We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, normally very good”
Review of Tall Trees Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tall Trees Motel
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, normally very good”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at tall trees quite often in last ten years and it is one of my preferred stays in Canberra. Rooms are very good, particularly in the original main building. Service is friendly and personal. On a couple of occasions there have been young families staying that have generated a bit of unwanted noise. Haven't tried dining but the breakfast is usually good value. I'll be going back any time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    153
    122
    35
    24
See reviews for
131
138
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The receptionist made this stay great, she was super accommodating. The family room was a bit smaller than it looked but everything worked, it was clean, great location and so quiet. The freezer worked so we could keep ice cream! Free wi fi was brilliant. Didn't try the food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank CarrolQQQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our eldest sons rugby weekend in September for the Canberra 7's on Friday the 13th and 14th. We had organised 40 people to stay at the hotel and room configurations provided by the hotel suited up to a family of six people. Our rate included tickets to Questicon. We stayed in a well configured room with a queen and two singles. The room was clean, nice view out to the tree's, good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Beds were comfortable. Checkin and checkout was easy.. Good variety for breakfast and little to no wait which was great when we had to get to rugby. We left our iphone charger in the room and the hotel even rang us and another family to advise them. Couldn't fault the service. Will be back as the location is quite and central.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dittsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlingford, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A very nice motel, very private location and perfect size, just two stories, so lovely and quiet! Staff were very helpful! Rooms are clean, with everything you need. Breakfast was worth the extra cost!! Definitely recommend a stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

The positives were: it was quiet, so there was no road/traffic noise, noise from other guests was limited too, parking was easy and was easy to find, we arrived at night. On check-in the receptionist was friendly. The towels were nice, new and large.
The negatives were: room had strong urine smell, once we removed the quilt cover it seemed to be a bit better. The toilet had scape marks in, clearly not cleaned properly and the bed had very thin sheets covered in fluff.
Overall it was just ok but for Canberra one expects a little better.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Opalite-explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We refer to your review. Unfortunately, we have not been able to determine which room you stayed in, so we would ask you to call our General Manager, Pat Young, on 6247 9200, to discuss your complaints.
Your feedback is valued, and we respond as follows. There is no possibility that there was any urine residue in your room. The over-enthusiastic use of bleach, by our house-keepers, may have produced the smell of which you complain. We have no idea what you mean by your reference to “scape” mark in the toilet. We are confident that our house-keepers are meticulous in their attention to their duties and that the rooms, and bathrooms, are spotlessly clean. Again, we would ask you to identify the room in which you stayed, so that we can look into the matter. In regard to the quality of the sheets, we continuously replace worn sheets and we can only think that the sheet in question may have been caught in a dryer with the new towels, which you have described, leaving some fluff on the sheets. We apologise for that. Thank you for your positive comments about the attitude of our hard-working and loyal team, who welcomed you warmly. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and, if you so decide, please call Pat ahead of time, and she will ensure that you enjoy every aspect of your stay with us. With regards – Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sorell, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

As soon as we saw it from the street, we new this motel was not worth the price we paid. We were then checked in by an unfriendly reception staff member who forgot she worked in hospitality.
Got our key and entered our "Deluxe Garden View" room which actually overlooked the car park and was far from Deluxe. The room was dark and dingy with a "Queen Bed" that must have shrunk before we got there to a double.
The extra we paid for breakfast was just a waste of money. Cheap sliced bread, warm tasteless coffee and cereal, "What a Selection!" (not).
I wouldn't be so harsh if it wasn't for the price, This motel is not worth anything over $180 per night and we were charged $240p/n. Working in the industry managing a resort offering full apartments, with kitchen, lounge, dining, double spa, water views, etc etc at $245 per night I cannot believe they charge us $240 for such accommodation.
Certainly would not recommend or stay again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McGTaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
We refer to your review. You stayed with us during a week in which Parliament was sitting, and we were 100% occupied. The rate that you paid was competitive. All executive guest rooms have new pillow-top Queen beds, which certainly had not “shrunk”. We do not accept that the totally renovated executive room, in which you were accommodated , was dark and dingy. You booked a bed & breakfast package for 2 people, which meant that you were paying $10 each for their continental breakfast included in your rate. In regard to our breakfast selections, we mention that there is a selection of 7 different cereals, 3 flavours of yoghurts, breads (including raisin bread), crumpets, muffins, fresh fruit, tin fruit, 4 juices, tea/coffee & hot chocolate. Cooked dishes are available at an extra cost. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but you can be assured that our hard-working and loyal team make every effort to make every guest feel welcome and special. With regards – Guest Relations Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Lille, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A nice hotel. The rooms are quite spacious and comfortable (1 king size bed and 2 single beds). The welcome was friendly. The restaurant offers decent food. Wifi is included. I can't really talk about the location because I didn't visit Canberra but it seems to be near the town center.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#19 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pavilion on Northbourne
Pavilion on Northbourne
#21 of 57 in Canberra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Canberra
Ibis Budget Canberra
#48 of 57 in Canberra
3.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Cedars Motel
Red Cedars Motel
#46 of 57 in Canberra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Motel

Property: Tall Trees Motel
Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
#30 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Trees Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tall Trees Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing