We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tall Trees tops”
Review of Tall Trees Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tall Trees Motel
Ranked #34 of 57 Hotels in Canberra
Kiama, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tall Trees tops”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The rate is very competitive at $155 for a family room , queen bed an two double bunks. Adequately sized room, nice and clean, tidy bathroom if a little on the small side. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room in the main building, roadside room. No problems with noise, traffic or otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    155
    122
    35
    24
See reviews for
133
138
25
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

For a capital city it was economical with 3 adults in 3 beds! Clean, well presented. did not have all the extra add ons but when we were busy everyday & needed somewhere warm to recharge for the next days outing. Stayed 3 nights & was happy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is often difficult to find a motel/hotel that will accommodate your family if you have more than one or two children, that is under $200 a night, and is suitable for your familty to stay - that is not a backpackers! This had it all for us - two sets of bunk beds and a queen size bed for $150 and it was clean and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandaNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed on the long weekend - room is basic without that worn look, bathroom small but modern looking and bed was comfortable. Very quiet suburban location reasonably close to city centre (only with car - not sure it would suit anyone without their own transportation). Parking lot full, yet no late night or early morning noise which was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: Go with room on the 2nd floor to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejay313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Travelling for business, was horrified to be allocated a room alongside a horde of kids on a school trip. My room - an executive room - was spacious and the bed was very good. But the noise: appalling. When I raised with reception staff that I had not been told on booking that there would be a school group right next to my room I was told I wouldn't be able to get any accommodation any where else! The higher quality rooms near reception are very noisy. Even without the school group, my room was very noisy day and night due to people checking in and doors slamming. In addition to the noise and the poor attitude of reception staff, my room was not made up on a day when I left the sign to indicate I wanted it done. I would never stay here again and will not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gecko2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Our records reveal that your partner is a government employee who paid a discount government rate for one guest. She advised us that you would be using the room during the day, and our General Manager agreed not to charge a supplement. So it is our belief, and we are happy to be corrected, if we are wrong, that this review has been posted by someone who was not a guest of the hotel, and who used the room for 6 days without paying. Accordingly, we shall be asking Trip Advisor to remove this adverse review.
We take issue with your generalisation that our executive rooms are noisy or, indeed, that the school group was unduly noisy. Yours is the only complaint that we have received concerning the extremely well behaved group that stayed with us during the period of your sojourn.
We have spoken to our General Manger about your complaint about the attitude of our reception staff. She expresses concern that you perceived that they were unfriendly. However, she would ask you to understand that our property was 100% full over the period in question and all that the staff advised you was that there was simply no other accommodation available in Canberra, Queanbeyan or Yass. She is sorry that you interpreted this as unfriendly behaviour.
You have chosen to damn our property on the world-wide web, notwithstanding (as we believe) that you did not even pay for your accommodation. That appears to be the new order to which hardworking, professional and well-intentioned hospitality industry staff and management are subject. Should you change your opinion and elect to stay with us again, please call our General Manager, Pat Young, ahead of time and she will make every effort to ensure that your stay is pleasant and memorable. With regards – Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canberra hotels

Hobart
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Tall trees is located in the quiet and leafy suburb of Ainslie, one of Canberra's oldest suburbs and is located about 5 kms from the city centre. ( 40 minute walk to the major shopping precinct of the Canberra Centre and surrounding businesses and restaurants). The Ainslie shops are a ten minute walk away, with a supermarket, bakery, chemist, popular corner bistro and 2 restaurants- including the renowned "Pulp Kitchen".

I booked us in for a weekend special deal which comprised Friday, Saturday and Sunday night for $115 per night.

Our room was comfortable with the following facilities: a medium sized bar fridge, a microwave, cutlery and crockery for two and an electric jug as well as a medium sized wall mounted TV with access to a number of Foxtel channels in addition to the usual free to air.
The bathroom was clean and modern with a plentiful supply of towels and the usual array of toiletries.
There were a few minor niggles - no detergent or small cloth for wiping down benches etc and no tea towel. If you are providing some self catering facilities it would seem a good idea to provide these items in the interest of the overall cleanliness of the unit. My other pet peeve - an overstocked minibar - was also evident. As usual, this meant there was no room for our supplies without rearranging the fridge and removing some of the contents elsewhere. I also found the reception staff a little offhand when we arrived. No welcoming smiles, and a slightly grumpy approach. On the other hand the cleaning staff were very pleasant and helpful.

The hotel has a bistro where breakfast is served and I noticed the menu for dinner seemed very reasonably priced. There is also a guest laundry with free washing machine use and a dryer available for a $2 charge.

The hotel was obviously very popular during our stay as all the car parking spaces were full and all of the rooms seemed to be occupied. Despite this the hotel was incredibly quiet and I enjoyed an excellent nights sleep each night.

I was very pleased with our choice of hotel overall and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main hotel block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QUEENSLAND
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Tried to check in - my booking was not on the system, thankfully I had a copy of the booking confirmation email. Booking was soon sorted and we were given a room. Receptionist Courtney was very pleasant. Room was very basic, but clean. The bed was very uncomfortable, like sleeping on a plank of wood. Bathroom was tiny, very claustrophobic. Went to have shower late Friday night - hot water bearly warm, got up Saturday morning, no hot water at all, rang reception who reported back a few minutes later that the boilers had gone out over night and it would take 1/2 hour to get any hot water. Other guests in our group reported unable to sleep past 6am as all they could hear was the door banging closed each time a staff member entered/exited near the dining room...The breakfast in the dining room was lovely, the staff very welcoming and pleasant, nice way to start the day. But, due to the beds being very uncomfortable and the tiny bathroom, our next trip to Ainsley I will look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMMANLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Tall Trees Motel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We refer to your review. We are most apologetic that your booking somehow was not in the system but, fortunately, that problem was resolved. More importantly, we take your point that the bed upon which you slept was below standard. We have replaced all but eight beds in our 79 rooms, and the remaining beds are on order. You were accommodated in one of our standard rooms and paid a commensurate rate. The bathrooms in those rooms are smaller, but are fully equipped. The hot water issue was an unusual occurrence out of our control and was simply bad luck although, the service was restored within approximately 30 minutes. The door slamming was not the doing of our staff, who only begin work after 7 a.m. We will now place a prominent notice on the exit door asking guests to show consideration. Once again we apologize for your inconvenience and unsatisfactory experience. You comment on your lovely experience in our dining room (for which we thank you) and we would ask you to consider staying with us again. Please call our General Manager, Pat Young, ahead of time and she will make every effort to accommodate you in a room which will meet your every need. With regards - Guest Relations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canberra hotels
0.5 mi away
Aria Hotel Canberra
Aria Hotel Canberra
#3 of 57 in Canberra
1,545 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Dickson
Quality Hotel Dickson
#21 of 57 in Canberra
330 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Canberra Narrabundah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parklands Hotel & Apartments
4.4 mi away
Premier Hotel & Apartment
Premier Hotel & Apartment
#27 of 57 in Canberra
296 reviews
0.5 mi away
One of a Kind Apartments
One of a Kind Apartments
#3 of 32 in Canberra
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Motel

Property: Tall Trees Motel
Address: 21 Stephen St, Canberra 2602, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN Tall Trees Canberra)
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Canberra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Canberra
#30 Luxury Hotel in Canberra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tall Trees Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality boutique motel in a quiet, leafy, central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tall Trees Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ainslie
Best Western Canberra
Canberra Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing