We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy & quiet”
Review of Tall Trees Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tall Trees Hotel
Ranked #35 of 60 Hotels in Canberra
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family room, 2 adults & 2 small children. Room was large, clean and good decor.
Air-con worked well so we were comfortable at night.
Location is a bit out of town but I guess that's what makes it nice and quiet.
The only thing was the mini bar was empty, we were looking forward to a cold drink when returning to the room but there was nothing but a small milk, no biggie, service station wasn't far.
Over all a great place to stay for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Just before your stay, we had a school group staying with us, and the bar fridge was emptied by our housekeepers. They were remiss and did not fill the fridge prior to your arrival. We apologise for this omission, which should not have happened. As a result of your review, we have taken steps to ensure that this will not happen again. We are pleased that, despite that disappointment, you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm wishes - Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

384 - 390 of 478 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having read other people's reviews, I took my doona, and so my wife had ample blankets without asking for extra. However the staff were helpful and provided everything we needed, so it seems probable that they could have supplied extra blankets if we had needed them. We set the air conditioner to 19 or 21 degrees depending on what we were doing. It takes a few minutes to get going, but then is very efficient. So unlike another reviewer, we found room 261 fine for us. I moved the large bed before we left, and the floor under it could do with more cleaning, but everything else was very clean and well presented. We tend to travel with breakfast food and there is ample good quality crockery and cutlery and that made preparing breakfast very easy. There's no toaster, but I'd guess that's related to the notices about the sensitivity of the smoke alarm. The room and bathroom in room 26 are a good size for a standard room, but I guess planning regulations were the reason that the room has glass bricks instead of windows. Not a problem for us as we were out or asleep during most of the daylight hours. The place was quiet and worked very well for us.

Room Tip: Some of the standard rooms seemed very cramped, but room 261 was larger than most. The only problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank studentoflife4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

For just the one night this was ok. The bed was comfy, although there was a lack of spare blankets in our family room on what was a chilly canberra night! There is ample parking, which you can use prior to your arrival. The room on arrival was clean and well stocked, but just smelled strongly of disinfectant in the bathroom. As for location, it's a short drive from the main attractions such as the fantastic war memorial.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologise for the lack of spare blankets. That matter is being addressed. We do hope that the heating worked adequately and that you had a comfortable night's sleep. We assume that you checked in early and that the smell of the chemicals used in the cleaning of the bathroom had not yet dissipated. We hope that you will consider staying with us again. Please call our General Manager, Pat, ahead of time, and she will ensure that every effort is made to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Regards - Guest Relations Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is in a great geographic location but in the middle of a rather poor neighbourhood. The room was modern but the bathroom was one of the smallest I have experienced over a long time staying in Best Westerns worldwide. Much effort is spent on advertising Foxtel but we were told by front reception there were no guides available as they were too expensive. Chinatown was very close by for a wonderful selection of restaurants. My definition of tall trees certainly did not match theirs but there were plenty of car parks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

We refer to your review. Ainslie is an established, well-located, leafy, middle-class suburb and, with respect, is not a "rather poor neighbourhood". The bathrooms in our budget-priced standard rooms are small, but modern and functional. Very few hotels, including the international chains, provide Foxtel guides. Programming is available on the internet. There are numerous tall trees on, and around the site - thus the name of the property. We value your custom and would suggest that, should you elect to stay with us again, you consider upgrading to an executive or deluxe room, which are very generously sized. With regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Disappointed , after travelling for 5 hours traffic jams out to Sydney, looking forward to a warm room and bed, only to find the air con. Warm cycle didn't work properly, the fan didn't seem to be working, there were no warm blankets on the bed just one heavy green spare in the cupboard, which was useless, thank goodness it was only one night . Room 261 never again.

Room Tip: Take your own Donna and heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Wendy165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

In regard to your review - the recollection of our General Manager is that you checked in at 6 p.m. During your stay you did not alert her, or the front desk, to the heating problem. Since your departure, the room has been occupied and we have had no complaints. Her assumption is that you set the temperature at over 30 degrees, at which point the unit went into was is termed "test" mode and did not heat the room. We assure you that, had you drawn our attention to your discomfort, we would have ensured that the problem would have been remedied. With regards - Guest Relations Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is in a quiet location with clean and comfortable rooms. The room was clean and had new furnishings. Reception staff were helpful. The cold Canberra winter nights appear to be a problem with mould on the bathroom ceiling which had been cleaned but had left some minor staining.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ochlophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

They basically gave the large family room i had specifically booked in april after discussing with Courtney and had email confirmation..away to someone that booked more nights..
we were offered a complimentary continental breakfast..
Appreciate that but didnot compensate for a distressed sleepless squashed night...

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blacksquidie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
3.5 mi away
Brassey Hotel
Brassey Hotel
#15 of 60 in Canberra
685 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
1 mi away
Mercure Canberra
Mercure Canberra
#25 of 60 in Canberra
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Mantra MacArthur Hotel
Mantra MacArthur Hotel
#18 of 60 in Canberra
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#24 of 60 in Canberra
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Hotel

Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
Price Range: $89 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tall Trees Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re a corporate traveller, a couple looking for a weekend escape, or a family looking for a place to go for your next trip, look no further than Tall Trees Canberra. Quality boutique hotel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Tall Trees Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing