We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost effective option”
Review of Canberra Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canberra Rex Hotel
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Ok so it is not the tops but is is clean, room was average size and yes the furniture was getting on, but it was comfortable and ideal when all you need is a clean place to stay while working in Canberra.
Rates are very reasonable and the restaurant served a good selection of food and very competitive rates. Service was of a high standard. Parking is an issue if they have a function on, but I had no issue with noise. Best thing, you can open the windows and get fresh air not be dried out by A/C.

Room Tip: If worried about noise get a room on 3rd or 4th floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
There are newer reviews for Canberra Rex Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 585 of 661 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2011

We received a bottle of wine on arrival, nice gesture. From there it went down hill. We got back late from dinner and had to park in the street, down the road from the Rex. They had a function on so there went the guest parking area. Our room was on 1st floor so we didn't get much sleep. The music from downstairs was only drowned out by the traffic driving past the building. When Mum said take your own pillow, I should have listened. The pillows felt like they were stuffed with cardboard and paper. Breakfast was included in our price so we went down to start the next morning at the brekky bar. Cutlery wasn't very clean. Had to ask for knives, they'd all be used but no restocked. The coffee had been brewing since last night, you could've eaten it with a fork. There was one funny sign in our bathroom though "please close bathroom door when using shower - steam from shower will set off fire alarm!" No exhaust fan in bathroom, whoops.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from outside traffic and in-house entertainment Take your own pillows...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazzWestleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

It's a shame that I have to write a bad review, but there wasn't anything I liked about the Rex Hotel in Canberra...
My partner and I booked a queen room for one night, and we were disappointed as soon as we entered the room! The furniture was very mis-matched and old, the bed was just two singles pushed together, there was no furniture (like a table and chairs) on the balcony, which was also very dirty and the room was FREEZING! The heater took so long to get warm that I called reception to ask if that was normal...
My partner is over 6ft tall and he couldn't fit under the shower head, which didn't really matter since we quickly ran out of hot water anyway. We also discovered a service area behind the mirrored cupboard in the bathroom... We opened the right door to a perfectly normal cupboard, the left door however opened into a hole in the wall..! Very unexpected....
We arrived on a Friday night and were extremely disappointed that restaurant was closed over the weekend (which we thought was very srange). The next morning we ate at the buffet breakfast which was mostly cold and quite bland. I recommend going out for breakfast!

On the upside, the receptionist was very helpful directing us to restaurants and answering all our questions about the area - but that didn't nearly make up for all the faults of the hotel.
Overall the impression we got of the hotel was that it was very cheaply run and not value for money. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Credit where credit is due. The desk staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant also was decent. These are the only positive things that can be said about this truly disgraceful establishment. Having booked a suite (myself and 2 kids) I was given a small room with two beds. No apologies. The walls must be made of plywood. My children could (with total clarity) hear every expletive ridden word of the guest next door even over the sound of sex the couple across the hall were having in what they must have thought was privacy. The rooms are tacky and dull, no desk to work on. Hot water is only available after running your sink on full for over ten minutes and only then if you are lucky. The housekeepers refused to make the bed because they weren't allowed to touch 'my belongings.' No warning of course. The room was left a shambles. The poky bathroom was dusfunctional. Cold shower tap at chest height, convient for dwarf guests only. Grimy and dirty. No concierge, you have to load and push your own trolleys. No mini bar. No foxtel. Smoke or fire alarms regularly going off. It is ironic that this hotel offers 'The Faulty Towers experience' on its website. Faulty Towers was 7 star compared to this grubby excuse for hotel. There are dozens of hotels in Canberra. My advice, choose another. Any other! Shaun

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaun m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I am not sure what is happening at the Rex Hotel, or whether it is being managed by new staff, but it was disappointing all round. We have stayed there several times over the past few years as it was usually a basic hotel that could accommodate a three single bed set up in one room with little fuss. We only need a good bed, hot shower and parking. This past October 1st and 2nd, we booked a room including breakfast as the buffet was very good last time we stayed. The room itself this visit was small, and was obviously still being rennovated as the jug/ tea+ coffee area had a huge open space above the powerpoint with holes ready for shelving or perhaps a microwave, and a bare patch on the wall was exposed after tyhe wardrobe had been chan ged to a smaller one. The worst thing about the room was the shower over the bath. The shower rose was so low that at 165cm(5'6") I could not stand under it. I am not tall for a woman, but most men would have to duck their head to get it wet! For a rennovated room, this is incredible. The older rooms where we have stayed previously did not have this ridiculous set up. The buffet breakfast the next morning was a cross between Faulty Towers and Mr Bean. The wait staff had no idea how to manage the number of covers required. The staff all seemed to be foreign students who were training, plus the manager who took room numbers for table order. We waited 30 minutes to be seated at 8:00am. Part of the reason the tables were slow to move was that most people were trying to cook some kind of toast as there was very little to choose from for breakfast. Basic cereal: cornflakes, weetbix, nutrigrain, no muffins or pastry of any kind, they had "run out of yoghurt and fruit salad" by 8:00am, this wasn't very comforting! The rotary toaster was on slow and warm rather than toast and fast, and so there was quite a back up of people wanting toast to go with their cooked breakfast. The bain marie food was not hot enough to begin with, so by the time the people got their toast, their other food was cold. On check out, the front desk staff did not seem interested in the problems with the shower height. Perhaps, as they were short, they had not noticed. My daughter is 152cm, and she had no problem. I would not stay there again until I could be sure that the "rennovations" were completed, and for room only as the breakfast was a complete waste of money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kinc0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is the best hotel ever the dinner was great we had a fire alarm because someone burnt a cookie in the microwave but that was fun rooms are spotless loved it. I think I might move in there!!!! Stuff Disney land

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Queenrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This hotel is dirty, has no hot water for showers and the beds are reminscent of the comfort offered by Old Melbourne Goal to its inmates.

As for buses to the airport and a restuarant - what a joke! It has neither. The only redeeming feature of this over-priced stay was a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 58 in Canberra
1,624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avenue Hotel Canberra
Avenue Hotel Canberra
#2 of 58 in Canberra
1,342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Canberra
Novotel Canberra
#26 of 58 in Canberra
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pacific Suites Canberra
Pacific Suites Canberra
#6 of 58 in Canberra
1,694 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#19 of 58 in Canberra
1,151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra on Northbourne Canberra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canberra Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canberra Rex Hotel

Address: 150 Northbourne Ave, Canberra 2612, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Canberra
Price Range: $118 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Canberra Rex Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canberra Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing