fairly tight. We had no trouble with road side noise or from other guests.
The Pinnacles is located within an easy 2km walk from the Art Gallery. We found great places to eat lunch and dinner a 10min walk away in the Kingston shopping village.
We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: there are 2 rooms with queen beds and 2 rooms with 2 single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for a family trip for three nights over a long weekend. The room was relatively clean and the rooms whilst not spacious were big enough for us. We found the location easy to get around Canberra.
You do hear the road noise quite clearly from the apartments, however it is not on a major road so it is not too bad. Noise also carries loudly from people walking by on street and other apartments.
The kitchen was well stocked - some of the crockery was sticky when removed from cupboard but dishwashing liquid is provided so we just washed them before use. Plenty of crockery and cooking utensils are supplied.
Parking is free and is secure - however there is not allocated spots so it really is first in. We found the carpark very tight to manouevre and were surprised that with the apartments being booked quite solidly they had taken up four parking spaces with hotel bits and pieces.
The room does have airconditioning but there are no electric blankets and we had to put a towel under the front door each night to stop the draft. The shower and kitchen taps were noisy but the hot water was almost instantaneous. The shower is over the bath and is difficult to get in and out of as the spa bath is quite deep.
Beds were comfortable and extra blankets and pillows supplied.
All in all an average apartment - we would probably stay here again but not in winter and not over a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

As a group of 8 ladies in Canberra for a hens weekend,the Pinnacle Apartments were a great choice.We had a four bedroom apartment that was clean and well maintained.The car park is secure so we were able to leave cars there and use taxi's(cost about $20 into the city).There were extra blankets/pillows etc and the heating was fine.This is the second time I have stayed here(previously with family in similar sized apartment) and have had great stays both times.It is also located not far from the great restaurants in Manuka.For clean,comfortable and not too expensive accomodation,you cant go past the Pinnacle Apartments for value

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangasori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sorell, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The apartments are good sized and practical, But no one has put any thought or care into them. Clealiness is lacking, dirt under couches, empty beer bottles in the bedroom cupboard and sticky benchtops. All this place needs is some TLC, if they cleaned better and made some simple maintenance repairs it would be much better.
The reception staff just don't seem interested in your existance. Once you're in you're on you're own. The apartmnts lack the simple instructions for what's in them and'how things work. One TV in a 3 bedroom apartment is lacking for a family. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend to others. Just too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Ground floor if not looking for a three bedroom. 3 flights of stairs make it difficult with heavy lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McGTaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Pinnacle apartments are clean and well presented. Unfortunately the apartment that we stayed in was cold, the air conditioning did not work. We checked in at 5pm, went up to the room and turned the heating on. We arrived back at 11pm the apartment was still cold, the bedrooms were freezing. No electric blankets on the bed, donnas were light weight. Two blankets were available to use but not enough to warm up. No one on site to report problem with heating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CFF37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.1 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments Canberra
0.2 mi away
Kingston Court Apartments
Kingston Court Apartments
#49 of 57 in Canberra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#1 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#7 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
Hotel Kurrajong Canberra
#10 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diplomat Hotel
Diplomat Hotel
#12 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinnacle Apartments Canberra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinnacle Apartments Canberra

Property: Pinnacle Apartments Canberra
Address: 11 Ovens St | Kingston, Canberra 2604, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Canberra
#31 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pinnacle Apartments Canberra 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinnacle Apartments offer a mix of one, two, three and four bedroom fully serviced apartments, found nestled in a tree-lined Kingston street. The Pinnacle Apartments offer security and relaxation in the heart of Australia’s capital. This is a perfect retreat for those travelling to Canberra on business with the convenience of being so close to the commercial hubs of Barton, Parliament House and the Russell Offices. The moment you open the front door and step inside your apartment, you will discover the naturally lit living area. Serviced daily, each apartment comprises oversized living areas and balconies. Guests have access to a gym, outdoor pool, BBQ area and complimentary WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinnacle Apartments Canberra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra Hotel Canberra
Pinnacle Apartments Canberra Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing